Head-to-Head Comparison (2026)

HDFC Freedom Credit Card vs HDFC Bank UPI RuPay Credit Card

Calculate exact net annual returns in ₹ after fee waivers, milestone rewards, categories, and caps. Card terms verified 2026-07.

AI

Quick Key Takeaways & Fact Summary

  • Overall Winner: HDFC Bank UPI RuPay Credit Card earns higher net annual returns at standard spend tiers.
  • Annual Fee: HDFC Freedom Credit Card (₹500/yr) vs HDFC Bank UPI RuPay Credit Card (₹99/yr).
  • Base Reward Rate: HDFC Freedom Credit Card (0.5 pts/₹100) vs HDFC Bank UPI RuPay Credit Card (1 pts/₹100).
  • Lounge Access: HDFC Freedom Credit Card (0 dom) vs HDFC Bank UPI RuPay Credit Card (0 dom).
HDFC Freedom Credit Card
HDFC Bankentry

HDFC Freedom Credit Card

₹500/yr0.5 pts/₹100
Lounge Access:None
Recommended Pick
HDFC Bank UPI RuPay Credit Card
HDFC Bankentry

HDFC Bank UPI RuPay Credit Card

₹99/yr1 pts/₹100
Lounge Access:None

Interactive Net Returns Calculator

Adjust spend profiles to compare total net value, annual fee waivers, category earnings, and milestone bonuses.

Points Valuation & Redemption Mode
Quick Fill Monthly SpendPresets

Your Monthly Spend

₹50,000/mo

E-Commerce & Online

₹
₹0Max ₹40,000
₹
₹0Max ₹40,000
₹
₹0Max ₹50,000

Daily Essentials

₹
₹0Max ₹40,000
₹
₹0Max ₹30,000
₹
₹0Max ₹30,000

Most cards earn ₹0 rewards on fuel (surcharge waiver only).

₹
₹0Max ₹30,000

Frequently excluded from rewards in India.

Lifestyle, Bills & Other

₹
₹0Max ₹60,000
₹
₹0Max ₹60,000

Almost always earns ₹0 and may carry a fee.

₹
₹0Max ₹30,000

Often excluded or capped.

₹
₹0Max ₹50,000
HDFC Bank UPI RuPay Credit Card1

HDFC Bank · fee waived

Net Value / Yr
₹1,830
Rewards ₹1,830Milestones ₹0Fee −₹0
HDFC Freedom Credit Card2

HDFC Bank · fee waived

Net Value / Yr
₹945
Rewards ₹945Milestones ₹0Fee −₹0

Smart verdict

Get the HDFC Bank UPI RuPay Credit Card — it earns you +₹885/yr over the HDFC Freedom Credit Card, mostly from your groceries spend.

Was this helpful?
Your feedback helps us improve the comparison.

How Your Spends Convert to Rewards

Live calculation breakdown for HDFC Freedom Credit Card

Spend CategoryMonthly SpendReward RatePoints EarnedMonthly ValueAnnual ValueStatus / Caps
Fuel
₹4,000/mo0 Pts / ₹1000 pts0 pts/yr₹0₹0/yrExcluded
Rent
₹10,000/mo0 Pts / ₹1000 pts0 pts/yr₹0₹0/yrExcluded
Other Online Shopping
₹6,000/mo0.5 Pts / ₹10030 pts360 pts/yr₹8₹90/yrActive Earn
Amazon Spends
₹3,500/mo0.5 Pts / ₹10018 pts216 pts/yr₹4₹53/yrActive Earn
Flipkart Spends
₹2,000/mo0.5 Pts / ₹10010 pts120 pts/yr₹3₹30/yrActive Earn
Dining & Food Delivery
₹5,000/mo0.5 Pts / ₹10025 pts300 pts/yr₹6₹75/yrActive Earn
Groceries
₹7,000/mo0.5 Pts / ₹10035 pts420 pts/yr₹9₹105/yrActive Earn
Utilities & Bills
₹4,000/mo0.5 Pts / ₹10020 pts240 pts/yr₹5₹60/yrActive Earn
Travel (Flights/Hotels)
₹4,000/mo0.5 Pts / ₹10020 pts240 pts/yr₹5₹60/yrActive Earn
Insurance
₹1,500/mo0.5 Pts / ₹1008 pts96 pts/yr₹2₹23/yrActive Earn
Other / Offline
₹3,000/mo5 Pts / ₹100150 pts1,800 pts/yr₹38₹450/yrActive Earn

Net annual value across spend levels

All ₹ values exclude GST. Perks like lounge access are shown separately and not added into net value. Rewards use your selected redemption mode (cashback / statement credit).

Card features side by side

Use the table for product rules; use the calculator above for value based on your actual spending.

