HDFC Bank
HDFC Infinia Metal Edition Credit Card
Verified Official Data • 2026-08
₹12,500
₹12,500
₹10,00,000
2%
Annual fee payable: ₹12,500/yr
Most cards earn ₹0 rewards on fuel (surcharge waiver only).
Frequently excluded from rewards in India.
Spends-to-Rewards Breakdown
Live conversion of your active monthly spends
Yield & Milestone Tracker
-1.36%
Spent ₹6,00,000 • Spend ₹4,00,000 more to waive fee.
Is HDFC Infinia Metal Edition Credit Card really your best option?
Run your spend profile against all 541 cards in India and see where this one ranks.
Key Specifications
₹12,500
₹12,500
₹10,00,000
2%
Devaluation Log & History
Effective 1 July 2026: SmartBuy brand vouchers (GyFTR/Woohoo via SmartBuy) now capped at 3,000 accelerated RP/calendar month, within the existing unchanged 15,000 max accelerated-RP monthly SmartBuy cap.
Online skill-based gaming transactions stop earning Reward Points.
Insurance RP cap increased to 10,000/month (from 5000/day).
Education payments via third-party apps stop earning Reward Points.
Rent and govt transactions stop earning Reward Points. Grocery cap of 2000 RP/month introduced.
Joining/annual fee increased from ₹10,000 to ₹12,500. Fee waiver threshold increased from ₹8L to ₹10L (for cards sourced after Oct 18, 2021).
Rewards Structure (2026)
Official earn rates, accelerated multipliers and category caps
All non-excluded general spends
VERIFIED 2026-08-10 (hdfcbank.com Infinia Metal page, quotes: 'Earn 5 Reward Points on every Rs.150 retail* spends including Insurance, Utilities and Education' and 'Earn up to 10 times Reward Points* on your travel and shopping spends on Smartbuy'): ordinary travel spend NOT booked via SmartBuy earns only the base 3.33 RP/₹100. The up-to-10X accelerator applies only to SmartBuy bookings, not general travel category spend. Exact current SmartBuy monthly RP cap for Infinia's travel/hotel accelerator could not be confirmed on official pages in this pass (UNVERIFIED) so no uncapped 10X is modelled here.
3.33 RP/₹100. Insurance cap: 10,000 RP/month. VERIFIED 2026-08-10: cap is stated by HDFC as a Reward Point count (10,000 RP), not an ₹ amount, so capUnit corrected to "points" (engine multiplies by pointValue.travel=1.0, so numeric cap value is unchanged for travel redemption, but this prevents double-counting if pointValue changes). Higher than Diners Black Metal's 5,000 RP/month insurance cap.
3.33 RP/₹100. Grocery cap: 2000 RP/month (= ₹2000 at ₹1/RP).
3.33 RP/₹100. Utility cap: 2000 RP/month. Utility spends > ₹50K/month attract 1% fee.
No RP on: Fuel, Rent (via third-party apps), Govt transactions, EasyEMI, e-wallet loading. Education via third-party apps excluded. Online skill-based gaming excluded (w.e.f July 2025). RP earned on all retail categories including insurance, utilities, education (direct to school).
Lounge & Travel Perks
Unlimited
Unlimited
Redemption & Expiry
No redemption fee. Official SmartBuy: '1 Reward Point = ₹1 on Hotels and Flights', '1 Reward Point = ₹1 on Apple and Tanishq', '1 Reward Point = up to 1 Airmile'. Cashback capped at 50,000 RP/month. Flight/hotel SmartBuy redemption capped at 1,50,000 RP/month. Tanishq/Apple capped at 50,000 RP/quarter. VERIFIED (official Infinia redemption table): 1 RP = ₹1 flights/hotels/Apple/Tanishq, ₹0.30 cashback against statement balance, up to ₹0.50 products/vouchers, up to 1 airmile (2 RP = 1 mile for Turkish/Accor/Avianca).
