SBI Card
Paytm SBI Card
Verified Official Data • 2026-07
₹499
₹499
None
3.5%
Annual fee payable: ₹499/yr
Most cards earn ₹0 rewards on fuel (surcharge waiver only).
Frequently excluded from rewards in India.
Spends-to-Rewards Breakdown
Live conversion of your active monthly spends
Yield & Milestone Tracker
1.39%
Is Paytm SBI Card really your best option?
Run your spend profile against all 541 cards in India and see where this one ranks.
Key Specifications
₹499
₹499
None
3.5%
Rewards Structure (2026)
Official earn rates, accelerated multipliers and category caps
All non-excluded general spends
3% cashback on Paytm Travel
2% on other Paytm App
Milestone Benefits
Paytm First Membership renewal voucher
Spend: ₹1,00,000/yrLounge & Travel Perks
None
None
Redemption & Expiry
Exclusion Honesty: This data has been verified against official SBI Card publications. Exclusions and point friction factors are encoded in full to ensure truthful net calculations.
Official Specification Sheet
Verified parameters formatted for mobile reading without horizontal scrolling
Paytm SBI Card Review & Guide (2026)
The Paytm SBI Card by SBI Card operates on a base reward rate of 1% cashback in the entry tier.
Evaluating this card requires looking past the ₹499 joining fee and ₹499 annual fee to assess your real Net Annual Value (NTV). With the live calculator above, verify if your spend meets fee waivers or accelerates rewards in top merchant categories.
Who Benefits Most
- People whose spending is concentrated in flights and hotels — the card's strongest rate at 3% cashback, with no monthly cap stated. 3% cashback on Paytm Travel
- People whose spending is concentrated in online shopping — the card's strongest rate at 2% cashback, with no monthly cap stated. 2% on other Paytm App
- Planners targeting milestones: "Paytm First Membership renewal voucher" pays ₹0 value on ₹1 lakh spend.
Who Should Avoid
- Frequent overseas shoppers: 3.5% forex markup + 18% GST on markup (~4.13%) eats into rewards.
- Light spenders: ₹499 annual fee has no spend waiver and recurs yearly.
- Occasional users: points expire after 24 months.
- Anyone revolving balances: credit card interest in India runs 36–45% + 18% GST, erasing all rewards.
Hidden Charges & Fine Print
GST sits on top of quoted fees
Listed fees exclude GST. You pay ₹589 joining and ₹589 annually. 18% GST is never waived.
Forex markup is effectively 4.13%
18% GST applies to the 3.5% markup. Always decline Dynamic Currency Conversion (billing in INR) abroad.
Standard MITC fees
Cash withdrawal fee (2.5% min ₹500), over-limit charges, late payment charges, rent/wallet fee.
Tax Implications
GST on Fees: All quoted fees exclude 18% GST. The ₹499 joining fee bills as ₹589 and renewal as ₹589.
Reward Points Taxability: Points earned from personal spending are considered discounts and are not taxed. Business rewards may attract TDS under Section 194R if gifts exceed ₹20,000/year.
LRS & TCS: International spends on Indian cards are currently exempted from 20% LRS TCS pending central notification.
Eligibility & Documentation
- Age 21–60 (salaried) or up to 65 (self-employed).
- CIBIL score 750+ recommended.
- Income: As assessed by bank.
- PAN card + Aadhaar/Passport.
- Last 3 months salary slips / Form 16 / ITR.
How to Apply
- Check for pre-approved offers in net banking to skip documentation.
- Confirm latest fees and exclusions on the official page.
- Apply online with PAN and Aadhaar for video KYC.
- Set full auto-debit on the due date immediately upon receipt.
Paytm SBI Card — FAQs
Verified official answers • Updated 2026-07
The fee is ₹499 + 18% GST (₹589 total). No spend-based waiver published.
Similar Cards to Consider
Alternative cards in the entry tier and SBI Card portfolio
Related Calculators & Guides
SBI CardPaytm SBI Card
Verified Official Data • Last updated 2026-07

