IDFC FIRST Bank
IDFC FIRST Classic Credit Card
Verified Official Data • 2026-07
Nil
Lifetime Free
None
3.5%
Most cards earn ₹0 rewards on fuel (surcharge waiver only).
Frequently excluded from rewards in India.
Spends-to-Rewards Breakdown
Live conversion of your active monthly spends
Yield & Milestone Tracker
0.12%
Is IDFC FIRST Classic Credit Card really your best option?
Run your spend profile against all 541 cards in India and see where this one ranks.
Key Specifications
Nil
Lifetime Free
None
3.5%
Devaluation Log & History
Features/T&Cs revised eff. 18 June 2026
Rewards Structure (2026)
Official earn rates, accelerated multipliers and category caps
All non-excluded general spends
10X Reward Points
No points on fuel, EMI, cash withdrawals; rent/government/education also excluded from 10X
Lounge & Travel Perks
None
None
Redemption & Expiry
Eligibility Criteria
Exclusion Honesty: This data has been verified against official IDFC FIRST Bank publications. Exclusions and point friction factors are encoded in full to ensure truthful net calculations.
Official Specification Sheet
Verified parameters formatted for mobile reading without horizontal scrolling
IDFC FIRST Classic Credit Card Review & Guide (2026)
The IDFC FIRST Classic Credit Card by IDFC FIRST Bank operates on a base reward rate of 0.375 reward points per ₹100 in the entry tier.
Evaluating this card requires looking past the ₹0 joining fee and ₹0 annual fee to assess your real Net Annual Value (NTV). With the live calculator above, verify if your spend meets fee waivers or accelerates rewards in top merchant categories.
Who Benefits Most
- People whose spending is concentrated in dining, flights and hotels — the card's strongest rate at 1.25 points per ₹100, with no monthly cap stated. 10X Reward Points
- Anyone who refuses to pay for a card: with a ₹0 annual fee, there is no break-even to chase.
Who Should Avoid
- Anyone whose spending is heavy on fuel. These earn zero rewards. No points on fuel, EMI, cash withdrawals; rent/government/education also excluded from 10X
- Frequent overseas shoppers: 3.5% forex markup + 18% GST on markup (~4.13%) eats into rewards.
- Occasional users: points expire after 24 months.
- Anyone revolving balances: credit card interest in India runs 36–45% + 18% GST, erasing all rewards.
Hidden Charges & Fine Print
Forex markup is effectively 4.13%
18% GST applies to the 3.5% markup. Always decline Dynamic Currency Conversion (billing in INR) abroad.
Standard MITC fees
Cash withdrawal fee (2.5% min ₹500), over-limit charges, late payment charges, rent/wallet fee.
Tax Implications
GST on Fees: All quoted fees exclude 18% GST. The ₹0 joining fee bills as ₹0 and renewal as ₹0.
Reward Points Taxability: Points earned from personal spending are considered discounts and are not taxed. Business rewards may attract TDS under Section 194R if gifts exceed ₹20,000/year.
LRS & TCS: International spends on Indian cards are currently exempted from 20% LRS TCS pending central notification.
Eligibility & Documentation
- Age 21–60 (salaried) or up to 65 (self-employed).
- CIBIL score 750+ recommended.
- Income: Rs.3 lakhs or more annual income.
- PAN card + Aadhaar/Passport.
- Last 3 months salary slips / Form 16 / ITR.
How to Apply
- Check for pre-approved offers in net banking to skip documentation.
- Confirm latest fees and exclusions on the official page.
- Apply online with PAN and Aadhaar for video KYC.
- Set full auto-debit on the due date immediately upon receipt.
IDFC FIRST Classic Credit Card — FAQs
Verified official answers • Updated 2026-07
IDFC FIRST Classic Credit Card is Lifetime Free with no annual fee.
Similar Cards to Consider
Alternative cards in the entry tier and IDFC FIRST Bank portfolio
Related Calculators & Guides
IDFC FIRST BankIDFC FIRST Classic Credit Card
Verified Official Data • Last updated 2026-07