Eligibility Criteria
Exclusion Honesty: This data has been verified against official HDFC Bank publications. Exclusions and point friction factors are encoded in full to ensure truthful net calculations.
Official Specification Sheet
Verified parameters formatted for mobile reading without horizontal scrolling
HDFC Infinia Metal Edition Credit Card Review & Guide (2026)
The HDFC Infinia Metal Edition Credit Card by HDFC Bank operates on a base reward rate of 3.33 reward points per ₹100 in the super-premium tier.
Evaluating this card requires looking past the ₹12,500 joining fee and ₹12,500 annual fee to assess your real Net Annual Value (NTV). With the live calculator above, verify if your spend meets fee waivers or accelerates rewards in top merchant categories.
Who Benefits Most
- People who want one flat, no-thinking rate: every eligible spend earns 3.33 points per ₹100 (about 3.33% in value at best redemption), with no category tracking.
- Households spending about ₹83,333 a month on cards to clear the ₹10 lakh waiver.
- Frequent flyers: unlimited domestic and unlimited international lounge visits a year (unlimited access).
- International spenders: low 2% forex markup vs standard 3.5% on other cards.
Who Should Avoid
- Anyone whose spending is heavy on fuel, rent payments. These earn zero rewards. No RP on: Fuel, Rent (via third-party apps), Govt transactions, EasyEMI, e-wallet loading. Education via third-party apps excluded. Online skill-based gaming excluded (w.e.f July 2025). RP earned on all retail categories including insurance, utilities, education (direct to school).
- Anyone who cannot put ₹83,333/month through this card to clear the fee waiver.
- Occasional users: points expire after 36 months.
- Anyone revolving balances: credit card interest in India runs 36–45% + 18% GST, erasing all rewards.
Hidden Charges & Fine Print
GST sits on top of quoted fees
Listed fees exclude GST. You pay ₹14,750 joining and ₹14,750 annually. 18% GST is never waived.
Forex markup is effectively 2.36%
18% GST applies to the 2% markup. Always decline Dynamic Currency Conversion (billing in INR) abroad.
Category caps do not carry forward
insurance premiums is capped at ₹10,000/mo; groceries is capped at ₹2,000/mo; utility bills and recharges is capped at ₹2,000/mo. Unused caps lapse monthly.
Lounge access spend condition
Unlimited complimentary global airport lounge access for primary and add-on cardholders.
Standard MITC fees
Cash withdrawal fee (2.5% min ₹500), over-limit charges, late payment charges, rent/wallet fee.
Tax Implications
GST on Fees: All quoted fees exclude 18% GST. The ₹12,500 joining fee bills as ₹14,750 and renewal as ₹14,750.
Reward Points Taxability: Points earned from personal spending are considered discounts and are not taxed. Business rewards may attract TDS under Section 194R if gifts exceed ₹20,000/year.
LRS & TCS: International spends on Indian cards are currently exempted from 20% LRS TCS pending central notification.
Eligibility & Documentation
- Age 21–60 (salaried) or up to 65 (self-employed).
- CIBIL score 750+ recommended.
- Income: Invite only. No stated income threshold on official page..
- PAN card + Aadhaar/Passport.
- Last 3 months salary slips / Form 16 / ITR.
How to Apply
- Check for pre-approved offers in net banking to skip documentation.
- Confirm latest fees and exclusions on the official page.
- Apply online with PAN and Aadhaar for video KYC.
- Set full auto-debit on the due date immediately upon receipt.
HDFC Infinia Metal Edition Credit Card — FAQs
Verified official answers • Updated 2026-08
The fee is ₹12,500 + 18% GST (₹14,750 total). Waived on spending ₹10 lakh annually (~₹83,333/mo).