Net Value Calculator
Drag sliders to estimate this card's annual value based on your actual spending habits.
Is Paytm SBI Card actually your best option?
Run the same spend against all 541 cards and see where this one ranks.
Key Specifications & Core Privileges
Issuance fees, spend waiver thresholds, forex markup, and complimentary airport lounge access.
₹499
+ GST₹499
Per year + GSTNo Waiver
Non-waivable fee3.5%
Cross-currency markupNone
No domestic accessNone
No international accessRewards Structure & Redemption
Verified earn rates, accelerated multipliers, point conversion valuation, and redemption policies for 2026.
Applies to all non-excluded offline, general retail, and miscellaneous spends.
Auto statement credit (1/5 friction)
24 months validity
Accelerated Category Multipliers (2)
3% cashback on Paytm Travel
2% on other Paytm App
Privileges, Milestones & Card Perks
Welcome bonuses, annual renewal rewards, milestone spend targets, and exclusive lifestyle memberships.
Welcome & Milestone Benefits
Paytm First Membership renewal voucher
Complimentary Lifestyle & Travel Privileges (2)
Paytm First Membership
Cyber Fraud Insurance Rs.1,00,000
Eligibility, Governance & Data Verification
Applicant eligibility criteria, devaluation tracking history, and verified source citations.
Standard bank credit criteria applies
visa • mastercard • rupay
This card's data has been audited directly against official SBI Card Key Fact Statements (KFS) and published schedule of charges. Point valuations include real redemption friction factors to compute true net financial value.
Official Specification Sheet
Comprehensive rules, fees, and parameters verified directly against issuer details.
| Feature | Paytm SBI CardSBI Card |
|---|---|
| Joining fee | ₹499 |
| Annual fee | ₹499/yr |
| Fee waiver | No waiver |
| Base reward | 1% cashback |
| Top reward categories | 3% travel, 2% online |
| Redemption friction | Auto credit |
| Point expiry | 24 months |
| Lounge access | None |
| Forex markup | 3.5% |
| Fuel surcharge | 1% waiver, up to ₹100/mo |
| Min income · salaried | Not stated |
| Min income · self-employed | Not stated |
| Eligibility (as stated) | Not stated |
| Recent devaluations | None recorded |
| Verified against | Updated 2026-07Official SBI Card Credit Card Page |
Detailed Paytm SBI Card Credit Card Review & Spends Guide (2026)
The Paytm SBI Card by SBI Card is a prominent credit card in the Indian market, categorized under the entry tier. Offering a base rewards engine of 1% cashback, this card targets users looking to optimize their personal finances.
When evaluating the real-world value of the Paytm SBI Card, it's essential to look beyond the joining fee of ₹499 and annual fee of ₹499. With our real-time calculator above, you can map out your monthly category spends (online shopping, dining, travel, utilities, groceries, etc.) to see if you can trigger the spend-based annual fee waiver of N/A, which determines your true Net Annual Value (NTV).
Rewards Potential & Category Multipliers
For accelerated spenders, the Paytm SBI Card features key reward multipliers:
- 3% on travel spends (uncapped).
- 2% on online spends (uncapped).
Lounge Access & Extra Perks
Perks add immense value that calculations often leave out. The Paytm SBI Card offers:
- Domestic Lounges: No domestic lounge visits available.
- International Lounges: No international lounge visits available.
Points Redemption and Point Expiry
Earning points is only half the battle. Redemptions are subject to a friction index of 1/5 (representing Auto statement credit (1/5 friction)). Points are valid for 24 months.
Who the Paytm SBI Card benefits the most
Derived from this card's actual earn rates, caps and perks — not a generic profile.
- People whose spending is concentrated in flights and hotels — the card's strongest rate at 3% cashback, with no monthly cap stated. 3% cashback on Paytm Travel
- People whose spending is concentrated in online shopping — the card's strongest rate at 2% cashback, with no monthly cap stated. 2% on other Paytm App
- Planners who can steer spends to a target: the biggest milestone here is "Paytm First Membership renewal voucher" — ₹1 lakh of annual spend for ₹0 of value.
- People who never get around to redeeming. Redemption friction here is 1/5, so rewards convert with little effort instead of rotting in a points balance.
- Daily drivers: the 1% fuel surcharge waiver is capped at ₹100/month, which covers roughly ₹10,000 of monthly fuel spend.
Who should avoid the Paytm SBI Card
The cases where this card quietly costs more than it pays back.
- Travellers and overseas online shoppers. The 3.5% forex markup plus 18% GST on that markup works out to about 4.13% on every foreign-currency transaction — usually more than the rewards you earn on it.
- Light spenders. The ₹499 annual fee (₹589 after GST) has no spend-based waiver, so you pay it every year regardless. At the base rate of 1% cashback you need roughly ₹58,882 of annual spend just to break even.
- Occasional users. Points expire after 24 months (2.0 years), so a slow-accumulating balance can lapse before it is large enough to redeem.