Net Value Calculator
Drag sliders to estimate this card's annual value based on your actual spending habits.
Is IDFC FIRST Classic Credit Card actually your best option?
Run the same spend against all 541 cards and see where this one ranks.
Key Specifications & Core Privileges
Issuance fees, spend waiver thresholds, forex markup, and complimentary airport lounge access.
Free
Zero feeLifetime Free
Zero ongoing feesNo Waiver
Lifetime free card3.5%
Cross-currency markupNone
No domestic accessNone
No international accessRewards Structure & Redemption
Verified earn rates, accelerated multipliers, point conversion valuation, and redemption policies for 2026.
Applies to all non-excluded offline, general retail, and miscellaneous spends.
Instant digital redemption (2/5 friction)
24 months validity
Accelerated Category Multipliers (4)
10X Reward Points
No points on fuel, EMI, cash withdrawals; rent/government/education also excluded from 10X
Privileges, Milestones & Card Perks
Welcome bonuses, annual renewal rewards, milestone spend targets, and exclusive lifestyle memberships.
Complimentary Lifestyle & Travel Privileges (2)
4 railway lounge visits/quarter
25% off movie tickets up to Rs.100/month
Eligibility, Governance & Data Verification
Applicant eligibility criteria, devaluation tracking history, and verified source citations.
Rs.3 lakhs or more annual income
visa
Features/T&Cs revised eff. 18 June 2026
This card's data has been audited directly against official IDFC FIRST Bank Key Fact Statements (KFS) and published schedule of charges. Point valuations include real redemption friction factors to compute true net financial value.
Official Specification Sheet
Comprehensive rules, fees, and parameters verified directly against issuer details.
| Feature | IDFC FIRST Classic Credit CardIDFC FIRST Bank |
|---|---|
| Joining fee | Nil |
| Annual fee | Lifetime free |
| Fee waiver | — |
| Base reward | 0.375 pts / ₹100 |
| Top reward categories | 1.25x dining, 1.25x travel, 0.125x utilities |
| Redemption friction | Easy |
| Point expiry | 24 months |
| Lounge access | None |
| Forex markup | 3.5% |
| Fuel surcharge | 1% waiver, up to ₹200/mo |
| Min income · salaried | Not stated |
| Min income · self-employed | Not stated |
| Eligibility (as stated) | Rs.3 lakhs or more annual income |
| Recent devaluations |
|
| Verified against | Updated 2026-07Official IDFC FIRST Bank Credit Card Page |
Detailed IDFC FIRST Classic Credit Card Credit Card Review & Spends Guide (2026)
The IDFC FIRST Classic Credit Card by IDFC FIRST Bank is a prominent credit card in the Indian market, categorized under the entry tier. Offering a base rewards engine of 0.375 reward points per ₹100, this card targets users looking to optimize their personal finances.
When evaluating the real-world value of the IDFC FIRST Classic Credit Card, it's essential to look beyond the joining fee of ₹0 and annual fee of ₹0. With our real-time calculator above, you can map out your monthly category spends (online shopping, dining, travel, utilities, groceries, etc.) to see if you can trigger the spend-based annual fee waiver of N/A, which determines your true Net Annual Value (NTV).
Rewards Potential & Category Multipliers
For accelerated spenders, the IDFC FIRST Classic Credit Card features key reward multipliers:
- 1.25x on dining spends (uncapped).
- 1.25x on travel spends (uncapped).
- 0.125x on utilities spends (uncapped).
- 0.125x on insurance spends (uncapped).
- Exclusions: No rewards are earned on fuel categories.
Lounge Access & Extra Perks
Perks add immense value that calculations often leave out. The IDFC FIRST Classic Credit Card offers:
- Domestic Lounges: No domestic lounge visits available.
- International Lounges: No international lounge visits available.
Points Redemption and Point Expiry
Earning points is only half the battle. Redemptions are subject to a friction index of 2/5 (representing Instant digital redemption (2/5 friction)). Points are valid for 24 months.
Who the IDFC FIRST Classic Credit Card benefits the most
Derived from this card's actual earn rates, caps and perks — not a generic profile.
- People whose spending is concentrated in dining, flights and hotels — the card's strongest rate at 1.25 points per ₹100, with no monthly cap stated. 10X Reward Points
- Anyone who refuses to pay for a card. With a ₹0 annual fee and ₹0 joining fee, there is no break-even to chase — every rupee of reward is profit.
- People who never get around to redeeming. Redemption friction here is 2/5, so rewards convert with little effort instead of rotting in a points balance.
- Daily drivers: the 1% fuel surcharge waiver is capped at ₹200/month, which covers roughly ₹20,000 of monthly fuel spend.
Who should avoid the IDFC FIRST Classic Credit Card
The cases where this card quietly costs more than it pays back.
- Anyone whose spending is heavy on fuel. These categories earn absolutely nothing on this card — not a reduced rate, zero. No points on fuel, EMI, cash withdrawals; rent/government/education also excluded from 10X
- Travellers and overseas online shoppers. The 3.5% forex markup plus 18% GST on that markup works out to about 4.13% on every foreign-currency transaction — usually more than the rewards you earn on it.
- Occasional users. Points expire after 24 months (2.0 years), so a slow-accumulating balance can lapse before it is large enough to redeem.
