American Express
American Express Gold Card
Verified Official Data • 2026-07
₹1,000
₹4,500
None
3.5%
Annual fee payable: ₹4,500/yr
Most cards earn ₹0 rewards on fuel (surcharge waiver only).
Frequently excluded from rewards in India.
Spends-to-Rewards Breakdown
Live conversion of your active monthly spends
Yield & Milestone Tracker
-0.04%
Is American Express Gold Card really your best option?
Run your spend profile against all 541 cards in India and see where this one ranks.
Key Specifications
₹1,000
₹4,500
None
3.5%
Devaluation Log & History
No MR points on fuel eff. 12 June 2025
Rewards Structure (2026)
Official earn rates, accelerated multipliers and category caps
All non-excluded general spends
1 MR pt/Rs.50 on utility, cap 10,000 MR pts/month
No MR points on insurance or cash; no MR points on fuel eff. 12 June 2025
Lounge & Travel Perks
None
None
Redemption & Expiry
No preset limit (Charge Card); redeem via 18/24K Gold Collection vouchers
Exclusion Honesty: This data has been verified against official American Express publications. Exclusions and point friction factors are encoded in full to ensure truthful net calculations.
Official Specification Sheet
Verified parameters formatted for mobile reading without horizontal scrolling
American Express Gold Card Review & Guide (2026)
The American Express Gold Card by American Express operates on a base reward rate of 2 reward points per ₹100 in the premium tier.
Evaluating this card requires looking past the ₹1,000 joining fee and ₹4,500 annual fee to assess your real Net Annual Value (NTV). With the live calculator above, verify if your spend meets fee waivers or accelerates rewards in top merchant categories.
Who Benefits Most
- People who want one flat, no-thinking rate: every eligible spend earns 2 points per ₹100 (about 0.80% in value at best redemption), with no category tracking.
Who Should Avoid
- Anyone whose spending is heavy on insurance premiums, fuel. These earn zero rewards. No MR points on insurance or cash; no MR points on fuel eff. 12 June 2025
- Frequent overseas shoppers: 3.5% forex markup + 18% GST on markup (~4.13%) eats into rewards.
- Light spenders: ₹4,500 annual fee has no spend waiver and recurs yearly.
- Anyone revolving balances: credit card interest in India runs 36–45% + 18% GST, erasing all rewards.
Hidden Charges & Fine Print
GST sits on top of quoted fees
Listed fees exclude GST. You pay ₹1,180 joining and ₹5,310 annually. 18% GST is never waived.
Forex markup is effectively 4.13%
18% GST applies to the 3.5% markup. Always decline Dynamic Currency Conversion (billing in INR) abroad.
Category caps do not carry forward
utility bills and recharges is capped at ₹10,000/mo. Unused caps lapse monthly.
Standard MITC fees
Cash withdrawal fee (2.5% min ₹500), over-limit charges, late payment charges, rent/wallet fee.
Tax Implications
GST on Fees: All quoted fees exclude 18% GST. The ₹1,000 joining fee bills as ₹1,180 and renewal as ₹5,310.
Reward Points Taxability: Points earned from personal spending are considered discounts and are not taxed. Business rewards may attract TDS under Section 194R if gifts exceed ₹20,000/year.
LRS & TCS: International spends on Indian cards are currently exempted from 20% LRS TCS pending central notification.
Eligibility & Documentation
- Age 21–60 (salaried) or up to 65 (self-employed).
- CIBIL score 750+ recommended.
- Income: As assessed by bank.
- PAN card + Aadhaar/Passport.
- Last 3 months salary slips / Form 16 / ITR.
How to Apply
- Check for pre-approved offers in net banking to skip documentation.
- Confirm latest fees and exclusions on the official page.
- Apply online with PAN and Aadhaar for video KYC.
- Set full auto-debit on the due date immediately upon receipt.
American Express Gold Card — FAQs
Verified official answers • Updated 2026-07
The fee is ₹4,500 + 18% GST (₹5,310 total). No spend-based waiver published.
Similar Cards to Consider
Alternative cards in the premium tier and American Express portfolio
Related Calculators & Guides
American ExpressAmerican Express Gold Card
Verified Official Data • Last updated 2026-07

