Punjab & Sind Bank
PSB Simply SAVE SBI Card
Verified Official Data • 2026-07
₹499
₹499
₹1,00,000
3.5%
Annual renewal fee is completely waived at your spend tier!
Most cards earn ₹0 rewards on fuel (surcharge waiver only).
Frequently excluded from rewards in India.
Spends-to-Rewards Breakdown
Live conversion of your active monthly spends
Yield & Milestone Tracker
0.57%
Is PSB Simply SAVE SBI Card really your best option?
Run your spend profile against all 541 cards in India and see where this one ranks.
Key Specifications
₹499
₹499
₹1,00,000
3.5%
Rewards Structure (2026)
Official earn rates, accelerated multipliers and category caps
All non-excluded general spends
Movies & Departmental Stores (10 pts/Rs.150)
Lounge & Travel Perks
None
None
Redemption & Expiry
Redeem Reward Points against card outstanding via SBI Card portal
Exclusion Honesty: This data has been verified against official Punjab & Sind Bank publications. Exclusions and point friction factors are encoded in full to ensure truthful net calculations.
Official Specification Sheet
Verified parameters formatted for mobile reading without horizontal scrolling
PSB Simply SAVE SBI Card Review & Guide (2026)
The PSB Simply SAVE SBI Card by Punjab & Sind Bank operates on a base reward rate of 0.67 reward points per ₹100 in the entry tier.
Evaluating this card requires looking past the ₹499 joining fee and ₹499 annual fee to assess your real Net Annual Value (NTV). With the live calculator above, verify if your spend meets fee waivers or accelerates rewards in top merchant categories.
Who Benefits Most
- People whose spending is concentrated in dining, groceries, other/offline spends — the card's strongest rate at 6.67 points per ₹100, though the ₹5,000/month reward cap is exhausted at roughly ₹2,99,850 of such spend a month.
- Households spending about ₹8,333 a month on cards to clear the ₹1 lakh waiver.
Who Should Avoid
- Anyone whose spending is heavy on fuel, rent payments. These earn zero rewards.
- Frequent overseas shoppers: 3.5% forex markup + 18% GST on markup (~4.13%) eats into rewards.
- Anyone revolving balances: credit card interest in India runs 36–45% + 18% GST, erasing all rewards.
Hidden Charges & Fine Print
GST sits on top of quoted fees
Listed fees exclude GST. You pay ₹589 joining and ₹589 annually. 18% GST is never waived.
Forex markup is effectively 4.13%
18% GST applies to the 3.5% markup. Always decline Dynamic Currency Conversion (billing in INR) abroad.
Category caps do not carry forward
dining is capped at ₹5,000/mo; groceries is capped at ₹5,000/mo; other/offline spends is capped at ₹5,000/mo. Unused caps lapse monthly.
Standard MITC fees
Cash withdrawal fee (2.5% min ₹500), over-limit charges, late payment charges, rent/wallet fee.
Tax Implications
GST on Fees: All quoted fees exclude 18% GST. The ₹499 joining fee bills as ₹589 and renewal as ₹589.
Reward Points Taxability: Points earned from personal spending are considered discounts and are not taxed. Business rewards may attract TDS under Section 194R if gifts exceed ₹20,000/year.
LRS & TCS: International spends on Indian cards are currently exempted from 20% LRS TCS pending central notification.
Eligibility & Documentation
- Age 21–60 (salaried) or up to 65 (self-employed).
- CIBIL score 750+ recommended.
- Income: As assessed by bank.
- PAN card + Aadhaar/Passport.
- Last 3 months salary slips / Form 16 / ITR.
How to Apply
- Check for pre-approved offers in net banking to skip documentation.
- Confirm latest fees and exclusions on the official page.
- Apply online with PAN and Aadhaar for video KYC.
- Set full auto-debit on the due date immediately upon receipt.
PSB Simply SAVE SBI Card — FAQs
Verified official answers • Updated 2026-07
The fee is ₹499 + 18% GST (₹589 total). Waived on spending ₹1 lakh annually (~₹8,333/mo).
