BPCL SBI Card OCTANE vs SBI Card PULSE
Calculate exact net annual returns in ₹ after fee waivers, milestone rewards, categories, and caps. Card terms verified 2026-07.
Quick Key Takeaways & Fact Summary
- Overall Winner: BPCL SBI Card OCTANE earns higher net annual returns at standard spend tiers.
- Annual Fee: BPCL SBI Card OCTANE (₹1499/yr) vs SBI Card PULSE (₹1499/yr).
- Base Reward Rate: BPCL SBI Card OCTANE (1 pts/₹100) vs SBI Card PULSE (2 pts/₹100).
- Lounge Access: BPCL SBI Card OCTANE (4 dom) vs SBI Card PULSE (4 dom).
Interactive Net Returns Calculator
Adjust spend profiles to compare total net value, annual fee waivers, category earnings, and milestone bonuses.
Your Monthly Spend
₹50,000/moE-Commerce & Online
Daily Essentials
Most cards earn ₹0 rewards on fuel (surcharge waiver only).
Frequently excluded from rewards in India.
Lifestyle, Bills & Other
Almost always earns ₹0 and may carry a fee.
Often excluded or capped.
1SBI Card · fee waived
2SBI Card · fee waived
Smart verdict
Get the BPCL SBI Card OCTANE — it earns you +₹1,820/yr over the SBI Card PULSE, mostly from your groceries spend.
How Your Spends Convert to Rewards
Live calculation breakdown for BPCL SBI Card OCTANE
| Spend Category | Monthly Spend | Reward Rate | Points Earned | Monthly Value | Annual Value | Status / Caps |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Rent | ₹10,000/mo | 0 Pts / ₹100 | 0 pts0 pts/yr | ₹0 | ₹0/yr | Excluded |
Other Online Shopping | ₹6,000/mo | 1 Pts / ₹100 | 60 pts720 pts/yr | ₹15 | ₹180/yr | Active Earn |
Amazon Spends | ₹3,500/mo | 1 Pts / ₹100 | 35 pts420 pts/yr | ₹9 | ₹105/yr | Active Earn |
Flipkart Spends | ₹2,000/mo | 1 Pts / ₹100 | 20 pts240 pts/yr | ₹5 | ₹60/yr | Active Earn |
Dining & Food Delivery | ₹5,000/mo | 10 Pts / ₹100 | 500 pts6,000 pts/yr | ₹125 | ₹1,500/yr | Active Earn |
Groceries | ₹7,000/mo | 10 Pts / ₹100 | 700 pts8,400 pts/yr | ₹175 | ₹2,100/yr | Active Earn |
Fuel | ₹4,000/mo | 1 Pts / ₹100 | 40 pts480 pts/yr | ₹50(incl. ₹40 waiver) | ₹600/yr | Fuel Waiver Stacked |
Utilities & Bills | ₹4,000/mo | 1 Pts / ₹100 | 40 pts480 pts/yr | ₹10 | ₹120/yr | Active Earn |
Travel (Flights/Hotels) | ₹4,000/mo | 1 Pts / ₹100 | 40 pts480 pts/yr | ₹10 | ₹120/yr | Active Earn |
Insurance | ₹1,500/mo | 1 Pts / ₹100 | 15 pts180 pts/yr | ₹4 | ₹45/yr | Active Earn |
Other / Offline | ₹3,000/mo | 1 Pts / ₹100 | 30 pts360 pts/yr | ₹8 | ₹90/yr | Active Earn |
Net annual value across spend levels
All ₹ values exclude GST. Perks like lounge access are shown separately and not added into net value. Rewards use your selected redemption mode (cashback / statement credit).
Card features side by side
Use the table for product rules; use the calculator above for value based on your actual spending.
| Feature | BPCL SBI Card OCTANESBI Card | SBI Card PULSESBI Card |
|---|---|---|
| Joining fee | ₹1,499 | ₹1,499 |
| Annual fee | ₹1,499/yr | ₹1,499/yr |
| Fee waiver | Spend ₹2,00,000/yr | Spend ₹2,00,000/yr |
| Base reward | 1 pts / ₹100 | 2 pts / ₹100 |
| Top reward categories | 1x fuel (higher rate at select merchants only), 10x dining, 10x groceries | 10x dining |
| Redemption friction | Moderate | Moderate |
| Point expiry | 24 months | 24 months |
| Lounge access | 4 dom · 0 intl⚠ Max 1/quarter | 4 dom · 0 intl⚠ Max 1 domestic/quarter |
| Forex markup | 3.5% | 3.5% |
| Fuel surcharge | 1% waiver, up to ₹100/mo | None |
| Min income · salaried | Not stated | Not stated |
| Min income · self-employed | Not stated | Not stated |
| Eligibility (as stated) | Not published by bank | Not published by bank |
| Recent devaluations | None recorded |
|
| Verified against | Updated 2026-07Official SBI Card Credit Card Page | Updated 2026-07Official SBI Card Credit Card Page |
Verdict at a Glance
Choose BPCL SBI Card OCTANE if your monthly spending is focused on fuel, dining.
Choose SBI Card PULSE if you spend heavily on dining.
BPCL SBI Card OCTANE vs SBI Card PULSE Spend Tier Breakdown
Simulated net annual returns across typical Indian monthly spending profiles.
BPCL SBI Card OCTANE
At ₹25,000/month, BPCL SBI Card OCTANE nets ₹6,184/yr vs SBI Card PULSE at ₹3,359/yr — a ₹2,825 edge.
BPCL SBI Card OCTANE
At ₹50,000/month, BPCL SBI Card OCTANE nets ₹8,419/yr vs SBI Card PULSE at ₹6,599/yr — a ₹1,820 edge.
BPCL SBI Card OCTANE
At ₹1,00,000/month, BPCL SBI Card OCTANE nets ₹12,289/yr vs SBI Card PULSE at ₹9,959/yr — a ₹2,330 edge.
* Spend tier verdicts use standard category splits (cashback redemption mode). Actual net value depends on your specific spending categories.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which is better, BPCL SBI Card OCTANE or SBI Card PULSE?▼
At a typical ₹50,000/month spend (cashback redemption), BPCL SBI Card OCTANE comes out ahead by about ₹1,820 per year, driven mostly by groceries spend. Your own split can change the answer — use the calculator above to plug in your numbers.
Which card is better for online shopping, BPCL SBI Card OCTANE or SBI Card PULSE?▼
BPCL SBI Card OCTANE earns 1 pts/₹100 as a base, while SBI Card PULSE earns 2 pts/₹100. Check the accelerated online/Amazon/Flipkart rates and monthly caps in the table above, since caps often decide the winner for heavy online spenders.
What are the annual fees for BPCL SBI Card OCTANE and SBI Card PULSE?▼
BPCL SBI Card OCTANE: ₹1,499 + GST per year, waived on ₹2,00,000 annual spend. SBI Card PULSE: ₹1,499 + GST per year, waived on ₹2,00,000 annual spend.
Do BPCL SBI Card OCTANE and SBI Card PULSE earn rewards on rent, fuel and utilities?▼
Like most Indian cards, several everyday categories are excluded. BPCL SBI Card OCTANE excludes rent; SBI Card PULSE excludes rent. The calculator shows these as ₹0 earners so your net value stays honest.
Is SBI Card PULSE ever the better pick over BPCL SBI Card OCTANE?▼
Within a normal spend range at ₹50,000/month, BPCL SBI Card OCTANE stays ahead. SBI Card PULSE can still win on specific perks (lounge, forex, redemption ease) that aren't counted in the net-value maths.