SBI CardIndiGo SBI Card ELITE
Verified Official Data • Last updated 2026-09
Net Value Calculator
Drag sliders to estimate this card's annual value based on your actual spending habits.
Your Monthly Spend
₹50,000/moE-Commerce & Online
Daily Essentials
Most cards earn ₹0 rewards on fuel (surcharge waiver only).
Frequently excluded from rewards in India.
Lifestyle, Bills & Other
Almost always earns ₹0 and may carry a fee.
Often excluded or capped.
Savings & Milestones Tracker
3.30%
Value Yield (Net / Spent)
₹19,801
Annual Net Value
Milestone Benefits
Spend ₹3,00,000 more to unlock.
Spend ₹6,00,000 more to unlock.
How Your Spends Convert to Rewards
Live calculation breakdown for IndiGo SBI Card ELITE
| Spend Category | Monthly Spend | Reward Rate | Points Earned | Monthly Value | Annual Value | Status / Caps |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Fuel | ₹4,000/mo | 0 Pts / ₹100 | 0 pts0 pts/yr | ₹0 | ₹0/yr | Excluded |
Utilities & Bills | ₹4,000/mo | 0 Pts / ₹100 | 0 pts0 pts/yr | ₹0 | ₹0/yr | Excluded |
Rent | ₹10,000/mo | 0 Pts / ₹100 | 0 pts0 pts/yr | ₹0 | ₹0/yr | Excluded |
Insurance | ₹1,500/mo | 0 Pts / ₹100 | 0 pts0 pts/yr | ₹0 | ₹0/yr | Excluded |
Other Online Shopping | ₹6,000/mo | 2 Pts / ₹100 | 120 pts1,440 pts/yr | ₹120 | ₹1,440/yr | Active Earn |
Amazon Spends | ₹3,500/mo | 2 Pts / ₹100 | 70 pts840 pts/yr | ₹70 | ₹840/yr | Active Earn |
Flipkart Spends | ₹2,000/mo | 2 Pts / ₹100 | 40 pts480 pts/yr | ₹40 | ₹480/yr | Active Earn |
Dining & Food Delivery | ₹5,000/mo | 2 Pts / ₹100 | 100 pts1,200 pts/yr | ₹100 | ₹1,200/yr | Active Earn |
Groceries | ₹7,000/mo | 2 Pts / ₹100 | 140 pts1,680 pts/yr | ₹140 | ₹1,680/yr | Active Earn |
Travel (Flights/Hotels) | ₹4,000/mo | 3 Pts / ₹100 | 120 pts1,440 pts/yr | ₹120 | ₹1,440/yr | Active Earn |
Other / Offline | ₹3,000/mo | 2 Pts / ₹100 | 60 pts720 pts/yr | ₹60 | ₹720/yr | Active Earn |
All ₹ values exclude GST. Perks like lounge access are shown separately and not added into net value. Rewards use your selected redemption mode (travel / airmiles).
Is IndiGo SBI Card ELITE actually your best option?
Run the same spend against all 496 cards and see where this one ranks.
Key Specifications
₹4999
₹4999
None
1.99%
Rewards Structure
Earn rates and reward configurations verified for 2026.
Applies to all non-excluded offline/misc categories
Category Earn Rates
Ordinary hotel/lodging/travel MCC spend earns 3 BluChips/Rs.100. IndiGo App/Web earns 7 BluChips/Rs.100 via an MID-restricted accelerator; that partner-only rate is not applied to generic travel spend.
Also excludes government transactions, gaming and cross-sell MCCs per the official IndiGo ELITE T&C.
Milestone Benefits
6,000 IndiGo BluChips Voucher
6,000 IndiGo BluChips Voucher
6,000 IndiGo BluChips Voucher
6,000 IndiGo BluChips Voucher
Lounge Access
Additional Perks
Redemption & Expiry
Exclusion Honesty: This data has been verified against official bank publications. We include exclusions and point valuation friction factors to render honest net metrics in our calculations.