Similar Cards to Consider
Alternative cards in the entry tier and Punjab & Sind Bank portfolio
Related Calculators & Guides
Punjab & Sind BankPSB Simply SAVE SBI Card
Verified Official Data • Last updated 2026-07

Net Value Calculator
Drag sliders to estimate this card's annual value based on your actual spending habits.
Is PSB Simply SAVE SBI Card actually your best option?
Run the same spend against all 541 cards and see where this one ranks.
Key Specifications & Core Privileges
Issuance fees, spend waiver thresholds, forex markup, and complimentary airport lounge access.
₹499
+ GST₹499
Per year + GST₹1,00,000
Annual spend goal3.5%
Cross-currency markupNone
No domestic accessNone
No international accessRewards Structure & Redemption
Verified earn rates, accelerated multipliers, point conversion valuation, and redemption policies for 2026.
Applies to all non-excluded offline, general retail, and miscellaneous spends.
Instant digital redemption (2/5 friction)
Points never expire
Accelerated Category Multipliers (3)
Movies & Departmental Stores (10 pts/Rs.150)
Privileges, Milestones & Card Perks
Welcome bonuses, annual renewal rewards, milestone spend targets, and exclusive lifestyle memberships.
Complimentary Lifestyle & Travel Privileges (2)
2,000 Bonus RP on first Rs.2,000+ within 60 days
Rs.100 cashback on first ATM withdrawal within 30 days
Eligibility, Governance & Data Verification
Applicant eligibility criteria, devaluation tracking history, and verified source citations.
Standard bank credit criteria applies
visa
This card's data has been audited directly against official Punjab & Sind Bank Key Fact Statements (KFS) and published schedule of charges. Point valuations include real redemption friction factors to compute true net financial value.
Official Specification Sheet
Comprehensive rules, fees, and parameters verified directly against issuer details.
| Feature | PSB Simply SAVE SBI CardPunjab & Sind Bank |
|---|---|
| Joining fee | ₹499 |
| Annual fee | ₹499/yr |
| Fee waiver | Spend ₹1,00,000/yr |
| Base reward | 0.67 pts / ₹100 |
| Top reward categories | 6.67x dining, 6.67x groceries, 6.67x other |
| Redemption friction | Easy |
| Point expiry | Never expire |
| Lounge access | None |
| Forex markup | 3.5% |
| Fuel surcharge | 1% waiver, up to ₹100/mo |
| Min income · salaried | Not stated |
| Min income · self-employed | Not stated |
| Eligibility (as stated) | Not stated |
| Recent devaluations | None recorded |
| Verified against |
Detailed PSB Simply SAVE SBI Card Credit Card Review & Spends Guide (2026)
The PSB Simply SAVE SBI Card by Punjab & Sind Bank is a prominent credit card in the Indian market, categorized under the entry tier. Offering a base rewards engine of 0.67 reward points per ₹100, this card targets users looking to optimize their personal finances.
When evaluating the real-world value of the PSB Simply SAVE SBI Card, it's essential to look beyond the joining fee of ₹499 and annual fee of ₹499. With our real-time calculator above, you can map out your monthly category spends (online shopping, dining, travel, utilities, groceries, etc.) to see if you can trigger the spend-based annual fee waiver of ₹100000, which determines your true Net Annual Value (NTV).
Rewards Potential & Category Multipliers
For accelerated spenders, the PSB Simply SAVE SBI Card features key reward multipliers:
- 6.67x on dining spends (capped at ₹5000/month).
- 6.67x on groceries spends (capped at ₹5000/month).
- 6.67x on other spends (capped at ₹5000/month).
- Exclusions: No rewards are earned on fuel, rent categories.
Lounge Access & Extra Perks
Perks add immense value that calculations often leave out. The PSB Simply SAVE SBI Card offers:
- Domestic Lounges: No domestic lounge visits available.