Net Value Calculator
Drag sliders to estimate this card's annual value based on your actual spending habits.
Is American Express Gold Card actually your best option?
Run the same spend against all 541 cards and see where this one ranks.
Key Specifications & Core Privileges
Issuance fees, spend waiver thresholds, forex markup, and complimentary airport lounge access.
₹1,000
+ GST₹4,500
Per year + GSTNo Waiver
Non-waivable fee3.5%
Cross-currency markupNone
No domestic accessNone
No international accessRewards Structure & Redemption
Verified earn rates, accelerated multipliers, point conversion valuation, and redemption policies for 2026.
Applies to all non-excluded offline, general retail, and miscellaneous spends.
Moderate/Portal redemption (3/5 friction)
Points never expire
Accelerated Category Multipliers (1)
1 MR pt/Rs.50 on utility, cap 10,000 MR pts/month
No MR points on insurance or cash; no MR points on fuel eff. 12 June 2025
Privileges, Milestones & Card Perks
Welcome bonuses, annual renewal rewards, milestone spend targets, and exclusive lifestyle memberships.
Complimentary Lifestyle & Travel Privileges (2)
1,000 bonus points for 6 txns of Rs.1,000+/month
5X Reward Multiplier enrollment
Eligibility, Governance & Data Verification
Applicant eligibility criteria, devaluation tracking history, and verified source citations.
Standard bank credit criteria applies
amex
No MR points on fuel eff. 12 June 2025
This card's data has been audited directly against official American Express Key Fact Statements (KFS) and published schedule of charges. Point valuations include real redemption friction factors to compute true net financial value.
Official Specification Sheet
Comprehensive rules, fees, and parameters verified directly against issuer details.
| Feature | American Express Gold CardAmerican Express |
|---|---|
| Joining fee | ₹1,000 |
| Annual fee | ₹4,500/yr |
| Fee waiver | No waiver |
| Base reward | 2 pts / ₹100 |
| Top reward categories | 2x utilities |
| Redemption friction | Moderate |
| Point expiry | Never expire |
| Lounge access | None |
| Forex markup | 3.5% |
| Fuel surcharge | None |
| Min income · salaried | Not stated |
| Min income · self-employed | Not stated |
| Eligibility (as stated) | Not stated |
| Recent devaluations |
|
| Verified against | Updated 2026-07Official American Express Credit Card Page |
Detailed American Express Gold Card Credit Card Review & Spends Guide (2026)
The American Express Gold Card by American Express is a prominent credit card in the Indian market, categorized under the premium tier. Offering a base rewards engine of 2 reward points per ₹100, this card targets users looking to optimize their personal finances.
When evaluating the real-world value of the American Express Gold Card, it's essential to look beyond the joining fee of ₹1000 and annual fee of ₹4500. With our real-time calculator above, you can map out your monthly category spends (online shopping, dining, travel, utilities, groceries, etc.) to see if you can trigger the spend-based annual fee waiver of N/A, which determines your true Net Annual Value (NTV).
Rewards Potential & Category Multipliers
For accelerated spenders, the American Express Gold Card features key reward multipliers:
- 2x on utilities spends (capped at ₹10000/month).
- Exclusions: No rewards are earned on insurance, fuel categories.
Lounge Access & Extra Perks
Perks add immense value that calculations often leave out. The American Express Gold Card offers:
- Domestic Lounges: No domestic lounge visits available.
- International Lounges: No international lounge visits available.
Points Redemption and Point Expiry
Earning points is only half the battle. Redemptions are subject to a friction index of 3/5 (representing Moderate/Portal redemption (3/5 friction)). Note: No preset limit (Charge Card); redeem via 18/24K Gold Collection vouchers. Points are valid for a lifetime (no expiry).
Who the American Express Gold Card benefits the most
Derived from this card's actual earn rates, caps and perks — not a generic profile.
- People who want one flat, no-thinking rate: every eligible spend earns 2 points per ₹100 (about 0.80% in value at the best redemption), with no category tracking to do.
Who should avoid the American Express Gold Card
The cases where this card quietly costs more than it pays back.
- Anyone whose spending is heavy on insurance premiums, fuel. These categories earn absolutely nothing on this card — not a reduced rate, zero. No MR points on insurance or cash; no MR points on fuel eff. 12 June 2025
- Travellers and overseas online shoppers. The 3.5% forex markup plus 18% GST on that markup works out to about 4.13% on every foreign-currency transaction — usually more than the rewards you earn on it.
- Light spenders. The ₹4,500 annual fee (₹5,310 after GST) has no spend-based waiver, so you pay it every year regardless. At the base rate of 2 points per ₹100 you need roughly ₹6.64 lakh of annual spend just to break even.
- Anyone building a long-term strategy around one benefit. This card has been devalued 1 time on record — most recently in 2025-06: No MR points on fuel eff. 12 June 2025 Assume today's rates are not permanent.
- Frequent flyers looking for airport comfort. This card carries no complimentary lounge access.
- Anyone reading the headline points rate literally. Each point is worth only ₹0.4, so "2 points per ₹100" is really about 0.80% back in value.
- Anyone who revolves a balance. Credit card interest in India typically runs 36–45% a year plus 18% GST on the interest — that erases every reward this card can pay, on any spending pattern.