Official Specification Sheet
Comprehensive rules, fees, and parameters verified directly against issuer details.
| Feature | IndiGo SBI Card ELITESBI Card |
|---|---|
| Joining fee | ₹4,999 |
| Annual fee | ₹4,999/yr |
| Fee waiver | No waiver |
| Base reward | 2 pts / ₹100 |
| Top reward categories | 3x travel |
| Redemption friction | Easy |
| Point expiry | BluChips remain valid while you earn or redeem at least once in each continuous 24-month period (IndiGo loyalty FAQ). |
| Lounge access | 8 dom · 6 intl⚠ Domestic access requires Rs.1 lakh eligible spend in the previous calendar quarter; max 2 domestic and 2 international visits per quarter. International access is via Priority Pass outside India. |
| Forex markup | 1.99% |
| Fuel surcharge | 1% waiver, up to ₹400/mo |
| Min income · salaried | Not stated |
| Min income · self-employed | Not stated |
| Eligibility (as stated) | Not stated |
| Recent devaluations | None recorded |
| Verified against |
Detailed IndiGo SBI Card ELITE Credit Card Review & Spends Guide (2026)
The IndiGo SBI Card ELITE by SBI Card is a prominent credit card in the Indian market, categorized under the premium tier. Offering a base rewards engine of 2 reward points per ₹100, this card targets users looking to optimize their personal finances.
When evaluating the real-world value of the IndiGo SBI Card ELITE, it's essential to look beyond the joining fee of ₹4999 and annual fee of ₹4999. With our real-time calculator above, you can map out your monthly category spends (online shopping, dining, travel, utilities, groceries, etc.) to see if you can trigger the spend-based annual fee waiver of N/A, which determines your true Net Annual Value (NTV).
Rewards Potential & Category Multipliers
For accelerated spenders, the IndiGo SBI Card ELITE features key reward multipliers:
- 3x on travel spends (uncapped).
- Exclusions: No rewards are earned on utilities, fuel, insurance, rent categories.
Lounge Access & Extra Perks
Perks add immense value that calculations often leave out. The IndiGo SBI Card ELITE offers:
- Domestic Lounges: 8 visits/year
- International Lounges: 6 visits/year
- Lounge Condition: Domestic access requires Rs.1 lakh eligible spend in the previous calendar quarter; max 2 domestic and 2 international visits per quarter. International access is via Priority Pass outside India.
Points Redemption and Point Expiry
Earning points is only half the battle. Redemptions are subject to a friction index of 2/5 (representing Instant digital redemption (2/5 friction)). Note: BluChips transfer to the linked IndiGo BluChip account and are redeemable on IndiGo App/Web; no cash conversion.. Points are valid for BluChips remain valid while you earn or redeem at least once in each continuous 24-month period (IndiGo loyalty FAQ)..
Who the IndiGo SBI Card ELITE benefits the most
Derived from this card's actual earn rates, caps and perks — not a generic profile.
- People whose spending is concentrated in flights and hotels — the card's strongest rate at 3 points per ₹100, with no monthly cap stated. Ordinary hotel/lodging/travel MCC spend earns 3 BluChips/Rs.100. IndiGo App/Web earns 7 BluChips/Rs.100 via an MID-restricted accelerator; that partner-only rate is not applied to generic travel spend.
- Frequent flyers: 8 domestic lounge visits and 6 international lounge visits a year, worth roughly ₹23,000 at typical Indian pay-per-use lounge rates — but read the condition below before counting on it.
- People who spend abroad or buy in foreign currency online. At a 1.99% forex markup, a ₹2 lakh overseas trip costs about ₹4,696 in markup plus GST, versus roughly ₹8,260 on a typical 3.5% card.
- Planners who can steer spends to a target: the biggest milestone here is "6,000 IndiGo BluChips Voucher" — ₹3 lakh of annual spend for ₹6,000 of value.
- People who never get around to redeeming. Redemption friction here is 2/5, so rewards convert with little effort instead of rotting in a points balance.
- Daily drivers: the 1% fuel surcharge waiver is capped at ₹400/month, which covers roughly ₹40,000 of monthly fuel spend.