- International Lounges: No international lounge visits available.
Points Redemption and Point Expiry
Earning points is only half the battle. Redemptions are subject to a friction index of 2/5 (representing Instant digital redemption (2/5 friction)). Note: Redeem Reward Points against card outstanding via SBI Card portal. Points are valid for a lifetime (no expiry).
Who the PSB Simply SAVE SBI Card benefits the most
Derived from this card's actual earn rates, caps and perks — not a generic profile.
- People whose spending is concentrated in dining, groceries, other/offline spends — the card's strongest rate at 6.67 points per ₹100, though the ₹5,000/month reward cap is exhausted at roughly ₹2,99,850 of such spend a month, after which the boost stops.
- Households already spending about ₹8,333 a month on cards. That clears the ₹1 lakh annual-spend waiver and makes the ₹499 annual fee (₹589 with 18% GST) disappear.
- People who never get around to redeeming. Redemption friction here is 2/5, so rewards convert with little effort instead of rotting in a points balance.
- Daily drivers: the 1% fuel surcharge waiver is capped at ₹100/month, which covers roughly ₹10,000 of monthly fuel spend.
Who should avoid the PSB Simply SAVE SBI Card
The cases where this card quietly costs more than it pays back.
- Anyone whose spending is heavy on fuel, rent payments. These categories earn absolutely nothing on this card — not a reduced rate, zero.
- Travellers and overseas online shoppers. The 3.5% forex markup plus 18% GST on that markup works out to about 4.13% on every foreign-currency transaction — usually more than the rewards you earn on it.
- Frequent flyers looking for airport comfort. This card carries no complimentary lounge access.
- Anyone reading the headline points rate literally. Each point is worth only ₹0.25, so "0.67 points per ₹100" is really about 0.17% back in value.
- Anyone who revolves a balance. Credit card interest in India typically runs 36–45% a year plus 18% GST on the interest — that erases every reward this card can pay, on any spending pattern.
Hidden charges and fine print on the PSB Simply SAVE SBI Card
The costs that sit below the marketing page, verified against Punjab & Sind Bank disclosures dated 2026-07.
GST sits on top of every fee you were quoted
The listed ₹499 joining fee and ₹499 annual fee exclude GST. You actually pay ₹589 up front and ₹589 at each renewal. The 18% GST is never waived, even when the bank waives the fee itself on spend — check your statement.
Forex markup of 3.5% is really 4.13%
GST at 18% applies to the markup, so 3.5% becomes about 4.13% in real terms. Also decline Dynamic Currency Conversion at foreign terminals: paying "in INR" adds another 3–5% on top of this.
The headline rate stops at a monthly cap
dining is capped at ₹5,000 of rewards a month (about ₹2,99,850 of spend); groceries is capped at ₹5,000 of rewards a month (about ₹2,99,850 of spend); other/offline spends is capped at ₹5,000 of rewards a month (about ₹2,99,850 of spend). Caps are per statement month and do not carry forward — an unused cap in April is gone in May.
Spends that earn zero
fuel, rent payments earn no rewards at all. These excluded spends also frequently fail to count toward fee-waiver and milestone targets, so check the MITC before routing large payments here to "hit the target".
Redemption fine print
Redeem Reward Points against card outstanding via SBI Card portal Redemption fees and minimum-balance thresholds are the most commonly missed cost on Indian cards — factor them in before comparing headline earn rates.
Fuel surcharge waiver has a monthly ceiling
The 1% waiver is capped at ₹100 per statement month, and the surcharge is usually reversed as a credit in the next cycle rather than netted off at the pump. Transactions outside the bank's stated per-transaction band may not qualify at all.
Charges every Indian card carries
Cash withdrawal fees (typically 2.5% of the amount, minimum ₹500) with interest from day one and no interest-free period, late payment fees graded by outstanding balance, over-limit charges, EMI conversion processing fees and interest, rent-payment and wallet-load fees, and payment-return charges. These are listed in the bank's MITC document, not in the marketing page — read it once before you apply.
