HSBC logoHSBC
super-premium
HSBC

HSBC Premier Credit Card

Verified Official Data • Last updated 2026-09

Net Value Calculator

Drag sliders to estimate this card's annual value based on your actual spending habits.

Points Valuation & Redemption Mode
Quick Fill Monthly SpendPresets

Your Monthly Spend

₹50,000/mo

E-Commerce & Online

₹
₹
₹

Daily Essentials

₹
₹
₹

Most cards earn ₹0 rewards on fuel (surcharge waiver only).

₹

Frequently excluded from rewards in India.

Lifestyle, Bills & Other

₹
₹

Almost always earns ₹0 and may carry a fee.

₹

Often excluded or capped.

₹
HSBC

HSBC Premier Credit Card

Annual fee: ₹20,000

Estimated Net Annual Return
-₹3,440
(Net Value Kept per Year)

The calculator charges the full Rs.20,000 annual fee because it cannot verify HSBC Premier relationship status. Qualified Premier customers have the renewal fee waived, so their actual net value is higher by that fee.

Rewards₹16,560
Milestones₹0
Net Fee−₹20,000
Apply Now

Savings & Milestones Tracker

Overall Return RateBasic Return

-0.57%

Value Yield (Net / Spent)

₹-3,440

Annual Net Value

Was this helpful?
Your feedback helps us improve the comparison.

How Your Spends Convert to Rewards

Live calculation breakdown for HSBC Premier Credit Card

Spend CategoryMonthly SpendReward RatePoints EarnedMonthly ValueAnnual ValueStatus / Caps
Fuel
₹4,000/mo0 Pts / ₹1000 pts0 pts/yr₹0₹0/yrExcluded
Other Online Shopping
₹6,000/mo3 Pts / ₹100180 pts2,160 pts/yr₹180₹2,160/yrActive Earn
Amazon Spends
₹3,500/mo3 Pts / ₹100105 pts1,260 pts/yr₹105₹1,260/yrActive Earn
Flipkart Spends
₹2,000/mo3 Pts / ₹10060 pts720 pts/yr₹60₹720/yrActive Earn
Dining & Food Delivery
₹5,000/mo3 Pts / ₹100150 pts1,800 pts/yr₹150₹1,800/yrActive Earn
Groceries
₹7,000/mo3 Pts / ₹100210 pts2,520 pts/yr₹210₹2,520/yrActive Earn
Utilities & Bills
₹4,000/mo3 Pts / ₹100120 pts1,440 pts/yr₹120₹1,440/yrActive Earn
Rent
₹10,000/mo3 Pts / ₹100300 pts3,600 pts/yr₹300₹3,600/yrActive Earn
Insurance
₹1,500/mo3 Pts / ₹10045 pts540 pts/yr₹45₹540/yrActive Earn
Travel (Flights/Hotels)
₹4,000/mo3 Pts / ₹100120 pts1,440 pts/yr₹120₹1,440/yrActive Earn
Other / Offline
₹3,000/mo3 Pts / ₹10090 pts1,080 pts/yr₹90₹1,080/yrActive Earn

All ₹ values exclude GST. Perks like lounge access are shown separately and not added into net value. Rewards use your selected redemption mode (travel / airmiles).

Is HSBC Premier Credit Card actually your best option?

Run the same spend against all 496 cards and see where this one ranks.

Find my best card

Key Specifications

Joining Fee

₹12000

Annual Fee

₹20000

Waiver Spend

Relationship-based

Forex Fee

0.99%

Rewards Structure

Earn rates and reward configurations verified for 2026.

Base Rewards Rate

Applies to all non-excluded offline/misc categories

3 pts/₹100

Category Earn Rates

travel spends3x

Base rate on ordinary travel. Travel with Points portal earns 6X on flights, 12X on hotels and 2X on car rentals; accelerated rewards are capped at 18,000 points/month.

utilities spends3x
Monthly cap: ₹3000

Shares the Rs.1,00,000/month eligible-spend ceiling with rent, insurance and HSBC's other listed special MCCs.

rent spends3x
Monthly cap: ₹3000

Shares the Rs.1,00,000/month eligible-spend ceiling with utilities, insurance and HSBC's other listed special MCCs.

insurance spends3x
Monthly cap: ₹3000

Shares the Rs.1,00,000/month eligible-spend ceiling with utilities, rent and HSBC's other listed special MCCs.

