IDFC FIRST Bank
IDFC FIRST Gaj: Credit Card
Verified Official Data • 2026-08
₹12,500
₹12,500
₹10,00,000
0%
Annual fee payable: ₹12,500/yr
Most cards earn ₹0 rewards on fuel (surcharge waiver only).
Frequently excluded from rewards in India.
Spends-to-Rewards Breakdown
Live conversion of your active monthly spends
Yield & Milestone Tracker
-1.25%
Spent ₹6,00,000 • Spend ₹4,00,000 more to waive fee.
Is IDFC FIRST Gaj: Credit Card really your best option?
Run your spend profile against all 521 cards in India and see where this one ranks.
Key Specifications
₹12,500
₹12,500
₹10,00,000
0%
Rewards Structure (2026)
Official earn rates, accelerated multipliers and category caps
All non-excluded general spends
Lounge & Travel Perks
None
None
Redemption & Expiry
VERIFIED 2026-08-14 (self-audit re-fetch, official page): "1 Reward Point = ₹1 on travel bookings via our mobile app (₹0.25 elsewhere)" -- travel pointValue of 1 applies specifically to mobile-app travel redemption; cashback/other redemption is ₹0.25/point.
Exclusion Honesty: This data has been verified against official IDFC FIRST Bank publications. Exclusions and point friction factors are encoded in full to ensure truthful net calculations.
Official Specification Sheet
Verified parameters formatted for mobile reading without horizontal scrolling
IDFC FIRST Gaj: Credit Card Review & Guide (2026)
The IDFC FIRST Gaj: Credit Card by IDFC FIRST Bank operates on a base reward rate of 3.33 reward points per ₹100 in the super-premium tier.
Evaluating this card requires looking past the ₹12,500 joining fee and ₹12,500 annual fee to assess your real Net Annual Value (NTV). With the live calculator above, verify if your spend meets fee waivers or accelerates rewards in top merchant categories.
Who Benefits Most
- People who want one flat, no-thinking rate: every eligible spend earns 3.33 points per ₹100 (about 3.33% in value at best redemption), with no category tracking.
- Households spending about ₹83,333 a month on cards to clear the ₹10 lakh waiver.
- International spenders: low 0% forex markup vs standard 3.5% on other cards.
Who Should Avoid
- Anyone who cannot put ₹83,333/month through this card to clear the fee waiver.
- Anyone revolving balances: credit card interest in India runs 36–45% + 18% GST, erasing all rewards.
Hidden Charges & Fine Print
GST sits on top of quoted fees
Listed fees exclude GST. You pay ₹14,750 joining and ₹14,750 annually. 18% GST is never waived.
Forex markup is effectively 0.00%
18% GST applies to the 0% markup. Always decline Dynamic Currency Conversion (billing in INR) abroad.
Standard MITC fees
Cash withdrawal fee (2.5% min ₹500), over-limit charges, late payment charges, rent/wallet fee.
Tax Implications
GST on Fees: All quoted fees exclude 18% GST. The ₹12,500 joining fee bills as ₹14,750 and renewal as ₹14,750.
Reward Points Taxability: Points earned from personal spending are considered discounts and are not taxed. Business rewards may attract TDS under Section 194R if gifts exceed ₹20,000/year.
LRS & TCS: International spends on Indian cards are currently exempted from 20% LRS TCS pending central notification.
Eligibility & Documentation
- Age 21–60 (salaried) or up to 65 (self-employed).
- CIBIL score 750+ recommended.
- Income: As assessed by bank.
- PAN card + Aadhaar/Passport.
- Last 3 months salary slips / Form 16 / ITR.
How to Apply
- Check for pre-approved offers in net banking to skip documentation.
- Confirm latest fees and exclusions on the official page.
- Apply online with PAN and Aadhaar for video KYC.
- Set full auto-debit on the due date immediately upon receipt.
IDFC FIRST Gaj: Credit Card — FAQs
Verified official answers • Updated 2026-08
The fee is ₹12,500 + 18% GST (₹14,750 total). Waived on spending ₹10 lakh annually (~₹83,333/mo).