- Frequent flyers looking for airport comfort. This card carries no complimentary lounge access.
- Anyone who revolves a balance. Credit card interest in India typically runs 36–45% a year plus 18% GST on the interest — that erases every reward this card can pay, on any spending pattern.
Hidden charges and fine print on the Paytm SBI Card
The costs that sit below the marketing page, verified against SBI Card disclosures dated 2026-07.
GST sits on top of every fee you were quoted
The listed ₹499 joining fee and ₹499 annual fee exclude GST. You actually pay ₹589 up front and ₹589 at each renewal. The 18% GST is never waived, even when the bank waives the fee itself on spend — check your statement.
Forex markup of 3.5% is really 4.13%
GST at 18% applies to the markup, so 3.5% becomes about 4.13% in real terms. Also decline Dynamic Currency Conversion at foreign terminals: paying "in INR" adds another 3–5% on top of this.
Points expire in 24 months
Rewards are not a savings account. Anything unredeemed after 24 months lapses silently, and banks are not obliged to remind you. Set a calendar reminder to redeem at least once a year.
Fuel surcharge waiver has a monthly ceiling
The 1% waiver is capped at ₹100 per statement month, and the surcharge is usually reversed as a credit in the next cycle rather than netted off at the pump. Transactions outside the bank's stated per-transaction band may not qualify at all.
Charges every Indian card carries
Cash withdrawal fees (typically 2.5% of the amount, minimum ₹500) with interest from day one and no interest-free period, late payment fees graded by outstanding balance, over-limit charges, EMI conversion processing fees and interest, rent-payment and wallet-load fees, and payment-return charges. These are listed in the bank's MITC document, not in the marketing page — read it once before you apply.
Tax implications of the Paytm SBI Card
Indian tax treatment of the fees, rewards and foreign spends on this specific card.
GST on fees and charges. Every fee quoted on this page excludes GST. The ₹499 joining fee bills as ₹589 and the ₹499 renewal as ₹589. GST also applies to interest, late payment fees, cash advance fees and the forex markup — it is not a one-off on the fee alone.
Are the reward points taxable? Points or cashback earned in proportion to your own spending are treated as a post-purchase discount rather than income, so a salaried individual does not pay tax on them. The cashback on this card reduces the cost of what you bought; it is not "other income" in your ITR. Two exceptions matter: benefits received from a business relationship (not from your own spending) can attract TDS at 10% under section 194R where the value exceeds ₹20,000 in a year, and a gift or voucher received from the bank with no link to your spending can be taxable under section 56(2)(x) if total gifts from non-relatives cross ₹50,000 in a year.
Milestone vouchers on this card. The "Paytm First Membership renewal voucher" benefit is earned against spending, so it is treated the same way as reward points — a discount, not taxable income. If those spends were claimed as business expenses, reduce the expense claim by the benefit value instead of showing it as income.
Is the annual fee deductible? Not for a salaried cardholder — it is a personal expense. If the card is genuinely used for business or professional spends, the ₹589 renewal is an allowable business expense under section 37(1), and a GST-registered business billed in its own name can claim the ₹90 GST as input tax credit.
Foreign spends, TCS and the LRS. The 3.5% markup attracts 18% GST, making it about 4.13% effectively. TCS under the Liberalised Remittance Scheme runs at 20% above ₹10 lakh of remittances in a financial year; international credit card spends have so far been kept outside the LRS pending notification, so no TCS is deducted at the till today. Where TCS is collected on any remittance, it is not a sunk cost — it is creditable against your tax liability and refundable through your ITR.
Spends the tax department can see. Aggregate credit card payments of ₹10 lakh or more in a financial year (₹1 lakh or more if paid in cash) are reported by SBI Card in the Statement of Financial Transactions and show up in your AIS. That is not a tax by itself, but the spending should be consistent with the income you declare.
Eligibility and documents for the Paytm SBI Card
SBI Card does not publish a numeric income requirement for this entry-tier card.
Eligibility
- Income: SBI Card does not publish a figure for this card. Expect the usual entry-level threshold of roughly ₹20,000–₹30,000 a month, confirmed at application.
- Age: typically 21 to 60 for salaried applicants and up to 65 for self-employed; add-on cards from 18.
- Credit score: a CIBIL score of 750+ materially improves approval odds on any card, including this one.
- Residency: resident Indian with a verifiable address in a city SBI Card services.
Documents required
- Identity: PAN card (mandatory) plus Aadhaar, passport, voter ID or driving licence.
- Address: Aadhaar, passport, utility bill or registered rent agreement.
- Income (salaried): last 3 months' salary slips and 3–6 months' bank statements showing salary credit; Form 16 for the latest year.
