Axis Bank
Axis Bank Primus Credit Card
Verified Official Data • 2026-10
₹5,00,000
₹3,00,000
None
0%
Annual fee payable: ₹3,00,000/yr
Most cards earn ₹0 rewards on fuel (surcharge waiver only).
Frequently excluded from rewards in India.
Spends-to-Rewards Breakdown
Live conversion of your active monthly spends
Yield & Milestone Tracker
-46.42%
Is Axis Bank Primus Credit Card really your best option?
Run your spend profile against all 524 cards in India and see where this one ranks.
Key Specifications
₹5,00,000
₹3,00,000
None
0%
Rewards Structure (2026)
Official earn rates, accelerated multipliers and category caps
All non-excluded general spends
Milestone Benefits
Welcome offer: 25,000 EDGE Miles on joining
Spend: ₹0/yrLounge & Travel Perks
Unlimited
Unlimited
Redemption & Expiry
1 EDGE Mile = 5 Partner Miles for airline/hotel loyalty transfer (official T&C: 'iii. 1 EDGE Mile is equal to 5 partner miles'); Travel EDGE bookings, catalogue, and partner-outlet redemptions require minimum 500 EDGE Miles
Eligibility Criteria
Exclusion Honesty: This data has been verified against official Axis Bank publications. Exclusions and point friction factors are encoded in full to ensure truthful net calculations.
Official Specification Sheet
Verified parameters formatted for mobile reading without horizontal scrolling
Axis Bank Primus Credit Card Review & Guide (2026)
The Axis Bank Primus Credit Card by Axis Bank operates on a base reward rate of 1 reward points per ₹100 in the super-premium tier.
Evaluating this card requires looking past the ₹5,00,000 joining fee and ₹3,00,000 annual fee to assess your real Net Annual Value (NTV). With the live calculator above, verify if your spend meets fee waivers or accelerates rewards in top merchant categories.
Who Benefits Most
- People who want one flat, no-thinking rate: every eligible spend earns 1 point per ₹100 (about 1.00% in value at best redemption), with no category tracking.
- Frequent flyers: unlimited domestic and unlimited international lounge visits a year (unlimited access).
- International spenders: low 0% forex markup vs standard 3.5% on other cards.
- Planners targeting milestones: "Welcome offer: 25,000 EDGE Miles on joining" pays ₹25,000 value on ₹0 spend.
Who Should Avoid
- Light spenders: ₹3,00,000 annual fee has no spend waiver and recurs yearly.
- Anyone revolving balances: credit card interest in India runs 36–45% + 18% GST, erasing all rewards.
Hidden Charges & Fine Print
GST sits on top of quoted fees
Listed fees exclude GST. You pay ₹5,90,000 joining and ₹3,54,000 annually. 18% GST is never waived.
Forex markup is effectively 0.00%
18% GST applies to the 0% markup. Always decline Dynamic Currency Conversion (billing in INR) abroad.
Lounge access spend condition
Unlimited domestic + international for primary & add-on cardholders; 12 complimentary domestic guest visits per calendar year
Standard MITC fees
Cash withdrawal fee (2.5% min ₹500), over-limit charges, late payment charges, rent/wallet fee.
Tax Implications
GST on Fees: All quoted fees exclude 18% GST. The ₹5,00,000 joining fee bills as ₹5,90,000 and renewal as ₹3,54,000.
Reward Points Taxability: Points earned from personal spending are considered discounts and are not taxed. Business rewards may attract TDS under Section 194R if gifts exceed ₹20,000/year.
LRS & TCS: International spends on Indian cards are currently exempted from 20% LRS TCS pending central notification.
Eligibility & Documentation
- Age 21–60 (salaried) or up to 65 (self-employed).
- CIBIL score 750+ recommended.
- Income: Invite-only, ultra-high-net-worth.
- PAN card + Aadhaar/Passport.
- Last 3 months salary slips / Form 16 / ITR.
How to Apply
- Check for pre-approved offers in net banking to skip documentation.
- Confirm latest fees and exclusions on the official page.
- Apply online with PAN and Aadhaar for video KYC.
- Set full auto-debit on the due date immediately upon receipt.
Axis Bank Primus Credit Card — FAQs
Verified official answers • Updated 2026-10
The fee is ₹3,00,000 + 18% GST (₹3,54,000 total). No spend-based waiver published.
