Union Bank of India
Union UNICORN RuPay Credit Card
Verified Official Data • 2026-07
₹2,400
₹2,400
₹3,00,000
3%
Annual renewal fee is completely waived at your spend tier!
Most cards earn ₹0 rewards on fuel (surcharge waiver only).
Frequently excluded from rewards in India.
Spends-to-Rewards Breakdown
Live conversion of your active monthly spends
Yield & Milestone Tracker
1.06%
Is Union UNICORN RuPay Credit Card really your best option?
Run your spend profile against all 541 cards in India and see where this one ranks.
Key Specifications
₹2,400
₹2,400
₹3,00,000
3%
Rewards Structure (2026)
Official earn rates, accelerated multipliers and category caps
All non-excluded general spends
Myntra coupon INR 250/quarter
BigBasket voucher INR 250/quarter
Nykaa voucher INR 500/quarter; BookMyShow INR 250/month
Milestone Benefits
Additional 2,000 reward points (~Rs.500) on Rs.1L annual spend
Spend: ₹1,00,000/yrAdditional 2,000 reward points on Rs.5L annual spend (repeats every Rs.1L)
Spend: ₹5,00,000/yrAlso excludes jewellery, cash withdrawal, wallet loading, alcohol/wine shops (MCC-based).
Lounge & Travel Perks
8/yr
2/yr
Redemption & Expiry
Eligibility Criteria
Exclusion Honesty: This data has been verified against official Union Bank of India publications. Exclusions and point friction factors are encoded in full to ensure truthful net calculations.
Official Specification Sheet
Verified parameters formatted for mobile reading without horizontal scrolling
Union UNICORN RuPay Credit Card Review & Guide (2026)
The Union UNICORN RuPay Credit Card by Union Bank of India operates on a base reward rate of 4 reward points per ₹100 in the premium tier.
Evaluating this card requires looking past the ₹2,400 joining fee and ₹2,400 annual fee to assess your real Net Annual Value (NTV). With the live calculator above, verify if your spend meets fee waivers or accelerates rewards in top merchant categories.
Who Benefits Most
- People who want one flat, no-thinking rate: every eligible spend earns 4 points per ₹100 (about 1.00% in value at best redemption), with no category tracking.
- Households spending about ₹25,000 a month on cards to clear the ₹3 lakh waiver.
- Frequent flyers: 8 domestic and 2 international lounge visits a year.
- Planners targeting milestones: "Additional 2,000 reward points (~Rs.500) on Rs.1L annual spend" pays ₹500 value on ₹1 lakh spend.
Who Should Avoid
- Anyone whose spending is heavy on fuel, insurance premiums. These earn zero rewards. Also excludes jewellery, cash withdrawal, wallet loading, alcohol/wine shops (MCC-based).
- Frequent overseas shoppers: 3% forex markup + 18% GST on markup (~3.54%) eats into rewards.
- High spenders: monthly reward caps limit accelerated earnings to roughly ₹3,000/yr.
- Anyone revolving balances: credit card interest in India runs 36–45% + 18% GST, erasing all rewards.
Hidden Charges & Fine Print
GST sits on top of quoted fees
Listed fees exclude GST. You pay ₹2,832 joining and ₹2,832 annually. 18% GST is never waived.
Forex markup is effectively 3.54%
18% GST applies to the 3% markup. Always decline Dynamic Currency Conversion (billing in INR) abroad.
Category caps do not carry forward
online shopping is capped at ₹250/mo; groceries is capped at ₹250/mo; other/offline spends is capped at ₹500/mo. Unused caps lapse monthly.
Standard MITC fees
Cash withdrawal fee (2.5% min ₹500), over-limit charges, late payment charges, rent/wallet fee.
Tax Implications
GST on Fees: All quoted fees exclude 18% GST. The ₹2,400 joining fee bills as ₹2,832 and renewal as ₹2,832.
Reward Points Taxability: Points earned from personal spending are considered discounts and are not taxed. Business rewards may attract TDS under Section 194R if gifts exceed ₹20,000/year.
LRS & TCS: International spends on Indian cards are currently exempted from 20% LRS TCS pending central notification.
Eligibility & Documentation
- Age 21–60 (salaried) or up to 65 (self-employed).
- CIBIL score 750+ recommended.
- Income: Minimum gross annual income Rs. 5.00 lakhs (existing-to-bank customer).
- PAN card + Aadhaar/Passport.
- Last 3 months salary slips / Form 16 / ITR.
How to Apply
- Check for pre-approved offers in net banking to skip documentation.
