RBL Bank logoRBL Bank
super-premium
VISA
RBL Bank

RBL Bank NOVA Credit Card Review 2026: Benefits, Fees & Lounge Access

Verified Official Data • Last updated 2026-08

RBL Bank NOVA Credit Card

RBL Bank NOVA Credit Card Fees & Key Specifications

Issuance fees, spend waiver thresholds, forex markup, and complimentary airport lounge access.

super-premium Tier
Joining Fee

₹12,500

+ GST
Annual Fee

₹12,500

Per year + GST
Annual Waiver

₹10,00,000

Annual spend goal
Forex Fee

2%

Cross-currency markup
Domestic Lounge

12/yr

Complimentary visits
Intl Lounge

12/yr

Priority Pass / lounge
Lounge Access Conditions: 12 complimentary domestic + 12 international lounge visits/year; 4 international guest visits/year
Fuel Surcharge Waiver: 1% waiver up to ₹1000/month

RBL Bank NOVA Credit Card Reward Points Rates & Redemption

Verified earn rates, accelerated multipliers, point conversion valuation, and redemption policies for 2026.

Base Rewards Engine
Reward Points
4 pts / ₹100

Applies to all non-excluded offline, general retail, and miscellaneous spends.

Point Valuation:
Travel/Miles: ₹0.25/pt•Statement: ₹0.25/pt
Redemption & ExpiryFriction: 2/5
Redemption Method

Instant digital redemption (2/5 friction)

Points Expiry

36 months validity

1 RP = Rs.0.25, redeem via nova.rbl.bank.in on flights, hotels, E-Gift Cards, miles transfer, experiences, events, gifting, merchandise, philanthropy. No reward redemption fee. Points expire in 36 months.

Accelerated Category Multipliers (1)

travel spends12x
Higher rate at select merchants only; ordinary travel spend earns 12x
Monthly Cap: ₹30,000

VERIFIED 2026-08-10: 3X Accelerated Reward Points (12 RP/Rs.200 = 6% value back) on flight bookings, hotel bookings & E-Gift Card purchases via nova.rbl.bank.in ONLY. Accelerated points capped at 30,000/calendar month (a POINT count, not INR — previously miscoded as an INR cap, inflating the effective value by 4x since pointValue.travel=0.25).

Absolute Reward Exclusions (0% Earn Rate)
fuelutilitiesinsurancerent

Fuel & Auto, Utilities, Insurance, Quasi-Cash, Real Estate/Rental, Wallet/Service Providers, Education, Government Services, Contracted Services, Cash, Railways, Miscellaneous, Bills2Pay, EMI earn 0 RP.

RBL Bank NOVA Credit Card Lounge Access, Milestones & Perks

Welcome bonuses, annual renewal rewards, milestone spend targets, and exclusive lifestyle memberships.

Welcome & Milestone Benefits

Spend Milestone

Rs.10,000 E-Gift Card (Taj Experiences/Tata CLiQ Luxury/MakeMyTrip/Marriott Bonvoy) per Rs.3L spent in a calendar quarter

Spend Goal: ₹12,00,000₹10,000 value

Complimentary Lifestyle & Travel Privileges (6)

Metal card

Welcome + renewal benefit: Rs.12,500 E-Gift Card (Taj Experiences or Luxe) each

4 complimentary golf rounds + 12 golf lessons/year

10% dining discount (up to Rs.3,000) on District/Zomato fine-dine restaurants

First 2 add-on cards free

Reward Points transfer to airline/hotel partners at 2 RP = 1 Partner Point

RBL Bank NOVA Credit Card Net Value Calculator

Drag sliders to estimate RBL Bank NOVA Credit Card's real annual net returns based on your actual spending habits.

Points Valuation & Redemption Mode
Quick Fill Monthly SpendPresets

Your Monthly Spend

₹50,000/mo

E-Commerce & Online

₹
₹0Max ₹40,000
₹
₹0Max ₹40,000
₹
₹0Max ₹50,000

Daily Essentials

₹
₹0Max ₹40,000
₹
₹0Max ₹30,000
₹
₹0Max ₹30,000

Most cards earn ₹0 rewards on fuel (surcharge waiver only).

₹
₹0Max ₹30,000

Frequently excluded from rewards in India.