Similar Cards to Consider
Alternative cards in the super-premium tier and IDFC FIRST Bank portfolio
Related Calculators & Guides
IDFC FIRST BankIDFC FIRST Gaj: Credit Card
Verified Official Data • Last updated 2026-08

Net Value Calculator
Drag sliders to estimate this card's annual value based on your actual spending habits.
Your Monthly Spend
₹50,000/moE-Commerce & Online
Daily Essentials
Most cards earn ₹0 rewards on fuel (surcharge waiver only).
Frequently excluded from rewards in India.
Lifestyle, Bills & Other
Almost always earns ₹0 and may carry a fee.
Often excluded or capped.
Savings & Milestones Tracker
-1.25%
Value Yield (Net / Spent)
₹-7,505
Annual Net Value
Spent ₹6,00,000 • Spend ₹4,00,000 more to waive fee.
How Your Spends Convert to Rewards
Live calculation breakdown for IDFC FIRST Gaj: Credit Card
| Spend Category | Monthly Spend | Reward Rate | Points Earned | Monthly Value | Annual Value | Status / Caps |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Other Online Shopping | ₹6,000/mo | 3.33 Pts / ₹100 | 200 pts2,400 pts/yr | ₹50 | ₹599/yr | Active Earn |
Amazon Spends | ₹3,500/mo | 3.33 Pts / ₹100 | 117 pts1,404 pts/yr | ₹29 | ₹350/yr | Active Earn |
Flipkart Spends | ₹2,000/mo | 3.33 Pts / ₹100 | 67 pts804 pts/yr | ₹17 | ₹200/yr | Active Earn |
Dining & Food Delivery | ₹5,000/mo | 3.33 Pts / ₹100 | 167 pts2,004 pts/yr | ₹42 | ₹500/yr | Active Earn |
Groceries | ₹7,000/mo | 3.33 Pts / ₹100 | 233 pts2,796 pts/yr | ₹58 | ₹699/yr | Active Earn |
Fuel | ₹4,000/mo | 3.33 Pts / ₹100 | 133 pts1,596 pts/yr | ₹33 | ₹400/yr | Active Earn |
Utilities & Bills | ₹4,000/mo | 3.33 Pts / ₹100 | 133 pts1,596 pts/yr | ₹33 | ₹400/yr | Active Earn |
Travel (Flights/Hotels) | ₹4,000/mo | 3.33 Pts / ₹100 | 133 pts1,596 pts/yr | ₹33 | ₹400/yr | Active Earn |
Rent | ₹10,000/mo | 3.33 Pts / ₹100 | 333 pts3,996 pts/yr | ₹83 | ₹999/yr | Active Earn |
Insurance | ₹1,500/mo | 3.33 Pts / ₹100 | 50 pts600 pts/yr | ₹12 | ₹150/yr | Active Earn |
Other / Offline | ₹3,000/mo | 3.33 Pts / ₹100 | 100 pts1,200 pts/yr | ₹25 | ₹300/yr | Active Earn |
All ₹ values exclude GST. Perks like lounge access are shown separately and not added into net value. Rewards use your selected redemption mode (cashback / statement credit).
Is IDFC FIRST Gaj: Credit Card actually your best option?
Run the same spend against all 521 cards and see where this one ranks.
Key Specifications
₹12500
₹12500
₹1000000
0%
Rewards Structure
Earn rates and reward configurations verified for 2026.
Applies to all non-excluded offline/misc categories
Lounge Access
Additional Perks
Redemption & Expiry
Exclusion Honesty: This data has been verified against official bank publications. We include exclusions and point valuation friction factors to render honest net metrics in our calculations.
Official Specification Sheet
Comprehensive rules, fees, and parameters verified directly against issuer details.
| Feature | IDFC FIRST Gaj: Credit CardIDFC FIRST Bank |
|---|---|
| Joining fee | ₹12,500 |
| Annual fee | ₹12,500/yr |
| Fee waiver | Spend ₹10,00,000/yr |
| Base reward | 3.33 pts / ₹100 |
| Top reward categories | Base rate only |
| Redemption friction | Easy |
| Point expiry | Never expire |
| Lounge access | None |
| Forex markup | 0% |
| Fuel surcharge | None |
| Min income · salaried | Not stated |
| Min income · self-employed | Not stated |
| Eligibility (as stated) | Not stated |
| Recent devaluations | None recorded |
| Verified against | Updated 2026-08Official IDFC FIRST Bank Credit Card Page |
Detailed IDFC FIRST Gaj: Credit Card Credit Card Review & Spends Guide (2026)
The IDFC FIRST Gaj: Credit Card by IDFC FIRST Bank is a prominent credit card in the Indian market, categorized under the super-premium tier. Offering a base rewards engine of 3.33 reward points per ₹100, this card targets users looking to optimize their personal finances.