- Confirm latest fees and exclusions on the official page.
- Apply online with PAN and Aadhaar for video KYC.
- Set full auto-debit on the due date immediately upon receipt.
Union UNICORN RuPay Credit Card — FAQs
Verified official answers • Updated 2026-07
The fee is ₹2,400 + 18% GST (₹2,832 total). Waived on spending ₹3 lakh annually (~₹25,000/mo).
Similar Cards to Consider
Alternative cards in the premium tier and Union Bank of India portfolio
Related Calculators & Guides
Union Bank of IndiaUnion UNICORN RuPay Credit Card
Verified Official Data • Last updated 2026-07

Net Value Calculator
Drag sliders to estimate this card's annual value based on your actual spending habits.
Is Union UNICORN RuPay Credit Card actually your best option?
Run the same spend against all 541 cards and see where this one ranks.
Key Specifications & Core Privileges
Issuance fees, spend waiver thresholds, forex markup, and complimentary airport lounge access.
₹2,400
+ GST₹2,400
Per year + GST₹3,00,000
Annual spend goal3%
Cross-currency markup8/yr
Complimentary visits2/yr
Priority Pass / loungeRewards Structure & Redemption
Verified earn rates, accelerated multipliers, point conversion valuation, and redemption policies for 2026.
Applies to all non-excluded offline, general retail, and miscellaneous spends.
Moderate/Portal redemption (3/5 friction)
Points never expire
Accelerated Category Multipliers (3)
Myntra coupon INR 250/quarter
BigBasket voucher INR 250/quarter
Nykaa voucher INR 500/quarter; BookMyShow INR 250/month
Also excludes jewellery, cash withdrawal, wallet loading, alcohol/wine shops (MCC-based).
Privileges, Milestones & Card Perks
Welcome bonuses, annual renewal rewards, milestone spend targets, and exclusive lifestyle memberships.
Welcome & Milestone Benefits
Additional 2,000 reward points (~Rs.500) on Rs.1L annual spend
Additional 2,000 reward points on Rs.5L annual spend (repeats every Rs.1L)
Complimentary Lifestyle & Travel Privileges (4)
3 months Swiggy One membership
10 Lakh Personal Accident Insurance
MMT 10% discount on flights up to INR 1,500/year
12-month Amazon Prime/Hotstar/SonyLiv/Zee5 subscription
Eligibility, Governance & Data Verification
Applicant eligibility criteria, devaluation tracking history, and verified source citations.
Minimum gross annual income Rs. 5.00 lakhs (existing-to-bank customer)
rupay
This card's data has been audited directly against official Union Bank of India Key Fact Statements (KFS) and published schedule of charges. Point valuations include real redemption friction factors to compute true net financial value.
Official Specification Sheet
Comprehensive rules, fees, and parameters verified directly against issuer details.
| Feature | Union UNICORN RuPay Credit CardUnion Bank of India |
|---|---|
| Joining fee | ₹2,400 |
| Annual fee | ₹2,400/yr |
| Fee waiver | Spend ₹3,00,000/yr |
| Base reward | 4 pts / ₹100 |
| Top reward categories | 4x online, 4x groceries, 4x other |
| Redemption friction | Moderate |
| Point expiry | Never expire |
| Lounge access | 8 dom · 2 intl |
| Forex markup | 3% |
| Fuel surcharge | 1% waiver, up to ₹100/mo |
| Min income · salaried | Not stated |
| Min income · self-employed | Not stated |
| Eligibility (as stated) | Minimum gross annual income Rs. 5.00 lakhs (existing-to-bank customer) |
| Recent devaluations | None recorded |
| Verified against | Updated 2026-07Official Union Bank of India Credit Card Page |
Detailed Union UNICORN RuPay Credit Card Credit Card Review & Spends Guide (2026)
The Union UNICORN RuPay Credit Card by Union Bank of India is a prominent credit card in the Indian market, categorized under the premium tier. Offering a base rewards engine of 4 reward points per ₹100, this card targets users looking to optimize their personal finances.
When evaluating the real-world value of the Union UNICORN RuPay Credit Card, it's essential to look beyond the joining fee of ₹2400 and annual fee of ₹2400. With our real-time calculator above, you can map out your monthly category spends (online shopping, dining, travel, utilities, groceries, etc.) to see if you can trigger the spend-based annual fee waiver of ₹300000, which determines your true Net Annual Value (NTV).
Rewards Potential & Category Multipliers
For accelerated spenders, the Union UNICORN RuPay Credit Card features key reward multipliers:
- 4x on online spends (capped at ₹250/month).