Who should avoid the IndiGo SBI Card ELITE
The cases where this card quietly costs more than it pays back.
- Anyone whose spending is heavy on utility bills and recharges, fuel, insurance premiums, rent payments. These categories earn absolutely nothing on this card — not a reduced rate, zero. Also excludes government transactions, gaming and cross-sell MCCs per the official IndiGo ELITE T&C.
- Light spenders. The ₹4,999 annual fee (₹5,899 after GST) has no spend-based waiver, so you pay it every year regardless. At the base rate of 2 points per ₹100 you need roughly ₹2.95 lakh of annual spend just to break even.
- Occasional users. BluChips remain valid while you earn or redeem at least once in each continuous 24-month period (IndiGo loyalty FAQ).
- Anyone who revolves a balance. Credit card interest in India typically runs 36–45% a year plus 18% GST on the interest — that erases every reward this card can pay, on any spending pattern.
Hidden charges and fine print on the IndiGo SBI Card ELITE
The costs that sit below the marketing page, verified against SBI Card disclosures dated 2026-09.
GST sits on top of every fee you were quoted
The listed ₹4,999 joining fee and ₹4,999 annual fee exclude GST. You actually pay ₹5,899 up front and ₹5,899 at each renewal. The 18% GST is never waived, even when the bank waives the fee itself on spend — check your statement.
Forex markup of 1.99% is really 2.35%
GST at 18% applies to the markup, so 1.99% becomes about 2.35% in real terms. Also decline Dynamic Currency Conversion at foreign terminals: paying "in INR" adds another 3–5% on top of this.
Spends that earn zero
utility bills and recharges, fuel, insurance premiums, rent payments earn no rewards at all. Also excludes government transactions, gaming and cross-sell MCCs per the official IndiGo ELITE T&C. These excluded spends also frequently fail to count toward fee-waiver and milestone targets, so check the MITC before routing large payments here to "hit the target".
Conditional reward expiry
BluChips remain valid while you earn or redeem at least once in each continuous 24-month period (IndiGo loyalty FAQ).
Redemption fine print
BluChips transfer to the linked IndiGo BluChip account and are redeemable on IndiGo App/Web; no cash conversion. Redemption fees and minimum-balance thresholds are the most commonly missed cost on Indian cards — factor them in before comparing headline earn rates.
Lounge access is conditional
Domestic access requires Rs.1 lakh eligible spend in the previous calendar quarter; max 2 domestic and 2 international visits per quarter. International access is via Priority Pass outside India. Read that as a spending requirement, not a perk you already own — most declined lounge entries in India are unmet prior-quarter spend conditions.
Fuel surcharge waiver has a monthly ceiling
The 1% waiver is capped at ₹400 per statement month, and the surcharge is usually reversed as a credit in the next cycle rather than netted off at the pump. Transactions outside the bank's stated per-transaction band may not qualify at all.
Charges every Indian card carries
Cash withdrawal fees (typically 2.5% of the amount, minimum ₹500) with interest from day one and no interest-free period, late payment fees graded by outstanding balance, over-limit charges, EMI conversion processing fees and interest, rent-payment and wallet-load fees, and payment-return charges. These are listed in the bank's MITC document, not in the marketing page — read it once before you apply.
Tax implications of the IndiGo SBI Card ELITE
Indian tax treatment of the fees, rewards and foreign spends on this specific card.
GST on fees and charges. Every fee quoted on this page excludes GST. The ₹4,999 joining fee bills as ₹5,899 and the ₹4,999 renewal as ₹5,899. GST also applies to interest, late payment fees, cash advance fees and the forex markup — it is not a one-off on the fee alone.
Are the reward points taxable? Points or cashback earned in proportion to your own spending are treated as a post-purchase discount rather than income, so a salaried individual does not pay tax on them. The same applies to the points here, valued at ₹1 per point on redemption. Two exceptions matter: benefits received from a business relationship (not from your own spending) can attract TDS at 10% under section 194R where the value exceeds ₹20,000 in a year, and a gift or voucher received from the bank with no link to your spending can be taxable under section 56(2)(x) if total gifts from non-relatives cross ₹50,000 in a year.