Similar Cards to Consider
Alternative cards in the super-premium tier and HDFC Bank portfolio
Head-to-Head Comparisons
Side-by-side net value and perk comparisons
HDFC Infinia Metal Edition Credit Card vs Axis Bank Magnus Credit Card
Compare fees, rewards and lounge perksHDFC Infinia Metal Edition Credit Card vs HDFC Diners Club Black Metal Edition Credit Card
Compare fees, rewards and lounge perksHDFC Infinia Metal Edition Credit Card vs HDFC Regalia Gold Credit Card
Compare fees, rewards and lounge perksRelated Calculators & Guides
HDFC BankHDFC Infinia Metal Edition Credit Card
Verified Official Data • Last updated 2026-08

Net Value Calculator
Drag sliders to estimate this card's annual value based on your actual spending habits.
Is HDFC Infinia Metal Edition Credit Card actually your best option?
Run the same spend against all 541 cards and see where this one ranks.
Key Specifications & Core Privileges
Issuance fees, spend waiver thresholds, forex markup, and complimentary airport lounge access.
₹12,500
+ GST₹12,500
Per year + GST₹10,00,000
Annual spend goal2%
Cross-currency markupUnlimited
Complimentary visitsUnlimited
Priority Pass / loungeRewards Structure & Redemption
Verified earn rates, accelerated multipliers, point conversion valuation, and redemption policies for 2026.
Applies to all non-excluded offline, general retail, and miscellaneous spends.
Instant digital redemption (2/5 friction)
36 months validity
Accelerated Category Multipliers (4)
VERIFIED 2026-08-10 (hdfcbank.com Infinia Metal page, quotes: 'Earn 5 Reward Points on every Rs.150 retail* spends including Insurance, Utilities and Education' and 'Earn up to 10 times Reward Points* on your travel and shopping spends on Smartbuy'): ordinary travel spend NOT booked via SmartBuy earns only the base 3.33 RP/₹100. The up-to-10X accelerator applies only to SmartBuy bookings, not general travel category spend. Exact current SmartBuy monthly RP cap for Infinia's travel/hotel accelerator could not be confirmed on official pages in this pass (UNVERIFIED) so no uncapped 10X is modelled here.
3.33 RP/₹100. Insurance cap: 10,000 RP/month. VERIFIED 2026-08-10: cap is stated by HDFC as a Reward Point count (10,000 RP), not an ₹ amount, so capUnit corrected to "points" (engine multiplies by pointValue.travel=1.0, so numeric cap value is unchanged for travel redemption, but this prevents double-counting if pointValue changes). Higher than Diners Black Metal's 5,000 RP/month insurance cap.
3.33 RP/₹100. Grocery cap: 2000 RP/month (= ₹2000 at ₹1/RP).
3.33 RP/₹100. Utility cap: 2000 RP/month. Utility spends > ₹50K/month attract 1% fee.
No RP on: Fuel, Rent (via third-party apps), Govt transactions, EasyEMI, e-wallet loading. Education via third-party apps excluded. Online skill-based gaming excluded (w.e.f July 2025). RP earned on all retail categories including insurance, utilities, education (direct to school).
Privileges, Milestones & Card Perks
Welcome bonuses, annual renewal rewards, milestone spend targets, and exclusive lifestyle memberships.
Complimentary Lifestyle & Travel Privileges (6)
Welcome: 12,500 Reward Points (= ₹12,500) on fee realisation + card activation
Complimentary Club Marriott membership (1st year)
ITC Hotels: Book 3 nights pay for 2 + 1+1 buffet at participating ITC hotels
Unlimited complimentary global golf lessons & games
24x7 Global Personal Concierge
1 RP = ₹1 on Apple products and Tanishq vouchers via SmartBuy
Eligibility, Governance & Data Verification
Applicant eligibility criteria, devaluation tracking history, and verified source citations.
Invite only. No stated income threshold on official page.
visa
Effective 1 July 2026: SmartBuy brand vouchers (GyFTR/Woohoo via SmartBuy) now capped at 3,000 accelerated RP/calendar month, within the existing unchanged 15,000 max accelerated-RP monthly SmartBuy cap.