Hidden charges and fine print on the American Express Gold Card
The costs that sit below the marketing page, verified against American Express disclosures dated 2026-07.
GST sits on top of every fee you were quoted
The listed ₹1,000 joining fee and ₹4,500 annual fee exclude GST. You actually pay ₹1,180 up front and ₹5,310 at each renewal. The 18% GST is never waived, even when the bank waives the fee itself on spend — check your statement.
Forex markup of 3.5% is really 4.13%
GST at 18% applies to the markup, so 3.5% becomes about 4.13% in real terms. Also decline Dynamic Currency Conversion at foreign terminals: paying "in INR" adds another 3–5% on top of this.
The headline rate stops at a monthly cap
utility bills and recharges is capped at ₹10,000 of rewards a month (about ₹12,50,000 of spend). Caps are per statement month and do not carry forward — an unused cap in April is gone in May.
Spends that earn zero
insurance premiums, fuel earn no rewards at all. No MR points on insurance or cash; no MR points on fuel eff. 12 June 2025 These excluded spends also frequently fail to count toward fee-waiver and milestone targets, so check the MITC before routing large payments here to "hit the target".
Redemption fine print
No preset limit (Charge Card); redeem via 18/24K Gold Collection vouchers Redemption fees and minimum-balance thresholds are the most commonly missed cost on Indian cards — factor them in before comparing headline earn rates.
No fuel surcharge waiver
This card carries no fuel surcharge waiver in the published terms, so the usual ~1% surcharge levied by petrol pumps stays on your bill — and fuel earns no rewards here either.
Charges every Indian card carries
Cash withdrawal fees (typically 2.5% of the amount, minimum ₹500) with interest from day one and no interest-free period, late payment fees graded by outstanding balance, over-limit charges, EMI conversion processing fees and interest, rent-payment and wallet-load fees, and payment-return charges. These are listed in the bank's MITC document, not in the marketing page — read it once before you apply.
Tax implications of the American Express Gold Card
Indian tax treatment of the fees, rewards and foreign spends on this specific card.
GST on fees and charges. Every fee quoted on this page excludes GST. The ₹1,000 joining fee bills as ₹1,180 and the ₹4,500 renewal as ₹5,310. GST also applies to interest, late payment fees, cash advance fees and the forex markup — it is not a one-off on the fee alone.
Are the reward points taxable? Points or cashback earned in proportion to your own spending are treated as a post-purchase discount rather than income, so a salaried individual does not pay tax on them. The same applies to the points here, valued at ₹0.4 per point on redemption. Two exceptions matter: benefits received from a business relationship (not from your own spending) can attract TDS at 10% under section 194R where the value exceeds ₹20,000 in a year, and a gift or voucher received from the bank with no link to your spending can be taxable under section 56(2)(x) if total gifts from non-relatives cross ₹50,000 in a year.
Is the annual fee deductible? Not for a salaried cardholder — it is a personal expense. If the card is genuinely used for business or professional spends, the ₹5,310 renewal is an allowable business expense under section 37(1), and a GST-registered business billed in its own name can claim the ₹810 GST as input tax credit.
Foreign spends, TCS and the LRS. The 3.5% markup attracts 18% GST, making it about 4.13% effectively. TCS under the Liberalised Remittance Scheme runs at 20% above ₹10 lakh of remittances in a financial year; international credit card spends have so far been kept outside the LRS pending notification, so no TCS is deducted at the till today. Where TCS is collected on any remittance, it is not a sunk cost — it is creditable against your tax liability and refundable through your ITR.
Spends the tax department can see. Aggregate credit card payments of ₹10 lakh or more in a financial year (₹1 lakh or more if paid in cash) are reported by American Express in the Statement of Financial Transactions and show up in your AIS. That is not a tax by itself, but the spending should be consistent with the income you declare.
Eligibility and documents for the American Express Gold Card
American Express does not publish a numeric income requirement for this premium-tier card.
Eligibility
- Income: American Express does not publish a figure for this card. Expect the usual premium threshold — often an income of ₹20 lakh a year or above, or an invitation-only route, confirmed at application.
- Age: typically 21 to 60 for salaried applicants and up to 65 for self-employed; add-on cards from 18.
- Credit score: a CIBIL score of 750+ materially improves approval odds on a card at this tier, where issuers are selective.
- Residency: resident Indian with a verifiable address in a city American Express services.
- Relationship route: premium cards are frequently issued against an existing salary account, wealth relationship or pre-approved offer rather than a cold application.
Documents required
- Identity: PAN card (mandatory) plus Aadhaar, passport, voter ID or driving licence.
- Address: Aadhaar, passport, utility bill or registered rent agreement.
- Income (salaried): last 3 months' salary slips and 3–6 months' bank statements showing salary credit; Form 16 for the latest year.
- Income (self-employed): latest 1–2 years' ITR with computation, audited financials where applicable, and 6 months' current account statements.