- 4x on groceries spends (capped at ₹250/month).
- 4x on other spends (capped at ₹500/month).
- Exclusions: No rewards are earned on fuel, insurance categories.
Lounge Access & Extra Perks
Perks add immense value that calculations often leave out. The Union UNICORN RuPay Credit Card offers:
- Domestic Lounges: 8 visits/year
- International Lounges: 2 visits/year
Points Redemption and Point Expiry
Earning points is only half the battle. Redemptions are subject to a friction index of 3/5 (representing Moderate/Portal redemption (3/5 friction)). Points are valid for a lifetime (no expiry).
Who the Union UNICORN RuPay Credit Card benefits the most
Derived from this card's actual earn rates, caps and perks — not a generic profile.
- People who want one flat, no-thinking rate: every eligible spend earns 4 points per ₹100 (about 1.00% in value at the best redemption), with no category tracking to do.
- Households already spending about ₹25,000 a month on cards. That clears the ₹3 lakh annual-spend waiver and makes the ₹2,400 annual fee (₹2,832 with 18% GST) disappear.
- Frequent flyers: 8 domestic lounge visits and 2 international lounge visits a year, worth roughly ₹13,000 at typical Indian pay-per-use lounge rates.
- Planners who can steer spends to a target: the biggest milestone here is "Additional 2,000 reward points (~Rs.500) on Rs.1L annual spend" — ₹1 lakh of annual spend for ₹500 of value.
- Daily drivers: the 1% fuel surcharge waiver is capped at ₹100/month, which covers roughly ₹10,000 of monthly fuel spend.
Who should avoid the Union UNICORN RuPay Credit Card
The cases where this card quietly costs more than it pays back.
- Anyone whose spending is heavy on fuel, insurance premiums. These categories earn absolutely nothing on this card — not a reduced rate, zero. Also excludes jewellery, cash withdrawal, wallet loading, alcohol/wine shops (MCC-based).
- Travellers and overseas online shoppers. The 3% forex markup plus 18% GST on that markup works out to about 3.54% on every foreign-currency transaction — usually more than the rewards you earn on it.
- High spenders expecting rewards to scale with spend. Monthly caps hold the accelerated earnings to roughly ₹3,000 a year; spending double will not double your rewards.
- Anyone reading the headline points rate literally. Each point is worth only ₹0.25, so "4 points per ₹100" is really about 1.00% back in value.
- Anyone who revolves a balance. Credit card interest in India typically runs 36–45% a year plus 18% GST on the interest — that erases every reward this card can pay, on any spending pattern.
Hidden charges and fine print on the Union UNICORN RuPay Credit Card
The costs that sit below the marketing page, verified against Union Bank of India disclosures dated 2026-07.
GST sits on top of every fee you were quoted
The listed ₹2,400 joining fee and ₹2,400 annual fee exclude GST. You actually pay ₹2,832 up front and ₹2,832 at each renewal. The 18% GST is never waived, even when the bank waives the fee itself on spend — check your statement.
Forex markup of 3% is really 3.54%
GST at 18% applies to the markup, so 3% becomes about 3.54% in real terms. Also decline Dynamic Currency Conversion at foreign terminals: paying "in INR" adds another 3–5% on top of this.
The headline rate stops at a monthly cap
online shopping is capped at ₹250 of rewards a month (about ₹25,000 of spend); groceries is capped at ₹250 of rewards a month (about ₹25,000 of spend); other/offline spends is capped at ₹500 of rewards a month (about ₹50,000 of spend). Caps are per statement month and do not carry forward — an unused cap in April is gone in May.
Spends that earn zero
fuel, insurance premiums earn no rewards at all. Also excludes jewellery, cash withdrawal, wallet loading, alcohol/wine shops (MCC-based). These excluded spends also frequently fail to count toward fee-waiver and milestone targets, so check the MITC before routing large payments here to "hit the target".
Fuel surcharge waiver has a monthly ceiling
The 1% waiver is capped at ₹100 per statement month, and the surcharge is usually reversed as a credit in the next cycle rather than netted off at the pump. Transactions outside the bank's stated per-transaction band may not qualify at all.
Charges every Indian card carries
Cash withdrawal fees (typically 2.5% of the amount, minimum ₹500) with interest from day one and no interest-free period, late payment fees graded by outstanding balance, over-limit charges, EMI conversion processing fees and interest, rent-payment and wallet-load fees, and payment-return charges. These are listed in the bank's MITC document, not in the marketing page — read it once before you apply.