Online skill-based gaming transactions stop earning Reward Points.
Insurance RP cap increased to 10,000/month (from 5000/day).
Education payments via third-party apps stop earning Reward Points.
Rent and govt transactions stop earning Reward Points. Grocery cap of 2000 RP/month introduced.
Joining/annual fee increased from ₹10,000 to ₹12,500. Fee waiver threshold increased from ₹8L to ₹10L (for cards sourced after Oct 18, 2021).
This card's data has been audited directly against official HDFC Bank Key Fact Statements (KFS) and published schedule of charges. Point valuations include real redemption friction factors to compute true net financial value.
Official Specification Sheet
Comprehensive rules, fees, and parameters verified directly against issuer details.
| Feature | HDFC Infinia Metal Edition Credit CardHDFC Bank |
|---|---|
| Joining fee | ₹12,500 |
| Annual fee | ₹12,500/yr |
| Fee waiver | Spend ₹10,00,000/yr |
| Base reward | 3.33 pts / ₹100 |
| Top reward categories | 3.33x travel, 3.33x insurance, 3.33x groceries |
| Redemption friction | Easy |
| Point expiry | 36 months |
| Lounge access | Unlimited dom · Unlimited intl⚠ Unlimited complimentary global airport lounge access for primary and add-on cardholders. |
| Forex markup | 2% |
| Fuel surcharge | 1% waiver, up to ₹1,000/mo |
| Min income · salaried | Not stated |
| Min income · self-employed | Not stated |
| Eligibility (as stated) | Invite only. No stated income threshold on official page. |
| Recent devaluations |
|
| Verified against |
Detailed HDFC Infinia Metal Edition Credit Card Credit Card Review & Spends Guide (2026)
The HDFC Infinia Metal Edition Credit Card by HDFC Bank is a prominent credit card in the Indian market, categorized under the super-premium tier. Offering a base rewards engine of 3.33 reward points per ₹100, this card targets users looking to optimize their personal finances.
When evaluating the real-world value of the HDFC Infinia Metal Edition Credit Card, it's essential to look beyond the joining fee of ₹12500 and annual fee of ₹12500. With our real-time calculator above, you can map out your monthly category spends (online shopping, dining, travel, utilities, groceries, etc.) to see if you can trigger the spend-based annual fee waiver of ₹1000000, which determines your true Net Annual Value (NTV).
Rewards Potential & Category Multipliers
For accelerated spenders, the HDFC Infinia Metal Edition Credit Card features key reward multipliers:
- 3.33x on travel spends (uncapped).
- 3.33x on insurance spends (capped at ₹10000/month).
- 3.33x on groceries spends (capped at ₹2000/month).
- 3.33x on utilities spends (capped at ₹2000/month).
- Exclusions: No rewards are earned on fuel, rent categories.
Lounge Access & Extra Perks
Perks add immense value that calculations often leave out. The HDFC Infinia Metal Edition Credit Card offers:
- Domestic Lounges: Unlimited visits
- International Lounges: Unlimited visits
- Lounge Condition: Unlimited complimentary global airport lounge access for primary and add-on cardholders.
Points Redemption and Point Expiry
Earning points is only half the battle. Redemptions are subject to a friction index of 2/5 (representing Instant digital redemption (2/5 friction)). Note: No redemption fee. Official SmartBuy: '1 Reward Point = ₹1 on Hotels and Flights', '1 Reward Point = ₹1 on Apple and Tanishq', '1 Reward Point = up to 1 Airmile'. Cashback capped at 50,000 RP/month. Flight/hotel SmartBuy redemption capped at 1,50,000 RP/month. Tanishq/Apple capped at 50,000 RP/quarter. VERIFIED (official Infinia redemption table): 1 RP = ₹1 flights/hotels/Apple/Tanishq, ₹0.30 cashback against statement balance, up to ₹0.50 products/vouchers, up to 1 airmile (2 RP = 1 mile for Turkish/Accor/Avianca).. Points are valid for 36 months.