- Photograph: one recent passport-size photo (often skipped in a full digital journey).
- Existing American Express customers with a salary or pre-approved relationship usually skip the income documents entirely.
Nomination note: a credit card has no nominee — nomination applies to deposits and investments. What matters here is that your family knows the card exists and knows the outstanding, so it can be settled from the estate promptly instead of accruing interest and late fees after the fact.
How to apply for the American Express Gold Card
- Check for a pre-approved offer first. Log in to American Express net banking or the mobile app. A pre-approved journey skips income documents and, more importantly, avoids a hard enquiry on your credit report if you are declined.
- Confirm the current fee and rates on the official page before applying — banks revise these without much notice, and this card has already been revised 1 time on record.
- Apply online with PAN, Aadhaar and employment details, or walk into a American Express branch if your income profile needs manual assessment.
- Complete KYC. Most issuers now offer video KYC that finishes in minutes; physical verification adds a few days.
- Confirm the credit limit before activating. The limit determines how much of your spending you can actually route here, which is what the reward maths above assumes.
- Set a full-payment auto-debit on the due date the day the card arrives. Interest of 36–45% a year plus GST is the single fastest way to turn this card into a loss.
American Express Gold Card — frequently asked questions
Answers use this card's own numbers, verified 2026-07.
What is the annual fee for the American Express Gold Card, and can it be waived?
The annual fee is ₹4,500 plus 18% GST, so ₹5,310 actually leaves your account. American Express does not publish a spend-based waiver for this card, so the fee recurs every year.
How much do you actually earn on the American Express Gold Card?
The base rate is 2 points per ₹100, and each point is worth ₹0.4 at the best redemption — roughly 0.80% in value. There are no accelerated categories — the rate is flat across eligible spends.
Which spends earn no rewards on the American Express Gold Card?
insurance premiums, fuel earn zero. No MR points on insurance or cash; no MR points on fuel eff. 12 June 2025 If those categories are a big share of your monthly outgo, your effective return will be well below the advertised rate.
Does the American Express Gold Card offer airport lounge access?
No. This card carries no complimentary lounge visits. If lounge access matters to you, look at a card that states a visit count in writing.
What does the American Express Gold Card charge on foreign currency spends?
A 3.5% markup, plus 18% GST on that markup, so about 4.13% effectively. On a ₹1 lakh foreign spend that is roughly ₹4,130.
Do reward points on the American Express Gold Card expire?
No — points on this card do not carry a stated expiry. That does not protect you from devaluation, only from lapse.
Is there a cap on rewards from the American Express Gold Card?
Yes. The tightest is utility bills and recharges at ₹10,000 of rewards a month, which you hit at about ₹12,50,000 of monthly spend in that category. Caps reset each statement month and unused headroom does not carry forward.
Is the American Express Gold Card annual fee tax-deductible, and are reward points taxable?
For a salaried cardholder the fee is a personal expense and is not deductible. If the card is used genuinely for business or professional spends, the fee and GST can be claimed as a business expense (and the GST as input credit where the card is billed to a GST-registered entity). Reward points earned in proportion to your own spending are generally treated as a post-purchase discount, not income, so they are not taxed in your hands.
Is TCS applicable on American Express Gold Card spends abroad?
Tax Collected at Source under the Liberalised Remittance Scheme applies at 20% above the ₹10 lakh annual threshold for remittances and forex card loads. International spends on Indian credit cards have so far been kept outside the LRS pending notification, so no TCS is deducted at the point of sale today. This has been changed and deferred more than once — confirm the current position with American Express before a large overseas spend. Any TCS actually collected is not a cost: it is creditable against your income tax liability and refundable when you file your ITR.
What happens to the American Express Gold Card account after the cardholder's death?
A credit card is an unsecured personal liability and cannot be inherited or transferred — the card must be surrendered and closed. Inform American Express in writing with the death certificate; the outstanding balance becomes payable from the deceased's estate, and the legal heirs are liable only to the extent of the assets they inherit, not personally. Any add-on cards stop working immediately. Unredeemed reward points are normally forfeited on closure, so a family member holding a large balance should redeem while the account is active. Nomination applies to deposits and investments, not to credit cards — but if there is a fixed deposit backing a secured card, the nomination on that FD governs its release.
Similar & Alternative Cards
Explore other top-rated Premium credit cards in India

SBI Card ELITE

SBI Card Miles Elite

Air India SBI Signature Card

IndiGo SBI Card ELITE

AU Traverse Credit Card

IndiGo IDFC FIRST Dual Credit Card
Related Guides & Tools
Ranked card lists American Express Gold Card appears in, plus calculators for card debt decisions