Absolute Reward Exclusions (0% Earn Rate)
fuel

Fuel earns no points. Utilities, tax, rent/real estate, insurance, jewellery, e-wallets, financial institutions, money transfer, bail/bond and education/government MCCs earn only on a combined first Rs.1,00,000 of spend each month. Cash advances, fees/charges and disputed transactions also earn no points.

Lounge Access

DomesticUnlimited
InternationalUnlimited
Lounge condition: Unlimited domestic and international lounge visits for cardholders, plus 8 complimentary international guest visits/year.

Additional Perks

20,000 reward points on first primary-card transaction (welcome offer; T&Cs apply)
International travel insurance
EazyDiner: 30% off up to Rs.1,500

Redemption & Expiry

Redemption MethodInstant digital redemption (2/5 friction)
1:1 value on Travel with Points and select Apple products; selected airline/hotel partners also convert at 1:1, while other partner ratios and catalogue values vary. No fixed cash redemption value is published.
Points ExpiryPoints never expire

Eligibility Requirements

Bank CriteriaExisting qualified HSBC Premier customer in India (for example Rs.50L quarterly TRB or Rs.3L monthly salary credit)

Exclusion Honesty: This data has been verified against official bank publications. We include exclusions and point valuation friction factors to render honest net metrics in our calculations.

Official Specification Sheet

Comprehensive rules, fees, and parameters verified directly against issuer details.

FeatureHSBC Premier Credit CardHSBC
Joining fee₹12,000
Annual fee₹20,000/yr
Fee waiverRs.20,000 renewal fee is waived while you maintain a qualified HSBC Premier relationship in India; the comparison calculator conservatively charges the full fee because it cannot verify relationship status.
Base reward3 pts / ₹100
Top reward categories3x travel, 3x utilities, 3x rent
Redemption friction
Easy
Point expiryNever expire
Lounge accessUnlimited dom · Unlimited intl⚠ Unlimited domestic and international lounge visits for cardholders, plus 8 complimentary international guest visits/year.
Forex markup0.99%
Fuel surcharge1% waiver, uncapped
Min income · salariedNot stated
Min income · self-employedNot stated
Eligibility (as stated)Existing qualified HSBC Premier customer in India (for example Rs.50L quarterly TRB or Rs.3L monthly salary credit)
Recent devaluationsNone recorded
Verified against

Detailed HSBC Premier Credit Card Credit Card Review & Spends Guide (2026)

The HSBC Premier Credit Card by HSBC is a prominent credit card in the Indian market, categorized under the super-premium tier. Offering a base rewards engine of 3 reward points per ₹100, this card targets users looking to optimize their personal finances.

When evaluating the real-world value of the HSBC Premier Credit Card, it's essential to look beyond the joining fee of ₹12000 and annual fee of ₹20000. With our real-time calculator above, you can map out your monthly category spends (online shopping, dining, travel, utilities, groceries, etc.) to see if you can trigger the spend-based annual fee waiver of N/A, which determines your true Net Annual Value (NTV). Rs.20,000 renewal fee is waived while you maintain a qualified HSBC Premier relationship in India; the comparison calculator conservatively charges the full fee because it cannot verify relationship status.

Rewards Potential & Category Multipliers

For accelerated spenders, the HSBC Premier Credit Card features key reward multipliers:

  • 3x on travel spends (uncapped).
  • 3x on utilities spends (capped at ₹3000/month).
  • 3x on rent spends (capped at ₹3000/month).
  • 3x on insurance spends (capped at ₹3000/month).
  • Exclusions: No rewards are earned on fuel categories.

Lounge Access & Extra Perks

Perks add immense value that calculations often leave out. The HSBC Premier Credit Card offers:

  • Domestic Lounges: Unlimited visits
  • International Lounges: Unlimited visits
  • Lounge Condition: Unlimited domestic and international lounge visits for cardholders, plus 8 complimentary international guest visits/year.

Points Redemption and Point Expiry

Earning points is only half the battle. Redemptions are subject to a friction index of 2/5 (representing Instant digital redemption (2/5 friction)). Note: 1:1 value on Travel with Points and select Apple products; selected airline/hotel partners also convert at 1:1, while other partner ratios and catalogue values vary. No fixed cash redemption value is published.. Points are valid for a lifetime (no expiry).