Who the HDFC Infinia Metal Edition Credit Card benefits the most
Derived from this card's actual earn rates, caps and perks — not a generic profile.
- People who want one flat, no-thinking rate: every eligible spend earns 3.33 points per ₹100 (about 3.33% in value at the best redemption), with no category tracking to do.
- Households already spending about ₹83,333 a month on cards. That clears the ₹10 lakh annual-spend waiver and makes the ₹12,500 annual fee (₹14,750 with 18% GST) disappear.
- Frequent flyers: unlimited domestic lounge visits and unlimited international lounge visits a year — but read the condition below before counting on it.
- People who spend abroad or buy in foreign currency online. At a 2% forex markup, a ₹2 lakh overseas trip costs about ₹4,720 in markup plus GST, versus roughly ₹8,260 on a typical 3.5% card.
- People who never get around to redeeming. Redemption friction here is 2/5, so rewards convert with little effort instead of rotting in a points balance.
- Daily drivers: the 1% fuel surcharge waiver is capped at ₹1000/month, which covers roughly ₹1,00,000 of monthly fuel spend.
Who should avoid the HDFC Infinia Metal Edition Credit Card
The cases where this card quietly costs more than it pays back.
- Anyone whose spending is heavy on fuel, rent payments. These categories earn absolutely nothing on this card — not a reduced rate, zero. No RP on: Fuel, Rent (via third-party apps), Govt transactions, EasyEMI, e-wallet loading. Education via third-party apps excluded. Online skill-based gaming excluded (w.e.f July 2025). RP earned on all retail categories including insurance, utilities, education (direct to school).
- Anyone who cannot reliably put ₹83,333 a month through this card. Miss the ₹10 lakh waiver target and the ₹14,750 renewal (GST included) lands anyway.
- Occasional users. Points expire after 36 months (3.0 years), so a slow-accumulating balance can lapse before it is large enough to redeem against the minimum redemption threshold.
- Anyone building a long-term strategy around one benefit. This card has been devalued 6 times on record — most recently in 2026-07: Effective 1 July 2026: SmartBuy brand vouchers (GyFTR/Woohoo via SmartBuy) now capped at 3,000 accelerated RP/calendar month, within the existing unchanged 15,000 max accelerated-RP monthly SmartBuy cap. Assume today's rates are not permanent.
- Anyone who revolves a balance. Credit card interest in India typically runs 36–45% a year plus 18% GST on the interest — that erases every reward this card can pay, on any spending pattern.
Hidden charges and fine print on the HDFC Infinia Metal Edition Credit Card
The costs that sit below the marketing page, verified against HDFC Bank disclosures dated 2026-08.
GST sits on top of every fee you were quoted
The listed ₹12,500 joining fee and ₹12,500 annual fee exclude GST. You actually pay ₹14,750 up front and ₹14,750 at each renewal. The 18% GST is never waived, even when the bank waives the fee itself on spend — check your statement.
Forex markup of 2% is really 2.36%
GST at 18% applies to the markup, so 2% becomes about 2.36% in real terms. Also decline Dynamic Currency Conversion at foreign terminals: paying "in INR" adds another 3–5% on top of this.
The headline rate stops at a monthly cap
insurance premiums is capped at ₹10,000 of rewards a month (about ₹3,00,300 of spend); groceries is capped at ₹2,000 of rewards a month (about ₹60,060 of spend); utility bills and recharges is capped at ₹2,000 of rewards a month (about ₹60,060 of spend). Caps are per statement month and do not carry forward — an unused cap in April is gone in May.
Spends that earn zero
fuel, rent payments earn no rewards at all. No RP on: Fuel, Rent (via third-party apps), Govt transactions, EasyEMI, e-wallet loading. Education via third-party apps excluded. Online skill-based gaming excluded (w.e.f July 2025). RP earned on all retail categories including insurance, utilities, education (direct to school). These excluded spends also frequently fail to count toward fee-waiver and milestone targets, so check the MITC before routing large payments here to "hit the target".