- Anyone building a long-term strategy around one benefit. This card has been devalued 1 time on record — most recently in 2026-06: Features/T&Cs revised eff. 18 June 2026 Assume today's rates are not permanent.
- Frequent flyers looking for airport comfort. This card carries no complimentary lounge access.
- Anyone reading the headline points rate literally. Each point is worth only ₹0.25, so "0.375 points per ₹100" is really about 0.09% back in value.
- Anyone who revolves a balance. Credit card interest in India typically runs 36–45% a year plus 18% GST on the interest — that erases every reward this card can pay, on any spending pattern.
Hidden charges and fine print on the IDFC FIRST Classic Credit Card
The costs that sit below the marketing page, verified against IDFC FIRST Bank disclosures dated 2026-07.
Forex markup of 3.5% is really 4.13%
GST at 18% applies to the markup, so 3.5% becomes about 4.13% in real terms. Also decline Dynamic Currency Conversion at foreign terminals: paying "in INR" adds another 3–5% on top of this.
Spends that earn zero
fuel earn no rewards at all. No points on fuel, EMI, cash withdrawals; rent/government/education also excluded from 10X These excluded spends also frequently fail to count toward fee-waiver and milestone targets, so check the MITC before routing large payments here to "hit the target".
Points expire in 24 months
Rewards are not a savings account. Anything unredeemed after 24 months lapses silently, and banks are not obliged to remind you. Set a calendar reminder to redeem at least once a year.
Fuel surcharge waiver has a monthly ceiling
The 1% waiver is capped at ₹200 per statement month, and the surcharge is usually reversed as a credit in the next cycle rather than netted off at the pump. Transactions outside the bank's stated per-transaction band may not qualify at all.
Charges every Indian card carries
Cash withdrawal fees (typically 2.5% of the amount, minimum ₹500) with interest from day one and no interest-free period, late payment fees graded by outstanding balance, over-limit charges, EMI conversion processing fees and interest, rent-payment and wallet-load fees, and payment-return charges. These are listed in the bank's MITC document, not in the marketing page — read it once before you apply.
Tax implications of the IDFC FIRST Classic Credit Card
Indian tax treatment of the fees, rewards and foreign spends on this specific card.
GST on fees and charges. This card has no joining or annual fee, so there is no GST on fees to pay. GST at 18% still applies to any interest, late payment fee, cash advance fee, EMI processing fee and the forex markup you incur.
Are the reward points taxable? Points or cashback earned in proportion to your own spending are treated as a post-purchase discount rather than income, so a salaried individual does not pay tax on them. The same applies to the points here, valued at ₹0.25 per point on redemption. Two exceptions matter: benefits received from a business relationship (not from your own spending) can attract TDS at 10% under section 194R where the value exceeds ₹20,000 in a year, and a gift or voucher received from the bank with no link to your spending can be taxable under section 56(2)(x) if total gifts from non-relatives cross ₹50,000 in a year.
Is the annual fee deductible? There is no annual fee on this card, so the question does not arise. Any GST-bearing charges you do incur follow the same rule below.
Foreign spends, TCS and the LRS. The 3.5% markup attracts 18% GST, making it about 4.13% effectively. TCS under the Liberalised Remittance Scheme runs at 20% above ₹10 lakh of remittances in a financial year; international credit card spends have so far been kept outside the LRS pending notification, so no TCS is deducted at the till today. Where TCS is collected on any remittance, it is not a sunk cost — it is creditable against your tax liability and refundable through your ITR.
Spends the tax department can see. Aggregate credit card payments of ₹10 lakh or more in a financial year (₹1 lakh or more if paid in cash) are reported by IDFC FIRST Bank in the Statement of Financial Transactions and show up in your AIS. That is not a tax by itself, but the spending should be consistent with the income you declare.
Eligibility and documents for the IDFC FIRST Classic Credit Card
IDFC FIRST Bank's stated criteria, verified 2026-07.
Eligibility
- Income: Rs.3 lakhs or more annual income (as stated by IDFC FIRST Bank).
- Age: typically 21 to 60 for salaried applicants and up to 65 for self-employed; add-on cards from 18.
- Credit score: a CIBIL score of 750+ materially improves approval odds on any card, including this one.
- Residency: resident Indian with a verifiable address in a city IDFC FIRST Bank services.
Documents required
- Identity: PAN card (mandatory) plus Aadhaar, passport, voter ID or driving licence.
- Address: Aadhaar, passport, utility bill or registered rent agreement.
- Income (salaried): last 3 months' salary slips and 3–6 months' bank statements showing salary credit; Form 16 for the latest year.
- Income (self-employed): latest 1–2 years' ITR with computation, audited financials where applicable, and 6 months' current account statements.
- Photograph: one recent passport-size photo (often skipped in a full digital journey).
- Existing IDFC FIRST Bank customers with a salary or pre-approved relationship usually skip the income documents entirely.