Tax implications of the Union UNICORN RuPay Credit Card
Indian tax treatment of the fees, rewards and foreign spends on this specific card.
GST on fees and charges. Every fee quoted on this page excludes GST. The ₹2,400 joining fee bills as ₹2,832 and the ₹2,400 renewal as ₹2,832. GST also applies to interest, late payment fees, cash advance fees and the forex markup — it is not a one-off on the fee alone.
Are the reward points taxable? Points or cashback earned in proportion to your own spending are treated as a post-purchase discount rather than income, so a salaried individual does not pay tax on them. The same applies to the points here, valued at ₹0.25 per point on redemption. Two exceptions matter: benefits received from a business relationship (not from your own spending) can attract TDS at 10% under section 194R where the value exceeds ₹20,000 in a year, and a gift or voucher received from the bank with no link to your spending can be taxable under section 56(2)(x) if total gifts from non-relatives cross ₹50,000 in a year.
Milestone vouchers on this card. The "Additional 2,000 reward points (~Rs.500) on Rs.1L annual spend" and "Additional 2,000 reward points on Rs.5L annual spend (repeats every Rs.1L)" benefits are earned against spending, so they are treated the same way as reward points — a discount, not taxable income. If those spends were claimed as business expenses, reduce the expense claim by the benefit value instead of showing it as income.
Is the annual fee deductible? Not for a salaried cardholder — it is a personal expense. If the card is genuinely used for business or professional spends, the ₹2,832 renewal is an allowable business expense under section 37(1), and a GST-registered business billed in its own name can claim the ₹432 GST as input tax credit.
Foreign spends, TCS and the LRS. The 3% markup attracts 18% GST, making it about 3.54% effectively. TCS under the Liberalised Remittance Scheme runs at 20% above ₹10 lakh of remittances in a financial year; international credit card spends have so far been kept outside the LRS pending notification, so no TCS is deducted at the till today. Where TCS is collected on any remittance, it is not a sunk cost — it is creditable against your tax liability and refundable through your ITR.
Spends the tax department can see. Aggregate credit card payments of ₹10 lakh or more in a financial year (₹1 lakh or more if paid in cash) are reported by Union Bank of India in the Statement of Financial Transactions and show up in your AIS. That is not a tax by itself, but the spending should be consistent with the income you declare.
Eligibility and documents for the Union UNICORN RuPay Credit Card
Union Bank of India's stated criteria, verified 2026-07.
Eligibility
- Income: Minimum gross annual income Rs. 5.00 lakhs (existing-to-bank customer) (as stated by Union Bank of India).
- Age: typically 21 to 60 for salaried applicants and up to 65 for self-employed; add-on cards from 18.
- Credit score: a CIBIL score of 750+ materially improves approval odds on a card at this tier, where issuers are selective.
- Residency: resident Indian with a verifiable address in a city Union Bank of India services.
- Relationship route: premium cards are frequently issued against an existing salary account, wealth relationship or pre-approved offer rather than a cold application.
Documents required
- Identity: PAN card (mandatory) plus Aadhaar, passport, voter ID or driving licence.
- Address: Aadhaar, passport, utility bill or registered rent agreement.
- Income (salaried): last 3 months' salary slips and 3–6 months' bank statements showing salary credit; Form 16 for the latest year.
- Income (self-employed): latest 1–2 years' ITR with computation, audited financials where applicable, and 6 months' current account statements.
- Photograph: one recent passport-size photo (often skipped in a full digital journey).
- Existing Union Bank of India customers with a salary or pre-approved relationship usually skip the income documents entirely.
Nomination note: a credit card has no nominee — nomination applies to deposits and investments. What matters here is that your family knows the card exists and knows the outstanding, so it can be settled from the estate promptly instead of accruing interest and late fees after the fact.
How to apply for the Union UNICORN RuPay Credit Card
- Check for a pre-approved offer first. Log in to Union Bank of India net banking or the mobile app. A pre-approved journey skips income documents and, more importantly, avoids a hard enquiry on your credit report if you are declined.
- Confirm the current fee and rates on the official page before applying — banks revise these without much notice.
- Apply online with PAN, Aadhaar and employment details, or walk into a Union Bank of India branch if your income profile needs manual assessment.
- Complete KYC. Most issuers now offer video KYC that finishes in minutes; physical verification adds a few days.
- Confirm the credit limit before activating. A limit too small to route ₹25,000 a month through makes the ₹3 lakh fee waiver unreachable — ask for an enhancement up front.