Points expire in 36 months
Rewards are not a savings account. Anything unredeemed after 36 months lapses silently, and banks are not obliged to remind you. Set a calendar reminder to redeem at least once a year.
Redemption fine print
No redemption fee. Official SmartBuy: '1 Reward Point = ₹1 on Hotels and Flights', '1 Reward Point = ₹1 on Apple and Tanishq', '1 Reward Point = up to 1 Airmile'. Cashback capped at 50,000 RP/month. Flight/hotel SmartBuy redemption capped at 1,50,000 RP/month. Tanishq/Apple capped at 50,000 RP/quarter. VERIFIED (official Infinia redemption table): 1 RP = ₹1 flights/hotels/Apple/Tanishq, ₹0.30 cashback against statement balance, up to ₹0.50 products/vouchers, up to 1 airmile (2 RP = 1 mile for Turkish/Accor/Avianca). Redemption fees and minimum-balance thresholds are the most commonly missed cost on Indian cards — factor them in before comparing headline earn rates.
Lounge access is conditional
Unlimited complimentary global airport lounge access for primary and add-on cardholders. Read that as a spending requirement, not a perk you already own — most declined lounge entries in India are unmet prior-quarter spend conditions.
Fuel surcharge waiver has a monthly ceiling
The 1% waiver is capped at ₹1000 per statement month, and the surcharge is usually reversed as a credit in the next cycle rather than netted off at the pump. Transactions outside the bank's stated per-transaction band may not qualify at all.
Charges every Indian card carries
Cash withdrawal fees (typically 2.5% of the amount, minimum ₹500) with interest from day one and no interest-free period, late payment fees graded by outstanding balance, over-limit charges, EMI conversion processing fees and interest, rent-payment and wallet-load fees, and payment-return charges. These are listed in the bank's MITC document, not in the marketing page — read it once before you apply.
Tax implications of the HDFC Infinia Metal Edition Credit Card
Indian tax treatment of the fees, rewards and foreign spends on this specific card.
GST on fees and charges. Every fee quoted on this page excludes GST. The ₹12,500 joining fee bills as ₹14,750 and the ₹12,500 renewal as ₹14,750. GST also applies to interest, late payment fees, cash advance fees and the forex markup — it is not a one-off on the fee alone.
Are the reward points taxable? Points or cashback earned in proportion to your own spending are treated as a post-purchase discount rather than income, so a salaried individual does not pay tax on them. The same applies to the points here, valued at ₹1 per point on redemption. Two exceptions matter: benefits received from a business relationship (not from your own spending) can attract TDS at 10% under section 194R where the value exceeds ₹20,000 in a year, and a gift or voucher received from the bank with no link to your spending can be taxable under section 56(2)(x) if total gifts from non-relatives cross ₹50,000 in a year.
Is the annual fee deductible? Not for a salaried cardholder — it is a personal expense. If the card is genuinely used for business or professional spends, the ₹14,750 renewal is an allowable business expense under section 37(1), and a GST-registered business billed in its own name can claim the ₹2,250 GST as input tax credit.
Foreign spends, TCS and the LRS. The 2% markup attracts 18% GST, making it about 2.36% effectively. TCS under the Liberalised Remittance Scheme runs at 20% above ₹10 lakh of remittances in a financial year; international credit card spends have so far been kept outside the LRS pending notification, so no TCS is deducted at the till today. Where TCS is collected on any remittance, it is not a sunk cost — it is creditable against your tax liability and refundable through your ITR.
Spends the tax department can see. Aggregate credit card payments of ₹10 lakh or more in a financial year (₹1 lakh or more if paid in cash) are reported by HDFC Bank in the Statement of Financial Transactions and show up in your AIS. That is not a tax by itself, but the spending should be consistent with the income you declare.