Similar Cards to Consider
Alternative cards in the super-premium tier and Axis Bank portfolio
Related Calculators & Guides
Axis BankAxis Bank Primus Credit Card
Verified Official Data • Last updated 2026-10

Net Value Calculator
Drag sliders to estimate this card's annual value based on your actual spending habits.
Your Monthly Spend
₹50,000/moE-Commerce & Online
Daily Essentials
Most cards earn ₹0 rewards on fuel (surcharge waiver only).
Frequently excluded from rewards in India.
Lifestyle, Bills & Other
Almost always earns ₹0 and may carry a fee.
Often excluded or capped.
Savings & Milestones Tracker
-46.42%
Value Yield (Net / Spent)
₹-2,78,520
Annual Net Value
Milestone Benefits
How Your Spends Convert to Rewards
Live calculation breakdown for Axis Bank Primus Credit Card
| Spend Category | Monthly Spend | Reward Rate | Points Earned | Monthly Value | Annual Value | Status / Caps |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Other Online Shopping | ₹6,000/mo | 1 Pts / ₹100 | 60 pts720 pts/yr | ₹60 | ₹720/yr | Active Earn |
Amazon Spends | ₹3,500/mo | 1 Pts / ₹100 | 35 pts420 pts/yr | ₹35 | ₹420/yr | Active Earn |
Flipkart Spends | ₹2,000/mo | 1 Pts / ₹100 | 20 pts240 pts/yr | ₹20 | ₹240/yr | Active Earn |
Dining & Food Delivery | ₹5,000/mo | 1 Pts / ₹100 | 50 pts600 pts/yr | ₹50 | ₹600/yr | Active Earn |
Groceries | ₹7,000/mo | 1 Pts / ₹100 | 70 pts840 pts/yr | ₹70 | ₹840/yr | Active Earn |
Fuel | ₹4,000/mo | 1 Pts / ₹100 | 40 pts480 pts/yr | ₹80(incl. ₹40 waiver) | ₹960/yr | Fuel Waiver Stacked |
Utilities & Bills | ₹4,000/mo | 1 Pts / ₹100 | 40 pts480 pts/yr | ₹40 | ₹480/yr | Active Earn |
Travel (Flights/Hotels) | ₹4,000/mo | 1 Pts / ₹100 | 40 pts480 pts/yr | ₹40 | ₹480/yr | Active Earn |
Rent | ₹10,000/mo | 1 Pts / ₹100 | 100 pts1,200 pts/yr | ₹100 | ₹1,200/yr | Active Earn |
Insurance | ₹1,500/mo | 1 Pts / ₹100 | 15 pts180 pts/yr | ₹15 | ₹180/yr | Active Earn |
Other / Offline | ₹3,000/mo | 1 Pts / ₹100 | 30 pts360 pts/yr | ₹30 | ₹360/yr | Active Earn |
All ₹ values exclude GST. Perks like lounge access are shown separately and not added into net value. Rewards use your selected redemption mode (cashback / statement credit).
Is Axis Bank Primus Credit Card actually your best option?
Run the same spend against all 524 cards and see where this one ranks.
Key Specifications
₹500000
₹300000
None
0%
Rewards Structure
Earn rates and reward configurations verified for 2026.
Applies to all non-excluded offline/misc categories
Milestone Benefits
Welcome offer: 25,000 EDGE Miles on joining
Lounge Access
Additional Perks
Redemption & Expiry
Eligibility Requirements
Exclusion Honesty: This data has been verified against official bank publications. We include exclusions and point valuation friction factors to render honest net metrics in our calculations.
Official Specification Sheet
Comprehensive rules, fees, and parameters verified directly against issuer details.
| Feature | Axis Bank Primus Credit CardAxis Bank |
|---|---|
| Joining fee | ₹5,00,000 |
| Annual fee | ₹3,00,000/yr |
| Fee waiver | No waiver |
| Base reward | 1 pts / ₹100 |
| Top reward categories | Base rate only |
| Redemption friction | Moderate |
| Point expiry | Not published |
| Lounge access | Unlimited dom · Unlimited intl⚠ Unlimited domestic + international for primary & add-on cardholders; 12 complimentary domestic guest visits per calendar year |
| Forex markup | 0% |
| Fuel surcharge | 1% waiver, uncapped |
| Min income · salaried | Not stated |
| Min income · self-employed | Not stated |
| Eligibility (as stated) | Invite-only, ultra-high-net-worth |
| Recent devaluations | None recorded |
| Verified against |
Detailed Axis Bank Primus Credit Card Credit Card Review & Spends Guide (2026)
The Axis Bank Primus Credit Card by Axis Bank is a prominent credit card in the Indian market, categorized under the super-premium tier. Offering a base rewards engine of 1 reward points per ₹100, this card targets users looking to optimize their personal finances.