Tax implications of the PSB Simply SAVE SBI Card
Indian tax treatment of the fees, rewards and foreign spends on this specific card.
GST on fees and charges. Every fee quoted on this page excludes GST. The ₹499 joining fee bills as ₹589 and the ₹499 renewal as ₹589. GST also applies to interest, late payment fees, cash advance fees and the forex markup — it is not a one-off on the fee alone.
Are the reward points taxable? Points or cashback earned in proportion to your own spending are treated as a post-purchase discount rather than income, so a salaried individual does not pay tax on them. The same applies to the points here, valued at ₹0.25 per point on redemption. Two exceptions matter: benefits received from a business relationship (not from your own spending) can attract TDS at 10% under section 194R where the value exceeds ₹20,000 in a year, and a gift or voucher received from the bank with no link to your spending can be taxable under section 56(2)(x) if total gifts from non-relatives cross ₹50,000 in a year.
Is the annual fee deductible? Not for a salaried cardholder — it is a personal expense. If the card is genuinely used for business or professional spends, the ₹589 renewal is an allowable business expense under section 37(1), and a GST-registered business billed in its own name can claim the ₹90 GST as input tax credit.
Foreign spends, TCS and the LRS. The 3.5% markup attracts 18% GST, making it about 4.13% effectively. TCS under the Liberalised Remittance Scheme runs at 20% above ₹10 lakh of remittances in a financial year; international credit card spends have so far been kept outside the LRS pending notification, so no TCS is deducted at the till today. Where TCS is collected on any remittance, it is not a sunk cost — it is creditable against your tax liability and refundable through your ITR.
Spends the tax department can see. Aggregate credit card payments of ₹10 lakh or more in a financial year (₹1 lakh or more if paid in cash) are reported by Punjab & Sind Bank in the Statement of Financial Transactions and show up in your AIS. That is not a tax by itself, but the spending should be consistent with the income you declare.
Eligibility and documents for the PSB Simply SAVE SBI Card
Punjab & Sind Bank does not publish a numeric income requirement for this entry-tier card.
Eligibility
- Income: Punjab & Sind Bank does not publish a figure for this card. Expect the usual entry-level threshold of roughly ₹20,000–₹30,000 a month, confirmed at application.
- Age: typically 21 to 60 for salaried applicants and up to 65 for self-employed; add-on cards from 18.
- Credit score: a CIBIL score of 750+ materially improves approval odds on any card, including this one.
- Residency: resident Indian with a verifiable address in a city Punjab & Sind Bank services.
Documents required
- Identity: PAN card (mandatory) plus Aadhaar, passport, voter ID or driving licence.
- Address: Aadhaar, passport, utility bill or registered rent agreement.
- Income (salaried): last 3 months' salary slips and 3–6 months' bank statements showing salary credit; Form 16 for the latest year.
- Income (self-employed): latest 1–2 years' ITR with computation, audited financials where applicable, and 6 months' current account statements.
- Photograph: one recent passport-size photo (often skipped in a full digital journey).
- Existing Punjab & Sind Bank customers with a salary or pre-approved relationship usually skip the income documents entirely.
Nomination note: a credit card has no nominee — nomination applies to deposits and investments. What matters here is that your family knows the card exists and knows the outstanding, so it can be settled from the estate promptly instead of accruing interest and late fees after the fact.
How to apply for the PSB Simply SAVE SBI Card
- Check for a pre-approved offer first. Log in to Punjab & Sind Bank net banking or the mobile app. A pre-approved journey skips income documents and, more importantly, avoids a hard enquiry on your credit report if you are declined.
- Confirm the current fee and rates on the official page before applying — banks revise these without much notice.
- Apply online with PAN, Aadhaar and employment details, or walk into a Punjab & Sind Bank branch if your income profile needs manual assessment.
- Complete KYC. Most issuers now offer video KYC that finishes in minutes; physical verification adds a few days.