Eligibility and documents for the HDFC Infinia Metal Edition Credit Card
HDFC Bank's stated criteria, verified 2026-08.
Eligibility
- Income: Invite only. No stated income threshold on official page. (as stated by HDFC Bank).
- Age: typically 21 to 60 for salaried applicants and up to 65 for self-employed; add-on cards from 18.
- Credit score: a CIBIL score of 750+ materially improves approval odds on a card at this tier, where issuers are selective.
- Residency: resident Indian with a verifiable address in a city HDFC Bank services.
- Relationship route: premium cards are frequently issued against an existing salary account, wealth relationship or pre-approved offer rather than a cold application.
Documents required
- Identity: PAN card (mandatory) plus Aadhaar, passport, voter ID or driving licence.
- Address: Aadhaar, passport, utility bill or registered rent agreement.
- Income (salaried): last 3 months' salary slips and 3–6 months' bank statements showing salary credit; Form 16 for the latest year.
- Income (self-employed): latest 1–2 years' ITR with computation, audited financials where applicable, and 6 months' current account statements.
- Photograph: one recent passport-size photo (often skipped in a full digital journey).
- Existing HDFC Bank customers with a salary or pre-approved relationship usually skip the income documents entirely.
Nomination note: a credit card has no nominee — nomination applies to deposits and investments. What matters here is that your family knows the card exists and knows the outstanding, so it can be settled from the estate promptly instead of accruing interest and late fees after the fact.
How to apply for the HDFC Infinia Metal Edition Credit Card
- Check for a pre-approved offer first. Log in to HDFC Bank net banking or the mobile app. A pre-approved journey skips income documents and, more importantly, avoids a hard enquiry on your credit report if you are declined.
- Confirm the current fee and rates on the official page before applying — banks revise these without much notice, and this card has already been revised 6 times on record.
- Apply online with PAN, Aadhaar and employment details, or walk into a HDFC Bank branch if your income profile needs manual assessment.
- Complete KYC. Most issuers now offer video KYC that finishes in minutes; physical verification adds a few days.
- Confirm the credit limit before activating. A limit too small to route ₹83,333 a month through makes the ₹10 lakh fee waiver unreachable — ask for an enhancement up front.
- Set a full-payment auto-debit on the due date the day the card arrives. Interest of 36–45% a year plus GST is the single fastest way to turn this card into a loss.
HDFC Infinia Metal Edition Credit Card — frequently asked questions
Answers use this card's own numbers, verified 2026-08.
What is the annual fee for the HDFC Infinia Metal Edition Credit Card, and can it be waived?
The annual fee is ₹12,500 plus 18% GST, so ₹14,750 actually leaves your account. It is waived if you spend ₹10 lakh in the card anniversary year — about ₹83,333 a month.
How much do you actually earn on the HDFC Infinia Metal Edition Credit Card?
The base rate is 3.33 points per ₹100, and each point is worth ₹1 at the best redemption — roughly 3.33% in value. There are no accelerated categories — the rate is flat across eligible spends.
Which spends earn no rewards on the HDFC Infinia Metal Edition Credit Card?
fuel, rent payments earn zero. No RP on: Fuel, Rent (via third-party apps), Govt transactions, EasyEMI, e-wallet loading. Education via third-party apps excluded. Online skill-based gaming excluded (w.e.f July 2025). RP earned on all retail categories including insurance, utilities, education (direct to school). If those categories are a big share of your monthly outgo, your effective return will be well below the advertised rate.
Does the HDFC Infinia Metal Edition Credit Card offer airport lounge access?
Yes — unlimited domestic and unlimited international complimentary visits a year. Condition: Unlimited complimentary global airport lounge access for primary and add-on cardholders.
What does the HDFC Infinia Metal Edition Credit Card charge on foreign currency spends?
A 2% markup, plus 18% GST on that markup, so about 2.36% effectively. On a ₹1 lakh foreign spend that is roughly ₹2,360.
Do reward points on the HDFC Infinia Metal Edition Credit Card expire?