When evaluating the real-world value of the Axis Bank Primus Credit Card, it's essential to look beyond the joining fee of ₹500000 and annual fee of ₹300000. With our real-time calculator above, you can map out your monthly category spends (online shopping, dining, travel, utilities, groceries, etc.) to see if you can trigger the spend-based annual fee waiver of N/A, which determines your true Net Annual Value (NTV).
Rewards Potential & Category Multipliers
For accelerated spenders, the Axis Bank Primus Credit Card features key reward multipliers:
Lounge Access & Extra Perks
Perks add immense value that calculations often leave out. The Axis Bank Primus Credit Card offers:
- Domestic Lounges: Unlimited visits
- International Lounges: Unlimited visits
- Lounge Condition: Unlimited domestic + international for primary & add-on cardholders; 12 complimentary domestic guest visits per calendar year
Points Redemption and Point Expiry
Earning points is only half the battle. Redemptions are subject to a friction index of 3/5 (representing Moderate/Portal redemption (3/5 friction)). Note: 1 EDGE Mile = 5 Partner Miles for airline/hotel loyalty transfer (official T&C: 'iii. 1 EDGE Mile is equal to 5 partner miles'); Travel EDGE bookings, catalogue, and partner-outlet redemptions require minimum 500 EDGE Miles. Points are valid for an unpublished period (verify with issuer).
Who the Axis Bank Primus Credit Card benefits the most
Derived from this card's actual earn rates, caps and perks — not a generic profile.
- People who want one flat, no-thinking rate: every eligible spend earns 1 point per ₹100 (about 1.00% in value at the best redemption), with no category tracking to do.
- Frequent flyers: unlimited domestic lounge visits and unlimited international lounge visits a year — but read the condition below before counting on it.
- People who spend abroad or buy in foreign currency online. At a 0% forex markup, a ₹2 lakh overseas trip costs about ₹0 in markup plus GST, versus roughly ₹8,260 on a typical 3.5% card.
- Planners who can steer spends to a target: the biggest milestone here is "Welcome offer: 25,000 EDGE Miles on joining" — ₹0 of annual spend for ₹25,000 of value.
- Daily drivers: the 1% fuel surcharge waiver is uncapped, so the surcharge is reversed on any qualifying fuel spend.
Who should avoid the Axis Bank Primus Credit Card
The cases where this card quietly costs more than it pays back.
- Light spenders. The ₹3,00,000 annual fee (₹3,54,000 after GST) has no spend-based waiver, so you pay it every year regardless. At the base rate of 1 point per ₹100 you need roughly ₹3.54 crore of annual spend just to break even.
- Anyone who revolves a balance. Credit card interest in India typically runs 36–45% a year plus 18% GST on the interest — that erases every reward this card can pay, on any spending pattern.
Hidden charges and fine print on the Axis Bank Primus Credit Card
The costs that sit below the marketing page, verified against Axis Bank disclosures dated 2026-10.
GST sits on top of every fee you were quoted
The listed ₹5,00,000 joining fee and ₹3,00,000 annual fee exclude GST. You actually pay ₹5,90,000 up front and ₹3,54,000 at each renewal. The 18% GST is never waived, even when the bank waives the fee itself on spend — check your statement.
Forex markup of 0% is really 0.00%
This card carries no forex markup, which is genuinely rare in India. Dynamic Currency Conversion at the merchant terminal can still cost you 3–5% — always choose to be billed in the local currency, not in rupees.
Redemption fine print
1 EDGE Mile = 5 Partner Miles for airline/hotel loyalty transfer (official T&C: 'iii. 1 EDGE Mile is equal to 5 partner miles'); Travel EDGE bookings, catalogue, and partner-outlet redemptions require minimum 500 EDGE Miles Redemption fees and minimum-balance thresholds are the most commonly missed cost on Indian cards — factor them in before comparing headline earn rates.
Lounge access is conditional
Unlimited domestic + international for primary & add-on cardholders; 12 complimentary domestic guest visits per calendar year Read that as a spending requirement, not a perk you already own — most declined lounge entries in India are unmet prior-quarter spend conditions.