Milestone vouchers on this card. The "6,000 IndiGo BluChips Voucher" and "6,000 IndiGo BluChips Voucher" and "6,000 IndiGo BluChips Voucher" and "6,000 IndiGo BluChips Voucher" benefits are earned against spending, so they are treated the same way as reward points — a discount, not taxable income. If those spends were claimed as business expenses, reduce the expense claim by the benefit value instead of showing it as income.
Is the annual fee deductible? Not for a salaried cardholder — it is a personal expense. If the card is genuinely used for business or professional spends, the ₹5,899 renewal is an allowable business expense under section 37(1), and a GST-registered business billed in its own name can claim the ₹900 GST as input tax credit.
Foreign spends, TCS and the LRS. The 1.99% markup attracts 18% GST, making it about 2.35% effectively. TCS under the Liberalised Remittance Scheme runs at 20% above ₹10 lakh of remittances in a financial year; international credit card spends have so far been kept outside the LRS pending notification, so no TCS is deducted at the till today. Where TCS is collected on any remittance, it is not a sunk cost — it is creditable against your tax liability and refundable through your ITR.
Spends the tax department can see. Aggregate credit card payments of ₹10 lakh or more in a financial year (₹1 lakh or more if paid in cash) are reported by SBI Card in the Statement of Financial Transactions and show up in your AIS. That is not a tax by itself, but the spending should be consistent with the income you declare.
Eligibility and documents for the IndiGo SBI Card ELITE
SBI Card does not publish a numeric income requirement for this premium-tier card.
Eligibility
- Income: SBI Card does not publish a figure for this card. Expect the usual premium threshold — often an income of ₹20 lakh a year or above, or an invitation-only route, confirmed at application.
- Age: typically 21 to 60 for salaried applicants and up to 65 for self-employed; add-on cards from 18.
- Credit score: a CIBIL score of 750+ materially improves approval odds on a card at this tier, where issuers are selective.
- Residency: resident Indian with a verifiable address in a city SBI Card services.
- Relationship route: premium cards are frequently issued against an existing salary account, wealth relationship or pre-approved offer rather than a cold application.
Documents required
- Identity: PAN card (mandatory) plus Aadhaar, passport, voter ID or driving licence.
- Address: Aadhaar, passport, utility bill or registered rent agreement.
- Income (salaried): last 3 months' salary slips and 3–6 months' bank statements showing salary credit; Form 16 for the latest year.
- Income (self-employed): latest 1–2 years' ITR with computation, audited financials where applicable, and 6 months' current account statements.
- Photograph: one recent passport-size photo (often skipped in a full digital journey).
- Existing SBI Card customers with a salary or pre-approved relationship usually skip the income documents entirely.
Nomination note: a credit card has no nominee — nomination applies to deposits and investments. What matters here is that your family knows the card exists and knows the outstanding, so it can be settled from the estate promptly instead of accruing interest and late fees after the fact.
How to apply for the IndiGo SBI Card ELITE
- Check for a pre-approved offer first. Log in to SBI Card net banking or the mobile app. A pre-approved journey skips income documents and, more importantly, avoids a hard enquiry on your credit report if you are declined.
- Confirm the current fee and rates on the official page before applying — banks revise these without much notice.
- Apply online with PAN, Aadhaar and employment details, or walk into a SBI Card branch if your income profile needs manual assessment.
- Complete KYC. Most issuers now offer video KYC that finishes in minutes; physical verification adds a few days.
- Confirm the credit limit before activating. The limit determines how much of your spending you can actually route here, which is what the reward maths above assumes.
- Set a full-payment auto-debit on the due date the day the card arrives. Interest of 36–45% a year plus GST is the single fastest way to turn this card into a loss.
IndiGo SBI Card ELITE — frequently asked questions
Answers use this card's own numbers, verified 2026-09.
