SBI Card PRIME vs SBI Card PULSE
Calculate exact net annual returns in ₹ after fee waivers, milestone rewards, categories, and caps. Card terms verified July 2026.
Quick Key Takeaways & Fact Summary
- Overall Winner: SBI Card PRIME earns higher net annual returns at standard spend tiers.
- Annual Fee: SBI Card PRIME (₹2999/yr) vs SBI Card PULSE (₹1499/yr).
- Base Reward Rate: SBI Card PRIME (2 pts/₹100) vs SBI Card PULSE (2 pts/₹100).
- Lounge Access: SBI Card PRIME (8 dom) vs SBI Card PULSE (4 dom).
Interactive Net Returns Calculator
Adjust spend profiles to compare total net value, annual fee waivers, category earnings, and milestone bonuses.
Your Monthly Spend
₹50,000/moE-Commerce & Online
Daily Essentials
Most cards earn ₹0 rewards on fuel (surcharge waiver only).
Frequently excluded from rewards in India.
Lifestyle, Bills & Other
Almost always earns ₹0 and may carry a fee.
Often excluded or capped.
1SBI Card · fee waived
2SBI Card · fee waived
Smart verdict
Get the SBI Card PRIME — it earns you +₹9,260/yr over the SBI Card PULSE, mostly from your groceries spend.
How Your Spends Convert to Rewards
Live calculation breakdown for SBI Card PRIME
| Spend Category | Monthly Spend | Reward Rate | Points Earned | Monthly Value | Annual Value | Status / Caps |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Fuel | ₹4,000/mo | 0 Pts / ₹100 | 0 pts0 pts/yr | ₹0 | ₹0/yr | Excluded |
Rent | ₹10,000/mo | 0 Pts / ₹100 | 0 pts0 pts/yr | ₹0 | ₹0/yr | Excluded |
Other Online Shopping | ₹6,000/mo | 2 Pts / ₹100 | 120 pts1,440 pts/yr | ₹30 | ₹360/yr | Active Earn |
Amazon Spends | ₹3,500/mo | 2 Pts / ₹100 | 70 pts840 pts/yr | ₹18 | ₹210/yr | Active Earn |
Flipkart Spends | ₹2,000/mo | 2 Pts / ₹100 | 40 pts480 pts/yr | ₹10 | ₹120/yr | Active Earn |
Dining & Food Delivery | ₹5,000/mo | 10 Pts / ₹100 | 500 pts6,000 pts/yr | ₹125 | ₹1,500/yr | Active Earn |
Groceries | ₹7,000/mo | 10 Pts / ₹100 | 700 pts8,400 pts/yr | ₹175 | ₹2,100/yr | Active Earn |
Utilities & Bills | ₹4,000/mo | 0.5 Pts / ₹100 | 20 pts240 pts/yr | ₹5 | ₹60/yr | Active Earn |
Travel (Flights/Hotels) | ₹4,000/mo | 2 Pts / ₹100 | 80 pts960 pts/yr | ₹20 | ₹240/yr | Active Earn |
Insurance | ₹1,500/mo | 2 Pts / ₹100 | 30 pts360 pts/yr | ₹8 | ₹90/yr | Active Earn |
Other / Offline | ₹3,000/mo | 2 Pts / ₹100 | 60 pts720 pts/yr | ₹15 | ₹180/yr | Active Earn |
Net annual value across spend levels
All ₹ values exclude GST. Perks like lounge access are shown separately and not added into net value. Rewards use your selected redemption mode (cashback / statement credit).
Card features side by side
Use the table for product rules; use the calculator above for value based on your actual spending.
| Feature | SBI Card PRIMESBI Card | SBI Card PULSESBI Card |
|---|---|---|
| Joining fee | ₹2,999 | ₹1,499 |
| Annual fee | ₹2,999/yr | ₹1,499/yr |
| Fee waiver | Spend ₹3,00,000/yr | Spend ₹2,00,000/yr |
| Base reward | 2 pts / ₹100 | 2 pts / ₹100 |
| Top reward categories | 10x dining, 10x groceries, 0.5x utilities | 10x dining |
| Redemption friction | Moderate | Moderate |
| Point expiry | 24 months | 24 months |
| Lounge access | 8 dom · 4 intl⚠ International via Priority Pass, max 2/quarter | 4 dom · 0 intl⚠ Max 1 domestic/quarter |
| Forex markup | 3.5% | 3.5% |
| Fuel surcharge | 1% waiver, up to ₹100/mo | None |
| Min income · salaried | Not stated | Not stated |
| Min income · self-employed | Not stated | Not stated |
| Eligibility (as stated) | Not published by bank | Not published by bank |
| Recent devaluations | None recorded |
|
| Verified against | Updated 2026-08-13Official SBI Card Credit Card Page | Updated 2026-07Official SBI Card Credit Card Page |
Verdict at a Glance
Choose SBI Card PRIME if your monthly spending is focused on dining, groceries.
Choose SBI Card PULSE if you spend heavily on dining.
SBI Card PRIME vs SBI Card PULSE Spend Tier Breakdown
Simulated net annual returns across typical Indian monthly spending profiles.
SBI Card PRIME
At ₹25,000/month, SBI Card PRIME nets ₹6,557/yr vs SBI Card PULSE at ₹3,359/yr — a ₹3,198 edge.
SBI Card PRIME
At ₹50,000/month, SBI Card PRIME nets ₹15,859/yr vs SBI Card PULSE at ₹6,599/yr — a ₹9,260 edge.
SBI Card PRIME
At ₹1,00,000/month, SBI Card PRIME nets ₹20,164/yr vs SBI Card PULSE at ₹9,959/yr — a ₹10,205 edge.
* Spend tier verdicts use standard category splits (cashback redemption mode). Actual net value depends on your specific spending categories.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which is better, SBI Card PRIME or SBI Card PULSE?▼
At a typical ₹50,000/month spend (cashback redemption), SBI Card PRIME comes out ahead by about ₹9,260 per year, driven mostly by groceries spend. Your own split can change the answer — use the calculator above to plug in your numbers.
Which card is better for online shopping, SBI Card PRIME or SBI Card PULSE?▼
SBI Card PRIME earns 2 pts/₹100 as a base, while SBI Card PULSE earns 2 pts/₹100. Check the accelerated online/Amazon/Flipkart rates and monthly caps in the table above, since caps often decide the winner for heavy online spenders.
What are the annual fees for SBI Card PRIME and SBI Card PULSE?▼
SBI Card PRIME: ₹2,999 + GST per year, waived on ₹3,00,000 annual spend. SBI Card PULSE: ₹1,499 + GST per year, waived on ₹2,00,000 annual spend.
Do SBI Card PRIME and SBI Card PULSE earn rewards on rent, fuel and utilities?▼
Like most Indian cards, several everyday categories are excluded. SBI Card PRIME excludes fuel, rent; SBI Card PULSE excludes rent. The calculator shows these as ₹0 earners so your net value stays honest.
Is SBI Card PULSE ever the better pick over SBI Card PRIME?▼
Within a normal spend range at ₹50,000/month, SBI Card PRIME stays ahead. SBI Card PULSE can still win on specific perks (lounge, forex, redemption ease) that aren't counted in the net-value maths.