Fuel surcharge waiver has a monthly ceiling
The 1% waiver is uncapped, and the surcharge is usually reversed as a credit in the next cycle rather than netted off at the pump. Transactions outside the bank's stated per-transaction band may not qualify at all.
Charges every Indian card carries
Cash withdrawal fees (typically 2.5% of the amount, minimum ₹500) with interest from day one and no interest-free period, late payment fees graded by outstanding balance, over-limit charges, EMI conversion processing fees and interest, rent-payment and wallet-load fees, and payment-return charges. These are listed in the bank's MITC document, not in the marketing page — read it once before you apply.
Tax implications of the Axis Bank Primus Credit Card
Indian tax treatment of the fees, rewards and foreign spends on this specific card.
GST on fees and charges. Every fee quoted on this page excludes GST. The ₹5,00,000 joining fee bills as ₹5,90,000 and the ₹3,00,000 renewal as ₹3,54,000. GST also applies to interest, late payment fees, cash advance fees and the forex markup — it is not a one-off on the fee alone.
Are the reward points taxable? Points or cashback earned in proportion to your own spending are treated as a post-purchase discount rather than income, so a salaried individual does not pay tax on them. The same applies to the points here, valued at ₹1 per point on redemption. Two exceptions matter: benefits received from a business relationship (not from your own spending) can attract TDS at 10% under section 194R where the value exceeds ₹20,000 in a year, and a gift or voucher received from the bank with no link to your spending can be taxable under section 56(2)(x) if total gifts from non-relatives cross ₹50,000 in a year.
Milestone vouchers on this card. The "Welcome offer: 25,000 EDGE Miles on joining" benefit is earned against spending, so it is treated the same way as reward points — a discount, not taxable income. If those spends were claimed as business expenses, reduce the expense claim by the benefit value instead of showing it as income.
Is the annual fee deductible? Not for a salaried cardholder — it is a personal expense. If the card is genuinely used for business or professional spends, the ₹3,54,000 renewal is an allowable business expense under section 37(1), and a GST-registered business billed in its own name can claim the ₹54,000 GST as input tax credit.
Foreign spends, TCS and the LRS. This card charges no forex markup, so there is no GST on markup to pay. TCS under the Liberalised Remittance Scheme runs at 20% above ₹10 lakh of remittances in a financial year; international credit card spends have so far been kept outside the LRS pending notification, so no TCS is deducted at the till today. Where TCS is collected on any remittance, it is not a sunk cost — it is creditable against your tax liability and refundable through your ITR.
Spends the tax department can see. Aggregate credit card payments of ₹10 lakh or more in a financial year (₹1 lakh or more if paid in cash) are reported by Axis Bank in the Statement of Financial Transactions and show up in your AIS. That is not a tax by itself, but the spending should be consistent with the income you declare.
Eligibility and documents for the Axis Bank Primus Credit Card
Axis Bank's stated criteria, verified 2026-10.
Eligibility
- Income: Invite-only, ultra-high-net-worth (as stated by Axis Bank).
- Age: typically 21 to 60 for salaried applicants and up to 65 for self-employed; add-on cards from 18.
- Credit score: a CIBIL score of 750+ materially improves approval odds on a card at this tier, where issuers are selective.
- Residency: resident Indian with a verifiable address in a city Axis Bank services.
- Relationship route: premium cards are frequently issued against an existing salary account, wealth relationship or pre-approved offer rather than a cold application.
Documents required
- Identity: PAN card (mandatory) plus Aadhaar, passport, voter ID or driving licence.
- Address: Aadhaar, passport, utility bill or registered rent agreement.
- Income (salaried): last 3 months' salary slips and 3–6 months' bank statements showing salary credit; Form 16 for the latest year.
- Income (self-employed): latest 1–2 years' ITR with computation, audited financials where applicable, and 6 months' current account statements.
- Photograph: one recent passport-size photo (often skipped in a full digital journey).
- Existing Axis Bank customers with a salary or pre-approved relationship usually skip the income documents entirely.
Nomination note: a credit card has no nominee — nomination applies to deposits and investments. What matters here is that your family knows the card exists and knows the outstanding, so it can be settled from the estate promptly instead of accruing interest and late fees after the fact.
How to apply for the Axis Bank Primus Credit Card
- Check for a pre-approved offer first. Log in to Axis Bank net banking or the mobile app. A pre-approved journey skips income documents and, more importantly, avoids a hard enquiry on your credit report if you are declined.