What is the annual fee for the IndiGo SBI Card ELITE, and can it be waived?
The annual fee is ₹4,999 plus 18% GST, so ₹5,899 actually leaves your account. SBI Card does not publish a spend-based waiver for this card, so the fee recurs every year.
How much do you actually earn on the IndiGo SBI Card ELITE?
The base rate is 2 points per ₹100, and each point is worth ₹1 at the best redemption — roughly 2.00% in value. The accelerated categories are flights and hotels at 3 points per ₹100.
Which spends earn no rewards on the IndiGo SBI Card ELITE?
utility bills and recharges, fuel, insurance premiums, rent payments earn zero. Also excludes government transactions, gaming and cross-sell MCCs per the official IndiGo ELITE T&C. If those categories are a big share of your monthly outgo, your effective return will be well below the advertised rate.
Does the IndiGo SBI Card ELITE offer airport lounge access?
Yes — 8 domestic and 6 international complimentary visits a year. Condition: Domestic access requires Rs.1 lakh eligible spend in the previous calendar quarter; max 2 domestic and 2 international visits per quarter. International access is via Priority Pass outside India.
What does the IndiGo SBI Card ELITE charge on foreign currency spends?
A 1.99% markup, plus 18% GST on that markup, so about 2.35% effectively. On a ₹1 lakh foreign spend that is roughly ₹2,348.
Do reward points on the IndiGo SBI Card ELITE expire?
BluChips remain valid while you earn or redeem at least once in each continuous 24-month period (IndiGo loyalty FAQ).
What milestone benefits does the IndiGo SBI Card ELITE offer?
6,000 IndiGo BluChips Voucher at ₹3 lakh of annual spend (worth about ₹6,000); 6,000 IndiGo BluChips Voucher at ₹6 lakh of annual spend (worth about ₹6,000); 6,000 IndiGo BluChips Voucher at ₹9 lakh of annual spend (worth about ₹6,000); 6,000 IndiGo BluChips Voucher at ₹12 lakh of annual spend (worth about ₹6,000). Excluded categories usually do not count toward these targets — verify in the card's MITC.
Is the IndiGo SBI Card ELITE annual fee tax-deductible, and are reward points taxable?
For a salaried cardholder the fee is a personal expense and is not deductible. If the card is used genuinely for business or professional spends, the fee and GST can be claimed as a business expense (and the GST as input credit where the card is billed to a GST-registered entity). Reward points earned in proportion to your own spending are generally treated as a post-purchase discount, not income, so they are not taxed in your hands.
Is TCS applicable on IndiGo SBI Card ELITE spends abroad?
Tax Collected at Source under the Liberalised Remittance Scheme applies at 20% above the ₹10 lakh annual threshold for remittances and forex card loads. International spends on Indian credit cards have so far been kept outside the LRS pending notification, so no TCS is deducted at the point of sale today. This has been changed and deferred more than once — confirm the current position with SBI Card before a large overseas spend. Any TCS actually collected is not a cost: it is creditable against your income tax liability and refundable when you file your ITR.
What happens to the IndiGo SBI Card ELITE account after the cardholder's death?
A credit card is an unsecured personal liability and cannot be inherited or transferred — the card must be surrendered and closed. Inform SBI Card in writing with the death certificate; the outstanding balance becomes payable from the deceased's estate, and the legal heirs are liable only to the extent of the assets they inherit, not personally. Any add-on cards stop working immediately. Unredeemed reward points are normally forfeited on closure, so a family member holding a large balance should redeem while the account is active. Nomination applies to deposits and investments, not to credit cards — but if there is a fixed deposit backing a secured card, the nomination on that FD governs its release.
Similar & Alternative Cards
Explore other top-rated Premium credit cards in India

SBI Card ELITE

SBI Card Miles Elite

Air India SBI Signature Card

AU Traverse Credit Card

IndiGo IDFC FIRST Dual Credit Card

HSBC TravelOne Credit Card
Related Guides & Tools
Ranked card lists IndiGo SBI Card ELITE appears in, plus calculators for card debt decisions