Who the HSBC Premier Credit Card benefits the most

Derived from this card's actual earn rates, caps and perks — not a generic profile.

  • People who want one flat, no-thinking rate: every eligible spend earns 3 points per ₹100 (about 3.00% in value at the best redemption), with no category tracking to do.
  • Frequent flyers: unlimited domestic lounge visits and unlimited international lounge visits a year — but read the condition below before counting on it.
  • People who spend abroad or buy in foreign currency online. At a 0.99% forex markup, a ₹2 lakh overseas trip costs about ₹2,336 in markup plus GST, versus roughly ₹8,260 on a typical 3.5% card.
  • People who never get around to redeeming. Redemption friction here is 2/5, so rewards convert with little effort instead of rotting in a points balance.
  • Daily drivers: the 1% fuel surcharge waiver is uncapped, so the surcharge is reversed on any qualifying fuel spend.

Who should avoid the HSBC Premier Credit Card

The cases where this card quietly costs more than it pays back.

  • Anyone whose spending is heavy on fuel. These categories earn absolutely nothing on this card — not a reduced rate, zero. Fuel earns no points. Utilities, tax, rent/real estate, insurance, jewellery, e-wallets, financial institutions, money transfer, bail/bond and education/government MCCs earn only on a combined first Rs.1,00,000 of spend each month. Cash advances, fees/charges and disputed transactions also earn no points.
  • Anyone who revolves a balance. Credit card interest in India typically runs 36–45% a year plus 18% GST on the interest — that erases every reward this card can pay, on any spending pattern.

Hidden charges and fine print on the HSBC Premier Credit Card

The costs that sit below the marketing page, verified against HSBC disclosures dated 2026-09.

GST sits on top of every fee you were quoted

The listed ₹12,000 joining fee and ₹20,000 annual fee exclude GST. You actually pay ₹14,160 up front and ₹23,600 at each renewal. The 18% GST is never waived, even when the bank waives the fee itself on spend — check your statement.

Forex markup of 0.99% is really 1.17%

GST at 18% applies to the markup, so 0.99% becomes about 1.17% in real terms. Also decline Dynamic Currency Conversion at foreign terminals: paying "in INR" adds another 3–5% on top of this.

The headline rate stops at a monthly cap

utility bills and recharges is capped at ₹3,000 of rewards a month (about ₹1,00,000 of spend); rent payments is capped at ₹3,000 of rewards a month (about ₹1,00,000 of spend); insurance premiums is capped at ₹3,000 of rewards a month (about ₹1,00,000 of spend). Caps are per statement month and do not carry forward — an unused cap in April is gone in May.

Spends that earn zero

fuel earn no rewards at all. Fuel earns no points. Utilities, tax, rent/real estate, insurance, jewellery, e-wallets, financial institutions, money transfer, bail/bond and education/government MCCs earn only on a combined first Rs.1,00,000 of spend each month. Cash advances, fees/charges and disputed transactions also earn no points. These excluded spends also frequently fail to count toward fee-waiver and milestone targets, so check the MITC before routing large payments here to "hit the target".

Redemption fine print

1:1 value on Travel with Points and select Apple products; selected airline/hotel partners also convert at 1:1, while other partner ratios and catalogue values vary. No fixed cash redemption value is published. Redemption fees and minimum-balance thresholds are the most commonly missed cost on Indian cards — factor them in before comparing headline earn rates.

Lounge access is conditional

Unlimited domestic and international lounge visits for cardholders, plus 8 complimentary international guest visits/year. Read that as a spending requirement, not a perk you already own — most declined lounge entries in India are unmet prior-quarter spend conditions.

Fuel surcharge waiver has a monthly ceiling

The 1% waiver is uncapped, and the surcharge is usually reversed as a credit in the next cycle rather than netted off at the pump. Transactions outside the bank's stated per-transaction band may not qualify at all.

Charges every Indian card carries

Cash withdrawal fees (typically 2.5% of the amount, minimum ₹500) with interest from day one and no interest-free period, late payment fees graded by outstanding balance, over-limit charges, EMI conversion processing fees and interest, rent-payment and wallet-load fees, and payment-return charges. These are listed in the bank's MITC document, not in the marketing page — read it once before you apply.