Lifestyle, Bills & Other

₹
₹0Max ₹60,000
₹
₹0Max ₹60,000

Almost always earns ₹0 and may carry a fee.

₹
₹0Max ₹30,000

Often excluded or capped.

₹
₹0Max ₹50,000
RBL Bank NOVA Credit Card
RBL Bank

RBL Bank NOVA Credit Card

Annual fee: ₹12,500

Estimated Net Annual Return
-₹7,880
(Net Value Kept per Year)
Rewards₹4,620
Milestones₹0
Net Fee−₹12,500
Apply Now

Savings & Milestones Tracker

Overall Return RateBasic Return

-1.31%

Value Yield (Net / Spent)

₹-7,880

Annual Net Value

Annual Fee Waiver TrackerTarget: ₹10,00,000/yr

Spent ₹6,00,000 • Spend ₹4,00,000 more to waive fee.

Milestone Benefits

Rs.10,000 E-Gift Card (Taj Experiences/Tata CLiQ Luxury/MakeMyTrip/Marriott Bonvoy) per Rs.3L spent in a calendar quarterGoal: ₹12,00,000

Spend ₹6,00,000 more to unlock.

Was this helpful?
Your feedback helps us improve the comparison.

How Your Spends Convert to Rewards

Live calculation breakdown for RBL Bank NOVA Credit Card

Spend CategoryMonthly SpendReward RatePoints EarnedMonthly ValueAnnual ValueStatus / Caps
Fuel
₹4,000/mo0 Pts / ₹1000 pts0 pts/yr₹0₹0/yrExcluded
Utilities & Bills
₹4,000/mo0 Pts / ₹1000 pts0 pts/yr₹0₹0/yrExcluded
Rent
₹10,000/mo0 Pts / ₹1000 pts0 pts/yr₹0₹0/yrExcluded
Insurance
₹1,500/mo0 Pts / ₹1000 pts0 pts/yr₹0₹0/yrExcluded
Other Online Shopping
₹6,000/mo4 Pts / ₹100240 pts2,880 pts/yr₹60₹720/yrActive Earn
Amazon Spends
₹3,500/mo4 Pts / ₹100140 pts1,680 pts/yr₹35₹420/yrActive Earn
Flipkart Spends
₹2,000/mo4 Pts / ₹10080 pts960 pts/yr₹20₹240/yrActive Earn
Dining & Food Delivery
₹5,000/mo4 Pts / ₹100200 pts2,400 pts/yr₹50₹600/yrActive Earn
Groceries
₹7,000/mo4 Pts / ₹100280 pts3,360 pts/yr₹70₹840/yrActive Earn
Travel (Flights/Hotels)
₹4,000/mo12 Pts / ₹100480 pts5,760 pts/yr₹120₹1,440/yrActive Earn
Other / Offline
₹3,000/mo4 Pts / ₹100120 pts1,440 pts/yr₹30₹360/yrActive Earn

All ₹ values exclude GST. Perks like lounge access are shown separately and not added into net value. Rewards use your selected redemption mode (cashback / statement credit).

Is RBL Bank NOVA Credit Card actually your best option?

Run the same spend against all 541 cards and see where this one ranks.

Find my best card

RBL Bank NOVA Credit Card Eligibility & Data Sources

Applicant eligibility criteria, devaluation tracking history, and verified source citations.

Applicant Criteria
Bank Income / Membership

As per bank criteria (invite/apply-based premium segment)

Payment Networks

visa

Issuer reserves final discretion on approval and limit assignment.
Exclusion Honesty

This card's data has been audited directly against official RBL Bank Key Fact Statements (KFS) and published schedule of charges. Point valuations include real redemption friction factors to compute true net financial value.

RBL Bank NOVA Credit Card Specification Sheet

Comprehensive rules, fees, and parameters verified directly against issuer details.