FeatureHDFC Freedom Credit CardHDFC BankHDFC Bank UPI RuPay Credit CardHDFC Bank
Joining fee₹500₹99
Annual fee₹500/yr₹99/yr
Fee waiverSpend ₹50,000/yrSpend ₹25,000/yr
Base reward0.5 pts / ₹1001 pts / ₹100
Top reward categories5x other3x groceries, 3x dining, 2x utilities
Redemption friction
Moderate
Easy
Point expiry24 months24 months
Lounge accessNoneNone
Forex markup3.5%3.5%
Fuel surcharge1% waiver, up to ₹250/moNone
Min income · salaried₹1.4L/yrNot stated
Min income · self-employed₹6.0L/yrNot stated
Eligibility (as stated)Salaried: Net Monthly Income > Rs.12,000; Self-employed: ITR > Rs.6L; Age 21-60 (salaried) / 21-65 (SE)Must hold an existing HDFC Bank Visa/Mastercard/Diners credit card
Recent devaluationsNone recordedNone recorded
Verified against

Verdict at a Glance

Best For HDFC Freedom Credit Card

Choose HDFC Freedom Credit Card if your monthly spending is focused on other.

Best For HDFC Bank UPI RuPay Credit Card

Choose HDFC Bank UPI RuPay Credit Card if you spend heavily on groceries, dining.

HDFC Freedom Credit Card vs HDFC Bank UPI RuPay Credit Card Spend Tier Breakdown

Simulated net annual returns across typical Indian monthly spending profiles.

₹25,000/month+₹495/yr Edge
🏆
Winner at ₹25,000/month

HDFC Bank UPI RuPay Credit Card

HDFC Freedom Credit Card₹480/yr
Net Yield: 0.2%Fee: Waived
HDFC Bank UPI RuPay Credit Card₹975/yr
Net Yield: 0.3%Fee: Waived

At ₹25,000/month, HDFC Bank UPI RuPay Credit Card nets ₹975/yr vs HDFC Freedom Credit Card at ₹480/yr — a ₹495 edge.

₹50,000/month+₹885/yr Edge
🏆
Winner at ₹50,000/month

HDFC Bank UPI RuPay Credit Card

HDFC Freedom Credit Card₹945/yr
Net Yield: 0.2%Fee: Waived
HDFC Bank UPI RuPay Credit Card₹1,830/yr
Net Yield: 0.3%Fee: Waived

At ₹50,000/month, HDFC Bank UPI RuPay Credit Card nets ₹1,830/yr vs HDFC Freedom Credit Card at ₹945/yr — a ₹885 edge.

₹1,00,000/month+₹45/yr Edge
🏆
Winner at ₹1,00,000/month

HDFC Freedom Credit Card

HDFC Freedom Credit Card₹2,595/yr
Net Yield: 0.2%Fee: Waived
HDFC Bank UPI RuPay Credit Card₹2,550/yr
Net Yield: 0.2%Fee: Waived

At ₹1,00,000/month, HDFC Freedom Credit Card nets ₹2,595/yr vs HDFC Bank UPI RuPay Credit Card at ₹2,550/yr — a ₹45 edge.

* Spend tier verdicts use standard category splits (cashback redemption mode). Actual net value depends on your specific spending categories.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which is better, HDFC Freedom Credit Card or HDFC Bank UPI RuPay Credit Card?▼

At a typical ₹50,000/month spend (cashback redemption), HDFC Bank UPI RuPay Credit Card comes out ahead by about ₹885 per year, driven mostly by groceries spend. Your own split can change the answer — use the calculator above to plug in your numbers.

Which card is better for online shopping, HDFC Freedom Credit Card or HDFC Bank UPI RuPay Credit Card?▼

HDFC Freedom Credit Card earns 0.5 pts/₹100 as a base, while HDFC Bank UPI RuPay Credit Card earns 1 pts/₹100. Check the accelerated online/Amazon/Flipkart rates and monthly caps in the table above, since caps often decide the winner for heavy online spenders.

What are the annual fees for HDFC Freedom Credit Card and HDFC Bank UPI RuPay Credit Card?▼

HDFC Freedom Credit Card: ₹500 + GST per year, waived on ₹50,000 annual spend. HDFC Bank UPI RuPay Credit Card: ₹99 + GST per year, waived on ₹25,000 annual spend.

Do HDFC Freedom Credit Card and HDFC Bank UPI RuPay Credit Card earn rewards on rent, fuel and utilities?▼

Like most Indian cards, several everyday categories are excluded. HDFC Freedom Credit Card excludes fuel, rent; HDFC Bank UPI RuPay Credit Card excludes fuel, rent, other. The calculator shows these as ₹0 earners so your net value stays honest.

Is HDFC Freedom Credit Card ever the better pick over HDFC Bank UPI RuPay Credit Card?▼

Within a normal spend range at ₹50,000/month, HDFC Bank UPI RuPay Credit Card stays ahead. HDFC Freedom Credit Card can still win on specific perks (lounge, forex, redemption ease) that aren't counted in the net-value maths.

Was this helpful?

Disclaimer: Results are estimates for financial planning purposes only and do not constitute financial, tax, investment, or legal advice. Actual values may vary based on your lender, market conditions, and individual circumstances. Consult a qualified CA, CFP, or financial advisor before making any financial decisions.