Tax implications of the HSBC Premier Credit Card

Indian tax treatment of the fees, rewards and foreign spends on this specific card.

GST on fees and charges. Every fee quoted on this page excludes GST. The ₹12,000 joining fee bills as ₹14,160 and the ₹20,000 renewal as ₹23,600. GST also applies to interest, late payment fees, cash advance fees and the forex markup — it is not a one-off on the fee alone.

Are the reward points taxable? Points or cashback earned in proportion to your own spending are treated as a post-purchase discount rather than income, so a salaried individual does not pay tax on them. The same applies to the points here, valued at ₹1 per point on redemption. Two exceptions matter: benefits received from a business relationship (not from your own spending) can attract TDS at 10% under section 194R where the value exceeds ₹20,000 in a year, and a gift or voucher received from the bank with no link to your spending can be taxable under section 56(2)(x) if total gifts from non-relatives cross ₹50,000 in a year.

Is the annual fee deductible? Not for a salaried cardholder — it is a personal expense. If the card is genuinely used for business or professional spends, the ₹23,600 renewal is an allowable business expense under section 37(1), and a GST-registered business billed in its own name can claim the ₹3,600 GST as input tax credit.

Foreign spends, TCS and the LRS. The 0.99% markup attracts 18% GST, making it about 1.17% effectively. TCS under the Liberalised Remittance Scheme runs at 20% above ₹10 lakh of remittances in a financial year; international credit card spends have so far been kept outside the LRS pending notification, so no TCS is deducted at the till today. Where TCS is collected on any remittance, it is not a sunk cost — it is creditable against your tax liability and refundable through your ITR.

Spends the tax department can see. Aggregate credit card payments of ₹10 lakh or more in a financial year (₹1 lakh or more if paid in cash) are reported by HSBC in the Statement of Financial Transactions and show up in your AIS. That is not a tax by itself, but the spending should be consistent with the income you declare.

Eligibility and documents for the HSBC Premier Credit Card

HSBC's stated criteria, verified 2026-09.

Eligibility

  • Income: Existing qualified HSBC Premier customer in India (for example Rs.50L quarterly TRB or Rs.3L monthly salary credit) (as stated by HSBC).
  • Age: typically 21 to 60 for salaried applicants and up to 65 for self-employed; add-on cards from 18.
  • Credit score: a CIBIL score of 750+ materially improves approval odds on a card at this tier, where issuers are selective.
  • Residency: resident Indian with a verifiable address in a city HSBC services.
  • Relationship route: premium cards are frequently issued against an existing salary account, wealth relationship or pre-approved offer rather than a cold application.

Documents required

  • Identity: PAN card (mandatory) plus Aadhaar, passport, voter ID or driving licence.
  • Address: Aadhaar, passport, utility bill or registered rent agreement.
  • Income (salaried): last 3 months' salary slips and 3–6 months' bank statements showing salary credit; Form 16 for the latest year.
  • Income (self-employed): latest 1–2 years' ITR with computation, audited financials where applicable, and 6 months' current account statements.
  • Photograph: one recent passport-size photo (often skipped in a full digital journey).
  • Existing HSBC customers with a salary or pre-approved relationship usually skip the income documents entirely.

Nomination note: a credit card has no nominee — nomination applies to deposits and investments. What matters here is that your family knows the card exists and knows the outstanding, so it can be settled from the estate promptly instead of accruing interest and late fees after the fact.

How to apply for the HSBC Premier Credit Card

  1. Check for a pre-approved offer first. Log in to HSBC net banking or the mobile app. A pre-approved journey skips income documents and, more importantly, avoids a hard enquiry on your credit report if you are declined.
  2. Confirm the current fee and rates on the official page before applying — banks revise these without much notice.
  3. Apply online with PAN, Aadhaar and employment details, or walk into a HSBC branch if your income profile needs manual assessment.
  4. Complete KYC. Most issuers now offer video KYC that finishes in minutes; physical verification adds a few days.
  5. Confirm the credit limit before activating. The limit determines how much of your spending you can actually route here, which is what the reward maths above assumes.
  6. Set a full-payment auto-debit on the due date the day the card arrives. Interest of 36–45% a year plus GST is the single fastest way to turn this card into a loss.
Official HSBC page for this card

HSBC Premier Credit Card — frequently asked questions

Answers use this card's own numbers, verified 2026-09.