FeatureRBL Bank NOVA Credit CardRBL Bank
Joining fee₹12,500
Annual fee₹12,500/yr
Fee waiverSpend ₹10,00,000/yr
Base reward4 pts / ₹100
Top reward categories12x travel (higher rate at select merchants only)
Redemption friction
Easy
Point expiry36 months
Lounge access12 dom · 12 intl⚠ 12 complimentary domestic + 12 international lounge visits/year; 4 international guest visits/year
Forex markup2%
Fuel surcharge1% waiver, up to ₹1,000/mo
Min income · salariedNot stated
Min income · self-employedNot stated
Eligibility (as stated)As per bank criteria (invite/apply-based premium segment)
Recent devaluationsNone recorded
Verified against

RBL Bank NOVA Credit Card Review & Spending Guide (2026)

The RBL Bank NOVA Credit Card by RBL Bank is a prominent credit card in the Indian market, categorized under the super-premium tier. Offering a base rewards engine of 4 reward points per ₹100, this card targets users looking to optimize their personal finances.

When evaluating the real-world value of the RBL Bank NOVA Credit Card, it's essential to look beyond the joining fee of ₹12500 and annual fee of ₹12500. With our real-time calculator above, you can map out your monthly category spends (online shopping, dining, travel, utilities, groceries, etc.) to see if you can trigger the spend-based annual fee waiver of ₹1000000, which determines your true Net Annual Value (NTV).

Rewards Potential & Category Multipliers

For accelerated spenders, the RBL Bank NOVA Credit Card features key reward multipliers:

  • 12x travel (higher rate at select merchants only) (Higher rate at select merchants only; ordinary travel spend earns 12x) (capped at ₹30000/month).
  • Exclusions: No rewards are earned on fuel, utilities, insurance, rent categories.

Lounge Access & Extra Perks

Perks add immense value that calculations often leave out. The RBL Bank NOVA Credit Card offers:

  • Domestic Lounges: 12 visits/year
  • International Lounges: 12 visits/year
  • Lounge Condition: 12 complimentary domestic + 12 international lounge visits/year; 4 international guest visits/year

Points Redemption and Point Expiry

Earning points is only half the battle. Redemptions are subject to a friction index of 2/5 (representing Instant digital redemption (2/5 friction)). Note: 1 RP = Rs.0.25, redeem via nova.rbl.bank.in on flights, hotels, E-Gift Cards, miles transfer, experiences, events, gifting, merchandise, philanthropy. No reward redemption fee. Points expire in 36 months.. Points are valid for 36 months.

Who the RBL Bank NOVA Credit Card benefits the most

Derived from this card's actual earn rates, caps and perks — not a generic profile.

  • People whose spending is concentrated in flights and hotels — the card's strongest rate at 12 points per ₹100, with no monthly cap stated. VERIFIED 2026-08-10: 3X Accelerated Reward Points (12 RP/Rs.200 = 6% value back) on flight bookings, hotel bookings & E-Gift Card purchases via nova.rbl.bank.in ONLY. Accelerated points capped at 30,000/calendar month (a POINT count, not INR — previously miscoded as an INR cap, inflating the effective value by 4x since pointValue.travel=0.25).
  • Households already spending about ₹83,333 a month on cards. That clears the ₹10 lakh annual-spend waiver and makes the ₹12,500 annual fee (₹14,750 with 18% GST) disappear.
  • Frequent flyers: 12 domestic lounge visits and 12 international lounge visits a year, worth roughly ₹42,000 at typical Indian pay-per-use lounge rates — but read the condition below before counting on it.
  • People who spend abroad or buy in foreign currency online. At a 2% forex markup, a ₹2 lakh overseas trip costs about ₹4,720 in markup plus GST, versus roughly ₹8,260 on a typical 3.5% card.
  • Planners who can steer spends to a target: the biggest milestone here is "Rs.10,000 E-Gift Card (Taj Experiences/Tata CLiQ Luxury/MakeMyTrip/Marriott Bonvoy) per Rs.3L spent in a calendar quarter" — ₹12 lakh of annual spend for ₹10,000 of value.
  • People who never get around to redeeming. Redemption friction here is 2/5, so rewards convert with little effort instead of rotting in a points balance.
  • Daily drivers: the 1% fuel surcharge waiver is capped at ₹1000/month, which covers roughly ₹1,00,000 of monthly fuel spend.

Who should avoid the RBL Bank NOVA Credit Card

The cases where this card quietly costs more than it pays back.