When evaluating the real-world value of the IDFC FIRST Gaj: Credit Card, it's essential to look beyond the joining fee of ₹12500 and annual fee of ₹12500. With our real-time calculator above, you can map out your monthly category spends (online shopping, dining, travel, utilities, groceries, etc.) to see if you can trigger the spend-based annual fee waiver of ₹1000000, which determines your true Net Annual Value (NTV).
Rewards Potential & Category Multipliers
For accelerated spenders, the IDFC FIRST Gaj: Credit Card features key reward multipliers:
Lounge Access & Extra Perks
Perks add immense value that calculations often leave out. The IDFC FIRST Gaj: Credit Card offers:
- Domestic Lounges: No domestic lounge visits available.
- International Lounges: No international lounge visits available.
Points Redemption and Point Expiry
Earning points is only half the battle. Redemptions are subject to a friction index of 2/5 (representing Instant digital redemption (2/5 friction)). Note: VERIFIED 2026-08-14 (self-audit re-fetch, official page): "1 Reward Point = ₹1 on travel bookings via our mobile app (₹0.25 elsewhere)" -- travel pointValue of 1 applies specifically to mobile-app travel redemption; cashback/other redemption is ₹0.25/point.. Points are valid for a lifetime (no expiry).
Who the IDFC FIRST Gaj: Credit Card benefits the most
Derived from this card's actual earn rates, caps and perks — not a generic profile.
- People who want one flat, no-thinking rate: every eligible spend earns 3.33 points per ₹100 (about 3.33% in value at the best redemption), with no category tracking to do.
- Households already spending about ₹83,333 a month on cards. That clears the ₹10 lakh annual-spend waiver and makes the ₹12,500 annual fee (₹14,750 with 18% GST) disappear.
- People who spend abroad or buy in foreign currency online. At a 0% forex markup, a ₹2 lakh overseas trip costs about ₹0 in markup plus GST, versus roughly ₹8,260 on a typical 3.5% card.
- People who never get around to redeeming. Redemption friction here is 2/5, so rewards convert with little effort instead of rotting in a points balance.
Who should avoid the IDFC FIRST Gaj: Credit Card
The cases where this card quietly costs more than it pays back.
- Anyone who cannot reliably put ₹83,333 a month through this card. Miss the ₹10 lakh waiver target and the ₹14,750 renewal (GST included) lands anyway.
- Frequent flyers looking for airport comfort. This card carries no complimentary lounge access.
- Anyone who revolves a balance. Credit card interest in India typically runs 36–45% a year plus 18% GST on the interest — that erases every reward this card can pay, on any spending pattern.
Hidden charges and fine print on the IDFC FIRST Gaj: Credit Card
The costs that sit below the marketing page, verified against IDFC FIRST Bank disclosures dated 2026-08.
GST sits on top of every fee you were quoted
The listed ₹12,500 joining fee and ₹12,500 annual fee exclude GST. You actually pay ₹14,750 up front and ₹14,750 at each renewal. The 18% GST is never waived, even when the bank waives the fee itself on spend — check your statement.
Forex markup of 0% is really 0.00%
This card carries no forex markup, which is genuinely rare in India. Dynamic Currency Conversion at the merchant terminal can still cost you 3–5% — always choose to be billed in the local currency, not in rupees.
Redemption fine print
VERIFIED 2026-08-14 (self-audit re-fetch, official page): "1 Reward Point = ₹1 on travel bookings via our mobile app (₹0.25 elsewhere)" -- travel pointValue of 1 applies specifically to mobile-app travel redemption; cashback/other redemption is ₹0.25/point. Redemption fees and minimum-balance thresholds are the most commonly missed cost on Indian cards — factor them in before comparing headline earn rates.