What is the annual fee for the HSBC Premier Credit Card, and can it be waived?

The annual fee is ₹20,000 plus 18% GST, so ₹23,600 actually leaves your account. Rs.20,000 renewal fee is waived while you maintain a qualified HSBC Premier relationship in India; the comparison calculator conservatively charges the full fee because it cannot verify relationship status.

How much do you actually earn on the HSBC Premier Credit Card?

The base rate is 3 points per ₹100, and each point is worth ₹1 at the best redemption — roughly 3.00% in value. There are no accelerated categories — the rate is flat across eligible spends.

Which spends earn no rewards on the HSBC Premier Credit Card?

fuel earn zero. Fuel earns no points. Utilities, tax, rent/real estate, insurance, jewellery, e-wallets, financial institutions, money transfer, bail/bond and education/government MCCs earn only on a combined first Rs.1,00,000 of spend each month. Cash advances, fees/charges and disputed transactions also earn no points. If those categories are a big share of your monthly outgo, your effective return will be well below the advertised rate.

Does the HSBC Premier Credit Card offer airport lounge access?

Yes — unlimited domestic and unlimited international complimentary visits a year. Condition: Unlimited domestic and international lounge visits for cardholders, plus 8 complimentary international guest visits/year.

What does the HSBC Premier Credit Card charge on foreign currency spends?

A 0.99% markup, plus 18% GST on that markup, so about 1.17% effectively. On a ₹1 lakh foreign spend that is roughly ₹1,168.

Do reward points on the HSBC Premier Credit Card expire?

No — points on this card do not carry a stated expiry. That does not protect you from devaluation, only from lapse.

Is there a cap on rewards from the HSBC Premier Credit Card?

Yes. The tightest is utility bills and recharges at ₹3,000 of rewards a month, which you hit at about ₹1,00,000 of monthly spend in that category. Caps reset each statement month and unused headroom does not carry forward.

What income do you need for the HSBC Premier Credit Card?

HSBC states: Existing qualified HSBC Premier customer in India (for example Rs.50L quarterly TRB or Rs.3L monthly salary credit). Banks treat this as a floor, not a guarantee — your credit score, existing card limits and internal risk scoring decide the outcome.

Is the HSBC Premier Credit Card annual fee tax-deductible, and are reward points taxable?

For a salaried cardholder the fee is a personal expense and is not deductible. If the card is used genuinely for business or professional spends, the fee and GST can be claimed as a business expense (and the GST as input credit where the card is billed to a GST-registered entity). Reward points earned in proportion to your own spending are generally treated as a post-purchase discount, not income, so they are not taxed in your hands.

Is TCS applicable on HSBC Premier Credit Card spends abroad?

Tax Collected at Source under the Liberalised Remittance Scheme applies at 20% above the ₹10 lakh annual threshold for remittances and forex card loads. International spends on Indian credit cards have so far been kept outside the LRS pending notification, so no TCS is deducted at the point of sale today. This has been changed and deferred more than once — confirm the current position with HSBC before a large overseas spend. Any TCS actually collected is not a cost: it is creditable against your income tax liability and refundable when you file your ITR.

What happens to the HSBC Premier Credit Card account after the cardholder's death?

A credit card is an unsecured personal liability and cannot be inherited or transferred — the card must be surrendered and closed. Inform HSBC in writing with the death certificate; the outstanding balance becomes payable from the deceased's estate, and the legal heirs are liable only to the extent of the assets they inherit, not personally. Any add-on cards stop working immediately. Unredeemed reward points are normally forfeited on closure, so a family member holding a large balance should redeem while the account is active. Nomination applies to deposits and investments, not to credit cards — but if there is a fixed deposit backing a secured card, the nomination on that FD governs its release.

Disclaimer: Results are estimates for financial planning purposes only and do not constitute financial, tax, investment, or legal advice. Actual values may vary based on your lender, market conditions, and individual circumstances. Consult a qualified CA, CFP, or financial advisor before making any financial decisions.