  • Anyone whose spending is heavy on fuel, utility bills and recharges, insurance premiums, rent payments. These categories earn absolutely nothing on this card — not a reduced rate, zero. Fuel & Auto, Utilities, Insurance, Quasi-Cash, Real Estate/Rental, Wallet/Service Providers, Education, Government Services, Contracted Services, Cash, Railways, Miscellaneous, Bills2Pay, EMI earn 0 RP.
  • Anyone who cannot reliably put ₹83,333 a month through this card. Miss the ₹10 lakh waiver target and the ₹14,750 renewal (GST included) lands anyway.
  • Occasional users. Points expire after 36 months (3.0 years), so a slow-accumulating balance can lapse before it is large enough to redeem against the minimum redemption threshold.
  • Anyone reading the headline points rate literally. Each point is worth only ₹0.25, so "4 points per ₹100" is really about 1.00% back in value.
  • Anyone who revolves a balance. Credit card interest in India typically runs 36–45% a year plus 18% GST on the interest — that erases every reward this card can pay, on any spending pattern.

Hidden charges and fine print on the RBL Bank NOVA Credit Card

The costs that sit below the marketing page, verified against RBL Bank disclosures dated 2026-08.

GST sits on top of every fee you were quoted

The listed ₹12,500 joining fee and ₹12,500 annual fee exclude GST. You actually pay ₹14,750 up front and ₹14,750 at each renewal. The 18% GST is never waived, even when the bank waives the fee itself on spend — check your statement.

Forex markup of 2% is really 2.36%

GST at 18% applies to the markup, so 2% becomes about 2.36% in real terms. Also decline Dynamic Currency Conversion at foreign terminals: paying "in INR" adds another 3–5% on top of this.

The headline rate stops at a monthly cap

flights and hotels is capped at 30,000 points a month. Caps are per statement month and do not carry forward — an unused cap in April is gone in May.

Spends that earn zero

fuel, utility bills and recharges, insurance premiums, rent payments earn no rewards at all. Fuel & Auto, Utilities, Insurance, Quasi-Cash, Real Estate/Rental, Wallet/Service Providers, Education, Government Services, Contracted Services, Cash, Railways, Miscellaneous, Bills2Pay, EMI earn 0 RP. These excluded spends also frequently fail to count toward fee-waiver and milestone targets, so check the MITC before routing large payments here to "hit the target".

Points expire in 36 months

Rewards are not a savings account. Anything unredeemed after 36 months lapses silently, and banks are not obliged to remind you. Set a calendar reminder to redeem at least once a year.

Redemption fine print

1 RP = Rs.0.25, redeem via nova.rbl.bank.in on flights, hotels, E-Gift Cards, miles transfer, experiences, events, gifting, merchandise, philanthropy. No reward redemption fee. Points expire in 36 months. Redemption fees and minimum-balance thresholds are the most commonly missed cost on Indian cards — factor them in before comparing headline earn rates.

Lounge access is conditional

12 complimentary domestic + 12 international lounge visits/year; 4 international guest visits/year Read that as a spending requirement, not a perk you already own — most declined lounge entries in India are unmet prior-quarter spend conditions.

Fuel surcharge waiver has a monthly ceiling

The 1% waiver is capped at ₹1000 per statement month, and the surcharge is usually reversed as a credit in the next cycle rather than netted off at the pump. Transactions outside the bank's stated per-transaction band may not qualify at all.

Charges every Indian card carries

Cash withdrawal fees (typically 2.5% of the amount, minimum ₹500) with interest from day one and no interest-free period, late payment fees graded by outstanding balance, over-limit charges, EMI conversion processing fees and interest, rent-payment and wallet-load fees, and payment-return charges. These are listed in the bank's MITC document, not in the marketing page — read it once before you apply.

Tax implications of the RBL Bank NOVA Credit Card

Indian tax treatment of the fees, rewards and foreign spends on this specific card.

GST on fees and charges. Every fee quoted on this page excludes GST. The ₹12,500 joining fee bills as ₹14,750 and the ₹12,500 renewal as ₹14,750. GST also applies to interest, late payment fees, cash advance fees and the forex markup — it is not a one-off on the fee alone.

Are the reward points taxable? Points or cashback earned in proportion to your own spending are treated as a post-purchase discount rather than income, so a salaried individual does not pay tax on them. The same applies to the points here, valued at ₹0.25 per point on redemption. Two exceptions matter: benefits received from a business relationship (not from your own spending) can attract TDS at 10% under section 194R where the value exceeds ₹20,000 in a year, and a gift or voucher received from the bank with no link to your spending can be taxable under section 56(2)(x) if total gifts from non-relatives cross ₹50,000 in a year.