Yes, after 36 months from the date they are earned. No redemption fee. Official SmartBuy: '1 Reward Point = ₹1 on Hotels and Flights', '1 Reward Point = ₹1 on Apple and Tanishq', '1 Reward Point = up to 1 Airmile'. Cashback capped at 50,000 RP/month. Flight/hotel SmartBuy redemption capped at 1,50,000 RP/month. Tanishq/Apple capped at 50,000 RP/quarter. VERIFIED (official Infinia redemption table): 1 RP = ₹1 flights/hotels/Apple/Tanishq, ₹0.30 cashback against statement balance, up to ₹0.50 products/vouchers, up to 1 airmile (2 RP = 1 mile for Turkish/Accor/Avianca). Redeem at least annually so nothing lapses.
Is there a cap on rewards from the HDFC Infinia Metal Edition Credit Card?
Yes. The tightest is groceries at ₹2,000 of rewards a month, which you hit at about ₹60,060 of monthly spend in that category. Caps reset each statement month and unused headroom does not carry forward.
What income do you need for the HDFC Infinia Metal Edition Credit Card?
HDFC Bank states: Invite only. No stated income threshold on official page.. Banks treat this as a floor, not a guarantee — your credit score, existing card limits and internal risk scoring decide the outcome.
Is the HDFC Infinia Metal Edition Credit Card annual fee tax-deductible, and are reward points taxable?
For a salaried cardholder the fee is a personal expense and is not deductible. If the card is used genuinely for business or professional spends, the fee and GST can be claimed as a business expense (and the GST as input credit where the card is billed to a GST-registered entity). Reward points earned in proportion to your own spending are generally treated as a post-purchase discount, not income, so they are not taxed in your hands.
Is TCS applicable on HDFC Infinia Metal Edition Credit Card spends abroad?
Tax Collected at Source under the Liberalised Remittance Scheme applies at 20% above the ₹10 lakh annual threshold for remittances and forex card loads. International spends on Indian credit cards have so far been kept outside the LRS pending notification, so no TCS is deducted at the point of sale today. This has been changed and deferred more than once — confirm the current position with HDFC Bank before a large overseas spend. Any TCS actually collected is not a cost: it is creditable against your income tax liability and refundable when you file your ITR.
What happens to the HDFC Infinia Metal Edition Credit Card account after the cardholder's death?
A credit card is an unsecured personal liability and cannot be inherited or transferred — the card must be surrendered and closed. Inform HDFC Bank in writing with the death certificate; the outstanding balance becomes payable from the deceased's estate, and the legal heirs are liable only to the extent of the assets they inherit, not personally. Any add-on cards stop working immediately. Unredeemed reward points are normally forfeited on closure, so a family member holding a large balance should redeem while the account is active. Nomination applies to deposits and investments, not to credit cards — but if there is a fixed deposit backing a secured card, the nomination on that FD governs its release.
Head-to-Head Comparisons
Compare HDFC Infinia Metal Edition Credit Card directly with top competing market alternatives


HDFC Infinia Metal Edition Credit Card vs Axis Bank Magnus Credit Card
Compare net yields, reward rates & fees


HDFC Infinia Metal Edition Credit Card vs HDFC Diners Club Black Metal Edition Credit Card
Compare net yields, reward rates & fees


HDFC Infinia Metal Edition Credit Card vs HDFC Regalia Gold Credit Card
Compare net yields, reward rates & fees
Similar & Alternative Cards
Explore other top-rated Super-premium credit cards in India

Axis Bank Magnus Credit Card

IDFC FIRST Gaj: Credit Card

RBL Bank NOVA Credit Card

White Reserve Credit Card

ICICI Emeralde Private Metal Credit Card

Union NEXTERIA Credit Card
Related Guides & Tools
Ranked card lists HDFC Infinia Metal Edition Credit Card appears in, plus calculators for card debt decisions