Nomination note: a credit card has no nominee — nomination applies to deposits and investments. What matters here is that your family knows the card exists and knows the outstanding, so it can be settled from the estate promptly instead of accruing interest and late fees after the fact.
How to apply for the IDFC FIRST Classic Credit Card
- Check for a pre-approved offer first. Log in to IDFC FIRST Bank net banking or the mobile app. A pre-approved journey skips income documents and, more importantly, avoids a hard enquiry on your credit report if you are declined.
- Confirm the current fee and rates on the official page before applying — banks revise these without much notice, and this card has already been revised 1 time on record.
- Apply online with PAN, Aadhaar and employment details, or walk into a IDFC FIRST Bank branch if your income profile needs manual assessment.
- Complete KYC. Most issuers now offer video KYC that finishes in minutes; physical verification adds a few days.
- Confirm the credit limit before activating. The limit determines how much of your spending you can actually route here, which is what the reward maths above assumes.
- Set a full-payment auto-debit on the due date the day the card arrives. Interest of 36–45% a year plus GST is the single fastest way to turn this card into a loss.
IDFC FIRST Classic Credit Card — frequently asked questions
Answers use this card's own numbers, verified 2026-07.
What is the annual fee for the IDFC FIRST Classic Credit Card, and can it be waived?
The IDFC FIRST Classic Credit Card has no annual fee and no joining fee. There is nothing to waive and no break-even spend to worry about.
How much do you actually earn on the IDFC FIRST Classic Credit Card?
The base rate is 0.375 points per ₹100, and each point is worth ₹0.25 at the best redemption — roughly 0.09% in value. The accelerated categories are dining at 1.25 points per ₹100.
Which spends earn no rewards on the IDFC FIRST Classic Credit Card?
fuel earn zero. No points on fuel, EMI, cash withdrawals; rent/government/education also excluded from 10X If those categories are a big share of your monthly outgo, your effective return will be well below the advertised rate.
Does the IDFC FIRST Classic Credit Card offer airport lounge access?
No. This card carries no complimentary lounge visits. If lounge access matters to you, look at a card that states a visit count in writing.
What does the IDFC FIRST Classic Credit Card charge on foreign currency spends?
A 3.5% markup, plus 18% GST on that markup, so about 4.13% effectively. On a ₹1 lakh foreign spend that is roughly ₹4,130.
Do reward points on the IDFC FIRST Classic Credit Card expire?
Yes, after 24 months from the date they are earned. Redeem at least annually so nothing lapses.
What income do you need for the IDFC FIRST Classic Credit Card?
IDFC FIRST Bank states: Rs.3 lakhs or more annual income. Banks treat this as a floor, not a guarantee — your credit score, existing card limits and internal risk scoring decide the outcome.
Is the IDFC FIRST Classic Credit Card annual fee tax-deductible, and are reward points taxable?
For a salaried cardholder the fee is a personal expense and is not deductible. If the card is used genuinely for business or professional spends, the fee and GST can be claimed as a business expense (and the GST as input credit where the card is billed to a GST-registered entity). Reward points earned in proportion to your own spending are generally treated as a post-purchase discount, not income, so they are not taxed in your hands.
Is TCS applicable on IDFC FIRST Classic Credit Card spends abroad?
Tax Collected at Source under the Liberalised Remittance Scheme applies at 20% above the ₹10 lakh annual threshold for remittances and forex card loads. International spends on Indian credit cards have so far been kept outside the LRS pending notification, so no TCS is deducted at the point of sale today. This has been changed and deferred more than once — confirm the current position with IDFC FIRST Bank before a large overseas spend. Any TCS actually collected is not a cost: it is creditable against your income tax liability and refundable when you file your ITR.
What happens to the IDFC FIRST Classic Credit Card account after the cardholder's death?
A credit card is an unsecured personal liability and cannot be inherited or transferred — the card must be surrendered and closed. Inform IDFC FIRST Bank in writing with the death certificate; the outstanding balance becomes payable from the deceased's estate, and the legal heirs are liable only to the extent of the assets they inherit, not personally. Any add-on cards stop working immediately. Unredeemed reward points are normally forfeited on closure, so a family member holding a large balance should redeem while the account is active. Nomination applies to deposits and investments, not to credit cards — but if there is a fixed deposit backing a secured card, the nomination on that FD governs its release.
Similar & Alternative Cards
Explore other top-rated Entry-level credit cards in India

Amazon Pay ICICI Bank Credit Card

ICICI Platinum Chip Credit Card

ICICI Bank Parakram Credit Card

Google Pay Flex Axis Bank Credit Card

Axis Bank MY Zone Easy Credit Card

IndianOil Easy Axis Bank Credit Card
Related Guides & Tools
Ranked card lists IDFC FIRST Classic Credit Card appears in, plus calculators for card debt decisions