Milestone vouchers on this card. The "Rs.10,000 E-Gift Card (Taj Experiences/Tata CLiQ Luxury/MakeMyTrip/Marriott Bonvoy) per Rs.3L spent in a calendar quarter" benefit is earned against spending, so it is treated the same way as reward points — a discount, not taxable income. If those spends were claimed as business expenses, reduce the expense claim by the benefit value instead of showing it as income.

Is the annual fee deductible? Not for a salaried cardholder — it is a personal expense. If the card is genuinely used for business or professional spends, the ₹14,750 renewal is an allowable business expense under section 37(1), and a GST-registered business billed in its own name can claim the ₹2,250 GST as input tax credit.

Foreign spends, TCS and the LRS. The 2% markup attracts 18% GST, making it about 2.36% effectively. TCS under the Liberalised Remittance Scheme runs at 20% above ₹10 lakh of remittances in a financial year; international credit card spends have so far been kept outside the LRS pending notification, so no TCS is deducted at the till today. Where TCS is collected on any remittance, it is not a sunk cost — it is creditable against your tax liability and refundable through your ITR.

Spends the tax department can see. Aggregate credit card payments of ₹10 lakh or more in a financial year (₹1 lakh or more if paid in cash) are reported by RBL Bank in the Statement of Financial Transactions and show up in your AIS. That is not a tax by itself, but the spending should be consistent with the income you declare.

Eligibility and documents for the RBL Bank NOVA Credit Card

RBL Bank's stated criteria, verified 2026-08.

Eligibility

  • Income: As per bank criteria (invite/apply-based premium segment) (as stated by RBL Bank).
  • Age: typically 21 to 60 for salaried applicants and up to 65 for self-employed; add-on cards from 18.
  • Credit score: a CIBIL score of 750+ materially improves approval odds on a card at this tier, where issuers are selective.
  • Residency: resident Indian with a verifiable address in a city RBL Bank services.
  • Relationship route: premium cards are frequently issued against an existing salary account, wealth relationship or pre-approved offer rather than a cold application.

Documents required

  • Identity: PAN card (mandatory) plus Aadhaar, passport, voter ID or driving licence.
  • Address: Aadhaar, passport, utility bill or registered rent agreement.
  • Income (salaried): last 3 months' salary slips and 3–6 months' bank statements showing salary credit; Form 16 for the latest year.
  • Income (self-employed): latest 1–2 years' ITR with computation, audited financials where applicable, and 6 months' current account statements.
  • Photograph: one recent passport-size photo (often skipped in a full digital journey).
  • Existing RBL Bank customers with a salary or pre-approved relationship usually skip the income documents entirely.

Nomination note: a credit card has no nominee — nomination applies to deposits and investments. What matters here is that your family knows the card exists and knows the outstanding, so it can be settled from the estate promptly instead of accruing interest and late fees after the fact.

How to apply for the RBL Bank NOVA Credit Card

  1. Check for a pre-approved offer first. Log in to RBL Bank net banking or the mobile app. A pre-approved journey skips income documents and, more importantly, avoids a hard enquiry on your credit report if you are declined.
  2. Confirm the current fee and rates on the official page before applying — banks revise these without much notice.
  3. Apply online with PAN, Aadhaar and employment details, or walk into a RBL Bank branch if your income profile needs manual assessment.
  4. Complete KYC. Most issuers now offer video KYC that finishes in minutes; physical verification adds a few days.
  5. Confirm the credit limit before activating. A limit too small to route ₹83,333 a month through makes the ₹10 lakh fee waiver unreachable — ask for an enhancement up front.
  6. Set a full-payment auto-debit on the due date the day the card arrives. Interest of 36–45% a year plus GST is the single fastest way to turn this card into a loss.
Official RBL Bank page for this card

RBL Bank NOVA Credit Card — frequently asked questions

Answers use this card's own numbers, verified 2026-08.

What is the annual fee for the RBL Bank NOVA Credit Card, and can it be waived?

The annual fee is ₹12,500 plus 18% GST, so ₹14,750 actually leaves your account. It is waived if you spend ₹10 lakh in the card anniversary year — about ₹83,333 a month.