- Income (self-employed): latest 1–2 years' ITR with computation, audited financials where applicable, and 6 months' current account statements.
- Photograph: one recent passport-size photo (often skipped in a full digital journey).
- Existing SBI Card customers with a salary or pre-approved relationship usually skip the income documents entirely.
Nomination note: a credit card has no nominee — nomination applies to deposits and investments. What matters here is that your family knows the card exists and knows the outstanding, so it can be settled from the estate promptly instead of accruing interest and late fees after the fact.
How to apply for the Paytm SBI Card
- Check for a pre-approved offer first. Log in to SBI Card net banking or the mobile app. A pre-approved journey skips income documents and, more importantly, avoids a hard enquiry on your credit report if you are declined.
- Confirm the current fee and rates on the official page before applying — banks revise these without much notice.
- Apply online with PAN, Aadhaar and employment details, or walk into a SBI Card branch if your income profile needs manual assessment.
- Complete KYC. Most issuers now offer video KYC that finishes in minutes; physical verification adds a few days.
- Confirm the credit limit before activating. The limit determines how much of your spending you can actually route here, which is what the reward maths above assumes.
- Set a full-payment auto-debit on the due date the day the card arrives. Interest of 36–45% a year plus GST is the single fastest way to turn this card into a loss.
Paytm SBI Card — frequently asked questions
Answers use this card's own numbers, verified 2026-07.
What is the annual fee for the Paytm SBI Card, and can it be waived?
The annual fee is ₹499 plus 18% GST, so ₹589 actually leaves your account. SBI Card does not publish a spend-based waiver for this card, so the fee recurs every year.
How much do you actually earn on the Paytm SBI Card?
The base rate is 1% cashback. The accelerated categories are flights and hotels at 3% cashback, online shopping at 2% cashback.
Does the Paytm SBI Card offer airport lounge access?
No. This card carries no complimentary lounge visits. If lounge access matters to you, look at a card that states a visit count in writing.
What does the Paytm SBI Card charge on foreign currency spends?
A 3.5% markup, plus 18% GST on that markup, so about 4.13% effectively. On a ₹1 lakh foreign spend that is roughly ₹4,130.
Do reward points on the Paytm SBI Card expire?
Yes, after 24 months from the date they are earned. Redeem at least annually so nothing lapses.
What milestone benefits does the Paytm SBI Card offer?
Paytm First Membership renewal voucher at ₹1 lakh of annual spend (worth about ₹0). Excluded categories usually do not count toward these targets — verify in the card's MITC.
Is the Paytm SBI Card annual fee tax-deductible, and are reward points taxable?
For a salaried cardholder the fee is a personal expense and is not deductible. If the card is used genuinely for business or professional spends, the fee and GST can be claimed as a business expense (and the GST as input credit where the card is billed to a GST-registered entity). Reward points earned in proportion to your own spending are generally treated as a post-purchase discount, not income, so they are not taxed in your hands.
Is TCS applicable on Paytm SBI Card spends abroad?
Tax Collected at Source under the Liberalised Remittance Scheme applies at 20% above the ₹10 lakh annual threshold for remittances and forex card loads. International spends on Indian credit cards have so far been kept outside the LRS pending notification, so no TCS is deducted at the point of sale today. This has been changed and deferred more than once — confirm the current position with SBI Card before a large overseas spend. Any TCS actually collected is not a cost: it is creditable against your income tax liability and refundable when you file your ITR.
What happens to the Paytm SBI Card account after the cardholder's death?
A credit card is an unsecured personal liability and cannot be inherited or transferred — the card must be surrendered and closed. Inform SBI Card in writing with the death certificate; the outstanding balance becomes payable from the deceased's estate, and the legal heirs are liable only to the extent of the assets they inherit, not personally. Any add-on cards stop working immediately. Unredeemed reward points are normally forfeited on closure, so a family member holding a large balance should redeem while the account is active. Nomination applies to deposits and investments, not to credit cards — but if there is a fixed deposit backing a secured card, the nomination on that FD governs its release.
Similar & Alternative Cards
Explore other top-rated Entry-level credit cards in India

Tata Neu Plus HDFC Bank Credit Card

PhonePe HDFC Bank Uno Credit Card

SimplyCLICK SBI Card

SimplySAVE SBI Card

BPCL SBI Card

Tata Neu Plus SBI Credit Card
Related Guides & Tools
Ranked card lists Paytm SBI Card appears in, plus calculators for card debt decisions