No fuel surcharge waiver
This card carries no fuel surcharge waiver in the published terms, so the usual ~1% surcharge levied by petrol pumps stays on your bill.
Charges every Indian card carries
Cash withdrawal fees (typically 2.5% of the amount, minimum ₹500) with interest from day one and no interest-free period, late payment fees graded by outstanding balance, over-limit charges, EMI conversion processing fees and interest, rent-payment and wallet-load fees, and payment-return charges. These are listed in the bank's MITC document, not in the marketing page — read it once before you apply.
Tax implications of the IDFC FIRST Gaj: Credit Card
Indian tax treatment of the fees, rewards and foreign spends on this specific card.
GST on fees and charges. Every fee quoted on this page excludes GST. The ₹12,500 joining fee bills as ₹14,750 and the ₹12,500 renewal as ₹14,750. GST also applies to interest, late payment fees, cash advance fees and the forex markup — it is not a one-off on the fee alone.
Are the reward points taxable? Points or cashback earned in proportion to your own spending are treated as a post-purchase discount rather than income, so a salaried individual does not pay tax on them. The same applies to the points here, valued at ₹1 per point on redemption. Two exceptions matter: benefits received from a business relationship (not from your own spending) can attract TDS at 10% under section 194R where the value exceeds ₹20,000 in a year, and a gift or voucher received from the bank with no link to your spending can be taxable under section 56(2)(x) if total gifts from non-relatives cross ₹50,000 in a year.
Is the annual fee deductible? Not for a salaried cardholder — it is a personal expense. If the card is genuinely used for business or professional spends, the ₹14,750 renewal is an allowable business expense under section 37(1), and a GST-registered business billed in its own name can claim the ₹2,250 GST as input tax credit.
Foreign spends, TCS and the LRS. This card charges no forex markup, so there is no GST on markup to pay. TCS under the Liberalised Remittance Scheme runs at 20% above ₹10 lakh of remittances in a financial year; international credit card spends have so far been kept outside the LRS pending notification, so no TCS is deducted at the till today. Where TCS is collected on any remittance, it is not a sunk cost — it is creditable against your tax liability and refundable through your ITR.
Spends the tax department can see. Aggregate credit card payments of ₹10 lakh or more in a financial year (₹1 lakh or more if paid in cash) are reported by IDFC FIRST Bank in the Statement of Financial Transactions and show up in your AIS. That is not a tax by itself, but the spending should be consistent with the income you declare.
Eligibility and documents for the IDFC FIRST Gaj: Credit Card
IDFC FIRST Bank does not publish a numeric income requirement for this super-premium-tier card.
Eligibility
- Income: IDFC FIRST Bank does not publish a figure for this card. Expect the usual premium threshold — often an income of ₹20 lakh a year or above, or an invitation-only route, confirmed at application.
- Age: typically 21 to 60 for salaried applicants and up to 65 for self-employed; add-on cards from 18.
- Credit score: a CIBIL score of 750+ materially improves approval odds on a card at this tier, where issuers are selective.
- Residency: resident Indian with a verifiable address in a city IDFC FIRST Bank services.
- Relationship route: premium cards are frequently issued against an existing salary account, wealth relationship or pre-approved offer rather than a cold application.
Documents required
- Identity: PAN card (mandatory) plus Aadhaar, passport, voter ID or driving licence.
- Address: Aadhaar, passport, utility bill or registered rent agreement.
- Income (salaried): last 3 months' salary slips and 3–6 months' bank statements showing salary credit; Form 16 for the latest year.
- Income (self-employed): latest 1–2 years' ITR with computation, audited financials where applicable, and 6 months' current account statements.
- Photograph: one recent passport-size photo (often skipped in a full digital journey).
- Existing IDFC FIRST Bank customers with a salary or pre-approved relationship usually skip the income documents entirely.
Nomination note: a credit card has no nominee — nomination applies to deposits and investments. What matters here is that your family knows the card exists and knows the outstanding, so it can be settled from the estate promptly instead of accruing interest and late fees after the fact.