How much do you actually earn on the RBL Bank NOVA Credit Card?

The base rate is 4 points per ₹100, and each point is worth ₹0.25 at the best redemption — roughly 1.00% in value. The accelerated categories are flights and hotels at 12 points per ₹100.

Which spends earn no rewards on the RBL Bank NOVA Credit Card?

fuel, utility bills and recharges, insurance premiums, rent payments earn zero. Fuel & Auto, Utilities, Insurance, Quasi-Cash, Real Estate/Rental, Wallet/Service Providers, Education, Government Services, Contracted Services, Cash, Railways, Miscellaneous, Bills2Pay, EMI earn 0 RP. If those categories are a big share of your monthly outgo, your effective return will be well below the advertised rate.

Does the RBL Bank NOVA Credit Card offer airport lounge access?

Yes — 12 domestic and 12 international complimentary visits a year. Condition: 12 complimentary domestic + 12 international lounge visits/year; 4 international guest visits/year

What does the RBL Bank NOVA Credit Card charge on foreign currency spends?

A 2% markup, plus 18% GST on that markup, so about 2.36% effectively. On a ₹1 lakh foreign spend that is roughly ₹2,360.

Do reward points on the RBL Bank NOVA Credit Card expire?

Yes, after 36 months from the date they are earned. 1 RP = Rs.0.25, redeem via nova.rbl.bank.in on flights, hotels, E-Gift Cards, miles transfer, experiences, events, gifting, merchandise, philanthropy. No reward redemption fee. Points expire in 36 months. Redeem at least annually so nothing lapses.

Is there a cap on rewards from the RBL Bank NOVA Credit Card?

Yes. The tightest is flights and hotels at ₹30,000 of rewards a month. Caps reset each statement month and unused headroom does not carry forward.

What milestone benefits does the RBL Bank NOVA Credit Card offer?

Rs.10,000 E-Gift Card (Taj Experiences/Tata CLiQ Luxury/MakeMyTrip/Marriott Bonvoy) per Rs.3L spent in a calendar quarter at ₹12 lakh of annual spend (worth about ₹10,000). Excluded categories usually do not count toward these targets — verify in the card's MITC.

What income do you need for the RBL Bank NOVA Credit Card?

RBL Bank states: As per bank criteria (invite/apply-based premium segment). Banks treat this as a floor, not a guarantee — your credit score, existing card limits and internal risk scoring decide the outcome.

Is the RBL Bank NOVA Credit Card annual fee tax-deductible, and are reward points taxable?

For a salaried cardholder the fee is a personal expense and is not deductible. If the card is used genuinely for business or professional spends, the fee and GST can be claimed as a business expense (and the GST as input credit where the card is billed to a GST-registered entity). Reward points earned in proportion to your own spending are generally treated as a post-purchase discount, not income, so they are not taxed in your hands.

Is TCS applicable on RBL Bank NOVA Credit Card spends abroad?

Tax Collected at Source under the Liberalised Remittance Scheme applies at 20% above the ₹10 lakh annual threshold for remittances and forex card loads. International spends on Indian credit cards have so far been kept outside the LRS pending notification, so no TCS is deducted at the point of sale today. This has been changed and deferred more than once — confirm the current position with RBL Bank before a large overseas spend. Any TCS actually collected is not a cost: it is creditable against your income tax liability and refundable when you file your ITR.

What happens to the RBL Bank NOVA Credit Card account after the cardholder's death?

A credit card is an unsecured personal liability and cannot be inherited or transferred — the card must be surrendered and closed. Inform RBL Bank in writing with the death certificate; the outstanding balance becomes payable from the deceased's estate, and the legal heirs are liable only to the extent of the assets they inherit, not personally. Any add-on cards stop working immediately. Unredeemed reward points are normally forfeited on closure, so a family member holding a large balance should redeem while the account is active. Nomination applies to deposits and investments, not to credit cards — but if there is a fixed deposit backing a secured card, the nomination on that FD governs its release.

Disclaimer: Results are estimates for financial planning purposes only and do not constitute financial, tax, investment, or legal advice. Actual values may vary based on your lender, market conditions, and individual circumstances. Consult a qualified CA, CFP, or financial advisor before making any financial decisions.