- Set a full-payment auto-debit on the due date the day the card arrives. Interest of 36–45% a year plus GST is the single fastest way to turn this card into a loss.
Union UNICORN RuPay Credit Card — frequently asked questions
Answers use this card's own numbers, verified 2026-07.
What is the annual fee for the Union UNICORN RuPay Credit Card, and can it be waived?
The annual fee is ₹2,400 plus 18% GST, so ₹2,832 actually leaves your account. It is waived if you spend ₹3 lakh in the card anniversary year — about ₹25,000 a month.
How much do you actually earn on the Union UNICORN RuPay Credit Card?
The base rate is 4 points per ₹100, and each point is worth ₹0.25 at the best redemption — roughly 1.00% in value. There are no accelerated categories — the rate is flat across eligible spends.
Which spends earn no rewards on the Union UNICORN RuPay Credit Card?
fuel, insurance premiums earn zero. Also excludes jewellery, cash withdrawal, wallet loading, alcohol/wine shops (MCC-based). If those categories are a big share of your monthly outgo, your effective return will be well below the advertised rate.
Does the Union UNICORN RuPay Credit Card offer airport lounge access?
Yes — 8 domestic and 2 international complimentary visits a year.
What does the Union UNICORN RuPay Credit Card charge on foreign currency spends?
A 3% markup, plus 18% GST on that markup, so about 3.54% effectively. On a ₹1 lakh foreign spend that is roughly ₹3,540.
Do reward points on the Union UNICORN RuPay Credit Card expire?
No — points on this card do not carry a stated expiry. That does not protect you from devaluation, only from lapse.
Is there a cap on rewards from the Union UNICORN RuPay Credit Card?
Yes. The tightest is online shopping at ₹250 of rewards a month, which you hit at about ₹25,000 of monthly spend in that category. Caps reset each statement month and unused headroom does not carry forward.
What milestone benefits does the Union UNICORN RuPay Credit Card offer?
Additional 2,000 reward points (~Rs.500) on Rs.1L annual spend at ₹1 lakh of annual spend (worth about ₹500); Additional 2,000 reward points on Rs.5L annual spend (repeats every Rs.1L) at ₹5 lakh of annual spend (worth about ₹500). Excluded categories usually do not count toward these targets — verify in the card's MITC.
What income do you need for the Union UNICORN RuPay Credit Card?
Union Bank of India states: Minimum gross annual income Rs. 5.00 lakhs (existing-to-bank customer). Banks treat this as a floor, not a guarantee — your credit score, existing card limits and internal risk scoring decide the outcome.
Is the Union UNICORN RuPay Credit Card annual fee tax-deductible, and are reward points taxable?
For a salaried cardholder the fee is a personal expense and is not deductible. If the card is used genuinely for business or professional spends, the fee and GST can be claimed as a business expense (and the GST as input credit where the card is billed to a GST-registered entity). Reward points earned in proportion to your own spending are generally treated as a post-purchase discount, not income, so they are not taxed in your hands.
Is TCS applicable on Union UNICORN RuPay Credit Card spends abroad?
Tax Collected at Source under the Liberalised Remittance Scheme applies at 20% above the ₹10 lakh annual threshold for remittances and forex card loads. International spends on Indian credit cards have so far been kept outside the LRS pending notification, so no TCS is deducted at the point of sale today. This has been changed and deferred more than once — confirm the current position with Union Bank of India before a large overseas spend. Any TCS actually collected is not a cost: it is creditable against your income tax liability and refundable when you file your ITR.
What happens to the Union UNICORN RuPay Credit Card account after the cardholder's death?
A credit card is an unsecured personal liability and cannot be inherited or transferred — the card must be surrendered and closed. Inform Union Bank of India in writing with the death certificate; the outstanding balance becomes payable from the deceased's estate, and the legal heirs are liable only to the extent of the assets they inherit, not personally. Any add-on cards stop working immediately. Unredeemed reward points are normally forfeited on closure, so a family member holding a large balance should redeem while the account is active. Nomination applies to deposits and investments, not to credit cards — but if there is a fixed deposit backing a secured card, the nomination on that FD governs its release.
Similar & Alternative Cards
Explore other top-rated Premium credit cards in India

BOBCARD Eterna

BOBCARD Tiara

Indian Navy Varunah Premium BOBCARD

RESERV Credit Card

HDFC Regalia Gold Credit Card

RBL Bank Signature Banking Credit Card
Related Guides & Tools
Ranked card lists Union UNICORN RuPay Credit Card appears in, plus calculators for card debt decisions