How to apply for the IDFC FIRST Gaj: Credit Card
- Check for a pre-approved offer first. Log in to IDFC FIRST Bank net banking or the mobile app. A pre-approved journey skips income documents and, more importantly, avoids a hard enquiry on your credit report if you are declined.
- Confirm the current fee and rates on the official page before applying — banks revise these without much notice.
- Apply online with PAN, Aadhaar and employment details, or walk into a IDFC FIRST Bank branch if your income profile needs manual assessment.
- Complete KYC. Most issuers now offer video KYC that finishes in minutes; physical verification adds a few days.
- Confirm the credit limit before activating. A limit too small to route ₹83,333 a month through makes the ₹10 lakh fee waiver unreachable — ask for an enhancement up front.
- Set a full-payment auto-debit on the due date the day the card arrives. Interest of 36–45% a year plus GST is the single fastest way to turn this card into a loss.
IDFC FIRST Gaj: Credit Card — frequently asked questions
Answers use this card's own numbers, verified 2026-08.
What is the annual fee for the IDFC FIRST Gaj: Credit Card, and can it be waived?
The annual fee is ₹12,500 plus 18% GST, so ₹14,750 actually leaves your account. It is waived if you spend ₹10 lakh in the card anniversary year — about ₹83,333 a month.
How much do you actually earn on the IDFC FIRST Gaj: Credit Card?
The base rate is 3.33 points per ₹100, and each point is worth ₹1 at the best redemption — roughly 3.33% in value. There are no accelerated categories — the rate is flat across eligible spends.
Does the IDFC FIRST Gaj: Credit Card offer airport lounge access?
No. This card carries no complimentary lounge visits. If lounge access matters to you, look at a card that states a visit count in writing.
What does the IDFC FIRST Gaj: Credit Card charge on foreign currency spends?
There is no forex markup on this card, which is unusual in India. GST therefore has no markup to apply to. Still decline Dynamic Currency Conversion abroad — being billed in INR at the terminal costs 3–5%.
Do reward points on the IDFC FIRST Gaj: Credit Card expire?
No — points on this card do not carry a stated expiry. That does not protect you from devaluation, only from lapse.
Is the IDFC FIRST Gaj: Credit Card annual fee tax-deductible, and are reward points taxable?
For a salaried cardholder the fee is a personal expense and is not deductible. If the card is used genuinely for business or professional spends, the fee and GST can be claimed as a business expense (and the GST as input credit where the card is billed to a GST-registered entity). Reward points earned in proportion to your own spending are generally treated as a post-purchase discount, not income, so they are not taxed in your hands.
Is TCS applicable on IDFC FIRST Gaj: Credit Card spends abroad?
Tax Collected at Source under the Liberalised Remittance Scheme applies at 20% above the ₹10 lakh annual threshold for remittances and forex card loads. International spends on Indian credit cards have so far been kept outside the LRS pending notification, so no TCS is deducted at the point of sale today. This has been changed and deferred more than once — confirm the current position with IDFC FIRST Bank before a large overseas spend. Any TCS actually collected is not a cost: it is creditable against your income tax liability and refundable when you file your ITR.
What happens to the IDFC FIRST Gaj: Credit Card account after the cardholder's death?
A credit card is an unsecured personal liability and cannot be inherited or transferred — the card must be surrendered and closed. Inform IDFC FIRST Bank in writing with the death certificate; the outstanding balance becomes payable from the deceased's estate, and the legal heirs are liable only to the extent of the assets they inherit, not personally. Any add-on cards stop working immediately. Unredeemed reward points are normally forfeited on closure, so a family member holding a large balance should redeem while the account is active. Nomination applies to deposits and investments, not to credit cards — but if there is a fixed deposit backing a secured card, the nomination on that FD governs its release.
Similar & Alternative Cards
Explore other top-rated Super-premium credit cards in India

HDFC Infinia Metal Edition Credit Card

Axis Bank Magnus Credit Card

RBL Bank NOVA Credit Card

White Reserve Credit Card

ICICI Emeralde Private Metal Credit Card

Union NEXTERIA Credit Card
Related Guides & Tools
Ranked card lists IDFC FIRST Gaj: Credit Card appears in, plus calculators for card debt decisions