- Confirm the current fee and rates on the official page before applying — banks revise these without much notice.
- Apply online with PAN, Aadhaar and employment details, or walk into a Axis Bank branch if your income profile needs manual assessment.
- Complete KYC. Most issuers now offer video KYC that finishes in minutes; physical verification adds a few days.
- Confirm the credit limit before activating. The limit determines how much of your spending you can actually route here, which is what the reward maths above assumes.
- Set a full-payment auto-debit on the due date the day the card arrives. Interest of 36–45% a year plus GST is the single fastest way to turn this card into a loss.
Axis Bank Primus Credit Card — frequently asked questions
Answers use this card's own numbers, verified 2026-10.
What is the annual fee for the Axis Bank Primus Credit Card, and can it be waived?
The annual fee is ₹3,00,000 plus 18% GST, so ₹3,54,000 actually leaves your account. Axis Bank does not publish a spend-based waiver for this card, so the fee recurs every year.
How much do you actually earn on the Axis Bank Primus Credit Card?
The base rate is 1 point per ₹100, and each point is worth ₹1 at the best redemption — roughly 1.00% in value. There are no accelerated categories — the rate is flat across eligible spends.
Does the Axis Bank Primus Credit Card offer airport lounge access?
Yes — unlimited domestic and unlimited international complimentary visits a year. Condition: Unlimited domestic + international for primary & add-on cardholders; 12 complimentary domestic guest visits per calendar year
What does the Axis Bank Primus Credit Card charge on foreign currency spends?
There is no forex markup on this card, which is unusual in India. GST therefore has no markup to apply to. Still decline Dynamic Currency Conversion abroad — being billed in INR at the terminal costs 3–5%.
Do reward points on the Axis Bank Primus Credit Card expire?
The issuer has not published a verified expiry for these rewards. Check the current wallet terms before relying on a long redemption period.
What milestone benefits does the Axis Bank Primus Credit Card offer?
Welcome offer: 25,000 EDGE Miles on joining at ₹0 of annual spend (worth about ₹25,000). Excluded categories usually do not count toward these targets — verify in the card's MITC.
What income do you need for the Axis Bank Primus Credit Card?
Axis Bank states: Invite-only, ultra-high-net-worth. Banks treat this as a floor, not a guarantee — your credit score, existing card limits and internal risk scoring decide the outcome.
Is the Axis Bank Primus Credit Card annual fee tax-deductible, and are reward points taxable?
For a salaried cardholder the fee is a personal expense and is not deductible. If the card is used genuinely for business or professional spends, the fee and GST can be claimed as a business expense (and the GST as input credit where the card is billed to a GST-registered entity). Reward points earned in proportion to your own spending are generally treated as a post-purchase discount, not income, so they are not taxed in your hands.
Is TCS applicable on Axis Bank Primus Credit Card spends abroad?
Tax Collected at Source under the Liberalised Remittance Scheme applies at 20% above the ₹10 lakh annual threshold for remittances and forex card loads. International spends on Indian credit cards have so far been kept outside the LRS pending notification, so no TCS is deducted at the point of sale today. This has been changed and deferred more than once — confirm the current position with Axis Bank before a large overseas spend. Any TCS actually collected is not a cost: it is creditable against your income tax liability and refundable when you file your ITR.
What happens to the Axis Bank Primus Credit Card account after the cardholder's death?
A credit card is an unsecured personal liability and cannot be inherited or transferred — the card must be surrendered and closed. Inform Axis Bank in writing with the death certificate; the outstanding balance becomes payable from the deceased's estate, and the legal heirs are liable only to the extent of the assets they inherit, not personally. Any add-on cards stop working immediately. Unredeemed reward points are normally forfeited on closure, so a family member holding a large balance should redeem while the account is active. Nomination applies to deposits and investments, not to credit cards — but if there is a fixed deposit backing a secured card, the nomination on that FD governs its release.
Similar & Alternative Cards
Explore other top-rated Super-premium credit cards in India

HSBC Taj Credit Card

American Express Platinum Card

Axis Bank Reserve Credit Card

Axis Burgundy Private Credit Card

RBL Bank LUMIÈRE Credit Card
KVB Eternis Credit Card
Related Guides & Tools
Ranked card lists Axis Bank Primus Credit Card appears in, plus calculators for card debt decisions