- Confirm the credit limit before activating. A limit too small to route ₹8,333 a month through makes the ₹1 lakh fee waiver unreachable — ask for an enhancement up front.
- Set a full-payment auto-debit on the due date the day the card arrives. Interest of 36–45% a year plus GST is the single fastest way to turn this card into a loss.
PSB Simply SAVE SBI Card — frequently asked questions
Answers use this card's own numbers, verified 2026-07.
What is the annual fee for the PSB Simply SAVE SBI Card, and can it be waived?
The annual fee is ₹499 plus 18% GST, so ₹589 actually leaves your account. It is waived if you spend ₹1 lakh in the card anniversary year — about ₹8,333 a month.
How much do you actually earn on the PSB Simply SAVE SBI Card?
The base rate is 0.67 points per ₹100, and each point is worth ₹0.25 at the best redemption — roughly 0.17% in value. The accelerated categories are dining at 6.67 points per ₹100.
Which spends earn no rewards on the PSB Simply SAVE SBI Card?
fuel, rent payments earn zero. If those categories are a big share of your monthly outgo, your effective return will be well below the advertised rate.
Does the PSB Simply SAVE SBI Card offer airport lounge access?
No. This card carries no complimentary lounge visits. If lounge access matters to you, look at a card that states a visit count in writing.
What does the PSB Simply SAVE SBI Card charge on foreign currency spends?
A 3.5% markup, plus 18% GST on that markup, so about 4.13% effectively. On a ₹1 lakh foreign spend that is roughly ₹4,130.
Do reward points on the PSB Simply SAVE SBI Card expire?
No — points on this card do not carry a stated expiry. That does not protect you from devaluation, only from lapse.
Is there a cap on rewards from the PSB Simply SAVE SBI Card?
Yes. The tightest is dining at ₹5,000 of rewards a month, which you hit at about ₹2,99,850 of monthly spend in that category. Caps reset each statement month and unused headroom does not carry forward.
Is the PSB Simply SAVE SBI Card annual fee tax-deductible, and are reward points taxable?
For a salaried cardholder the fee is a personal expense and is not deductible. If the card is used genuinely for business or professional spends, the fee and GST can be claimed as a business expense (and the GST as input credit where the card is billed to a GST-registered entity). Reward points earned in proportion to your own spending are generally treated as a post-purchase discount, not income, so they are not taxed in your hands.
Is TCS applicable on PSB Simply SAVE SBI Card spends abroad?
Tax Collected at Source under the Liberalised Remittance Scheme applies at 20% above the ₹10 lakh annual threshold for remittances and forex card loads. International spends on Indian credit cards have so far been kept outside the LRS pending notification, so no TCS is deducted at the point of sale today. This has been changed and deferred more than once — confirm the current position with Punjab & Sind Bank before a large overseas spend. Any TCS actually collected is not a cost: it is creditable against your income tax liability and refundable when you file your ITR.
What happens to the PSB Simply SAVE SBI Card account after the cardholder's death?
A credit card is an unsecured personal liability and cannot be inherited or transferred — the card must be surrendered and closed. Inform Punjab & Sind Bank in writing with the death certificate; the outstanding balance becomes payable from the deceased's estate, and the legal heirs are liable only to the extent of the assets they inherit, not personally. Any add-on cards stop working immediately. Unredeemed reward points are normally forfeited on closure, so a family member holding a large balance should redeem while the account is active. Nomination applies to deposits and investments, not to credit cards — but if there is a fixed deposit backing a secured card, the nomination on that FD governs its release.
Similar & Alternative Cards
Explore other top-rated Entry-level credit cards in India

Tata Neu Plus HDFC Bank Credit Card

PhonePe HDFC Bank Uno Credit Card

SimplyCLICK SBI Card

SimplySAVE SBI Card

BPCL SBI Card

Tata Neu Plus SBI Credit Card
Related Guides & Tools
Ranked card lists PSB Simply SAVE SBI Card appears in, plus calculators for card debt decisions
